Choose style:

Author Topic: Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop(SOLVED)  (Read 772 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop(SOLVED)
« on: November 21, 2018, 10:10:07 am »
Hello Peppermint people. Yesterday I was able to connect my computers using openssh even though I wasn't completely clear about what I was doing. This is all new to me. So when I clicked on Network in nemo I got a folder titled Desktop and one titled Windows Network. When I clicked on the Desktop folder, it displayed a folder titled Public. In Public, after entering a username and password, the folder was indicated as mounted and I was able to share files on both computers after completing the same procedure on both computers. Today that Desktop folder is not present when I click on Network on either computer. Where did it go? How do I get it back? On the desktop I installed running
Code: [Select]
sudo apt install openssh-server
and on the laptop I installed running
Code: [Select]
sudo apt install openssh-client
which gave me a message that it was already installed and the was the latest version.  ???
« Last Edit: November 23, 2018, 01:11:51 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2018, 11:03:09 am »
You don't need SSH to share folders.

What exactly are you trying to do ? .. share a folder, so the other PC can access it ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2018, 11:20:03 am »
Hi PCNetSpec, I want to be able to copy files/folders between the two computers.
What was I thinking?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2018, 06:49:52 am »
If I were you I'd try enabling SMBv1 as instructed here
https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,7086.msg72516.html#msg72516

then use:-

Menu > Settings > Samba

to share your

~/Public

directory.
(making it "Writable" and "Visible" on the Basic tab, and "Allow access to everyone" on the Access tab)

Then you should be able to browse to it on your other PC by opening the Nemo file manager, then going to

Go > Network.....
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2018, 04:40:52 pm »
Thanks PCNetSpec, I'll give it a shot. I was trying Samba earlier but wasn't able to get any where.
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1045
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Sharing files between a P 9 desktop and a P 9 laptop
« Reply #5 on: November 23, 2018, 01:11:08 pm »
Okay I think I have it, with both computers on when I click on networks in nemo, both computers are listed and i can copy from their respective Public folder to wherever I want.  And I didn't have to mess with server settings.  Thanks a bunch for the help.  :)
What was I thinking?