Choose style:

Author Topic: HP Probook 6570b  (Read 453 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
HP Probook 6570b
« on: December 09, 2018, 10:24:12 am »
Issues with BIOS  since this is a  re purposed former corporate machine.
Wireless did not work, so all updates applied, and then it accepted proprietary wireless driver.
Installed Chromium. I also somehow screwed up the Gmail app in an attempt to get it to open under a Chromium based screen instead of Firefox.

y biggest problem is all the unresponsive web pages I keep getting. I have Peppermint installed on an older Acer netbook (32bit) and assumed these unresponsive page issues were 32 bit related. Now I'm seeing on a fairly new 64 bit system and I'm not happy at this point.

System:    Host: Xxxxxxxx Kernel: 4.15.0-39-generic x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: N/A
           Distro: Peppermint Nine
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP ProBook 6570b v: A1029D1102 serial: N/A
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 17AB v: KBC Version 42.32 serial: N/A
           BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: 68ICE Ver. F.40 date: 01/31/2013
Battery    BAT0: charge: 50.0 Wh 91.6% condition: 54.6/54.6 Wh (100%)
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-3320M (-MT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           clock speeds: max: 3300 MHz 1: 1197 MHz 2: 1214 MHz 3: 1197 MHz
           4: 1197 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@60.03hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile
           version: 4.2 Mesa 18.0.5
Audio:     Card Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-39-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82579V Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
           IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM43228 802.11a/b/g/n driver: wl
           IF: wlo1 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (2.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HGST_HTS725032A7 size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 292G used: 7.8G (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.03GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.0C mobo: 0.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 221 Uptime: 1:03 Memory: 1854.1/3824.3MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.56

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1764
  • Karma: 300
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 12:13:39 pm »
Are you connecting via ethernet or wireless? Can you try a different network connection to see if the pages load any better?

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2018, 06:10:40 pm »
At home I am stuck with a Verizon Ellipsise Jetpack - Downside to living in the sticks.

I have had similar experiences with wireless at other locations such as home wireless connected to a cable line. It seems to appear if I have too many heavy graphics pages up at the same time - - but not always. I was looking around the support forums for any similar posts, but I haven't seen any yet.

My original thought was that I was using an older Acer  32bit netbook and version 8, but the current HP has more than enough horsepower to run Peppermint.


Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1764
  • Karma: 300
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2018, 07:20:05 pm »
What result do you get on a connection speed test such as

https://www.speedtest.net/

?

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2018, 09:52:40 pm »
Oh - - such fantastic results we have !!!

49 pings
A whooping 1.92 mbps Download
And a mere 4.09 mbps Upload

And we are doing well tonight - I'm getting some shopping done with no Unresponsive pages - - - Yippeee !!!

Oh - - - and none of the servers are anywhere near me.


« Last Edit: December 09, 2018, 09:54:40 pm by yulester »

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4452
  • Karma: 839
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Customized Cowboy Builds
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2018, 11:01:06 pm »
Are you running an ad blocker?

I just did some tests (using the link above) with my ad blocker both disabled and enabled.

With no ad blocker running, the pings were about the same, but the download and upload speeds were 20-25% slower than with the ad blocker enabled. Plus the test itself was laggy, after I hit the 'Go' button, with the ad blocker disabled.

I was kinda shocked, actually  :o

Just saying...

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1764
  • Karma: 300
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2018, 05:49:29 am »
49 pings
A whooping 1.92 mbps Download
And a mere 4.09 mbps Upload

That's strange because normally your upload will be quite a bit slower than the download.

I suppose you must have the option of ethernet because you said you'd updated the system to get WiFi working. Would the results be similar when using a wired connection to the router?

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2018, 10:09:08 pm »
No - Don't have a hard line in the house.

I was smart enough to do this install at my son's house where they have fiber in the neighbourhood, and I could get to an Ethernet port.

Yes, I run an add blocker. I found the data usage was drastically reduced when I used one. Keep in mind that those awesome high speeds I posted are only good for 15 shared gig's a month - - then they throttle me to a slow crawl. Yes - - Verizon thinks that's high speed data in these parts.


Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2018, 09:00:29 pm »
So tonight, I'm slower than a seven year itch - -

I discovered that whatever makes this system slow affect simple things like playing aisle-riot / Klondike take forever.

This feels like a memory utilisation issue.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22924
  • Karma: 2556
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2018, 09:38:41 am »
So this is affecting local applications that don't require an internet connection ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2018, 09:10:08 pm »
Yes - whatever is going on is affecting the whole system.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22924
  • Karma: 2556
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #11 on: December 15, 2018, 10:10:09 am »
Have you tried running
Code: [Select]
top
and seeing if any process is hammering the CPU ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2018, 11:30:58 am »
Chromium Browser is the biggest, but I don't see anything going over 4% CPU normally but it is spiking to 20%

I'm wondering if there is  memory issue here. I should have plenty under normal circumstances but what about swap.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22924
  • Karma: 2556
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2018, 02:45:05 pm »
does starting top in memory monitoring mode show anything eating your memory
Code: [Select]
top -o %MEM
or does iotop show anything continually writing to disk
Code: [Select]
sudo iotop
« Last Edit: December 15, 2018, 02:47:34 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline yulester

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 8 and 9
Re: HP Probook 6570b
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2018, 04:31:35 pm »
How do I insert a screen shot here. I have one on my desktop