Choose style:

Author Topic: database lock file contains a pid  (Read 656 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JWW

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: database lock file contains a pid
« Reply #15 on: December 28, 2018, 04:58:56 pm »
... can't believe I'm asking this question but what the heck I'm not proud.  Is this laptop 32 or 64 bit.  Darktable recognized it as a 32 bit system.



-JW:  :-\

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24487
  • Karma: 2698
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: database lock file contains a pid
« Reply #16 on: December 28, 2018, 05:06:37 pm »
ALL Core2Duo's were 64bit CPU's so can run either 32 or 64bit Linux

But that doesn't tell us which you actually installed 're arcually .. if you run:
Code: [Select]
uname -a
you'll see output like
Code: [Select]
Linux Dell-E6530 4.15.0-43-generic #46~16.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Fri Dec 7 13:31:08 UTC 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
if like the above example you see x86_64, then you're running a 64bit kernel

If instead it mentions i386 then you're running a 32bit kernel

Another command that will tell you a lot about your system is
Code: [Select]
inxi -F
(remember Linux commands ARE case sensitive, so that's a capital F)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline JWW

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: database lock file contains a pid
« Reply #17 on: December 28, 2018, 05:26:39 pm »
Edited:

That's news to me ... nothing like feeling stupid today.  I didn't even know a computer existed that could run in 32 or 64 bit mode. Installing the 64 bit now.  I did try and use uname -a before my posting but didn't see any 32 or 64 bit information listed.

« Last Edit: December 28, 2018, 06:46:17 pm by JWW »

Offline JWW

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: database lock file contains a pid
« Reply #18 on: December 28, 2018, 07:40:15 pm »
Got 'everything' installed, meaning the 64 kernel and Darktable. Thanks for helping, it's really appreciated.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24487
  • Karma: 2698
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: database lock file contains a pid
« Reply #19 on: December 28, 2018, 09:21:35 pm »
Sorry I should have said "if it says i386/i586/i686 it's 32bit .. if it says x86_64 or amd64 it's 64bit".

Glad to hear you're all up and running .. but you'd probably have been better off with 64bit Peppermint, for no other reason than a lot of software is now only being released in 64bit versions .. Skype and Google Chrome for example.

That said, if you're able to get all the software you require, there's absolutely no reason to switch now.

[EDIT]

Sorry I missed that you'd already switched to 64bit :)

And yes 64bit CPU's can run 32bit OS's and software, but not the other way around.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2018, 09:28:26 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec