Choose style:

Author Topic: googleearth-package query  (Read 447 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline polly

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
googleearth-package query
« on: December 22, 2018, 07:23:29 pm »
I installed Peppermint googleearth-package version 1.2.2.  I cannot figure out how to use it to make the package, so I would appreciate some advice on how to do that please.
In the meantime, I installed the deb package for google chrome web browser and ran google earth from it.  It works well and runs quickly on my slow computer.
I am inclined to leave well alone but would welcome your ideas on the best way to run google earth on Peppermint 8-9.
regards polly





Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3774
  • Karma: 294
  • Soy un huevo que adora Peppermint.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 & P9 Respin w/4.18 kernel
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2018, 10:01:17 pm »
I am inclined to leave well alone but would welcome your ideas on the best way to run google earth on Peppermint 8-9.
regards polly

Hi polly,

You've posed an interesting question! :)

Just for fun, have you tried Google Earth in Chromium by chance?  That asked, I suspect your gut inclination is right.  I have a feeling we're dealing with proprietary software here.  If so, it makes sense that Chrome and Google Earth would work together just fine.

At least we now know (thanks to YOU) that the two programs (Google Earth and Linux Chrome) work together just fine together in Peppermint!! ;)

polly, you asked a good one here! ;)

Thank you,

perknh
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24785
  • Karma: 2732
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2018, 12:30:30 pm »
Have you tried simply downloading the googleearth-pro .deb package directly from Google, then just double-clicking it to install it
https://www.google.com/intl/en_uk/earth/versions/#download-pro
then select the 64bit .DEB version.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline polly

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: googleearth-package query - SOLVED
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2018, 03:15:22 pm »
Thanks for the replies.

Yes, I tried to run G.E. from Chromium.  I got a message to the effect that it had not been integrated into the browser yet.  With Google Chrome, there is some stuff about how this is the new Google Earth and I think that it may now be the preferred method to run the program.  It runs the same way in Windows 10.

No, I haven't tried to download the Google Earth deb package and install it.  I got put off by the description in Peppermint googleearth-package  v 1.2,2 which said something like Google Earth did not integrate well into Debian.  I don't really need the pro version as I just use the program every now and then to check out something that I hear on the news.

Thanks folks for your help.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24785
  • Karma: 2732
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2018, 03:17:05 pm »
I'm not sure there's any other version.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline polly

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2018, 06:40:16 pm »
Yes, sorry.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #6 on: December 25, 2018, 11:14:44 am »
Hi polly, I have a deb file titled google-earth-stable_current_amd64.deb that I downloaded from google earth's download site that works perfectly. And there is an option when first opened to download and try the pro version for free, which can be ignored.
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24785
  • Karma: 2732
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2018, 03:19:07 pm »
Can you link to where you got it alynur ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 964
  • Karma: 54
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9 (64bit), P 9 R
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2018, 04:13:09 pm »
Sorry, it was a while ago. I don't think the Pro in the name refers to purchasing anything. It is still listed as free open source software.
What was I thinking?

Offline polly

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2018, 08:55:41 pm »
Thanks alynur for your input.  I have a little more to add after installing Google Earth Pro.

If you go to https://www.google .com/earth/ you get a page with the option to launch Google Earth from Chrome.  Also there other menu items.  "Earth Versions" gets another page with all the versions:
(1) Google Earth on web
(2 )Google Earth on mobile
(3) Google Earth on desktop

(1) is the Launch G.E. from Chrome again
(2) I haven't tried
(3) gets Download Earth Pro on Desktop - the deb package is google-earth-pro-stable_current_amd64.deb

I installed this and it ran without a problem.  So now I have two ways to run Google Earth.  The version run in Chrome does not have as many features as Earth Pro.  For example there is no image history and no doubt there is much more to discover.

I ran into a problem with Earth Pro when my computer froze.  After that Earth Pro would not start.  I went to Synaptic Package Manager and found there :
google -earth-pro-stable (Version 7.3.2.5495-r0).  I uninstalled this.  Then I tried to reinstall the deb package.  I got a message saying that it was preferable to use the listed software which I have done (it had to be downloaded).  All is well again.





Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24785
  • Karma: 2732
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2018, 09:34:56 am »
I think they've just renamed it "pro", but it's the same package.

I mean you can download
https://dl.google.com/dl/earth/client/current/google-earth-stable_current_amd64.deb
and
https://dl.google.com/dl/earth/client/current/google-earth-pro-stable_current_amd64.deb
but if you then check the MD5 checksums, they're identical.

They're both:-
d7ba0319862cf2093be0607b131319ae
« Last Edit: December 26, 2018, 09:36:58 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline polly

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: googleearth-package query
« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2018, 04:42:21 pm »
OK, thanks for that.  So, "all roads lead to Rome".
I will rest easy.
I think that what has come out of this is that one does not need to make an individual package but can just install what is there.  The "does not integrate will into a debian system" which put me off seems to have been fixed.