Author Topic: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens  (Read 2143 times)

Offline lambousa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3, 4, 5
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2018, 02:08:34 pm »
what is a live session?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2018, 02:24:32 pm »
When booted to a LiveUSB
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline lambousa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3, 4, 5
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2018, 09:51:33 am »
I didn't try it in a live session. So currently I have two computers feeding HDMI into my TV - a 5 year old machine with on board HDMI output where google chrome works (for Netflix) and a 10 year old machine with probably an even older HDMI card which works for VLC Media Player (for my torrent downloads). Not optimum, but I'm happy! Cheers Guys!

Offline Lord Rodin

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #18 on: August 06, 2018, 07:18:51 am »
Does the same thing happen when you use another player like SMPlayer?

Offline lambousa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3, 4, 5
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2018, 09:45:59 am »
Thanks for the suggestion Lord Robin - SMPlayer works just nice yet VLC Player still will not open up - RAM hits the ceiling for a minute or two and then drops back to normal. SMPlayer rules!!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #20 on: August 27, 2018, 10:17:59 am »
in VLC. go to:-

Tools > Preferences

Select "All" bottom left

then navigate to

Video
   Output modules


and try experimentiing with different output modules.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline lambousa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3, 4, 5
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #21 on: August 27, 2018, 11:35:15 am »
I can't get the VLC Player interface to open PCNETSPEC - is there a command line or backdoor option?

Offline TonyBronze

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: 34
  • Peppermintaholic
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8 & 9
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #22 on: August 27, 2018, 11:49:54 am »
to run from terminal

Code: [Select]
/usr/bin/vlc
......to infinity and beyond..............

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #23 on: August 27, 2018, 11:55:42 am »
And if the command from TonyBronze  doesn't work, try rebooting .. then run:
Code: [Select]
mv -v ~/.config/vlc ~/.config/vlc-oldNow try starting VLC
« Last Edit: August 27, 2018, 12:31:59 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline lambousa

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 3, 4, 5
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #24 on: August 27, 2018, 12:35:16 pm »
Okay guys, when I rip out the HDMI connector from the laptop, all works perfectly - VLC player is good and plays stuff perfectly. When I connect to my tv via HDMI and try and try /usr/bin/vlc
I get a hell of a lot of QPainter not active lines in the terminal while the RAM hits the roof! Should this point me to some setting guys?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #25 on: August 27, 2018, 12:42:42 pm »
Seems you're not alone
https://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=45284
and other people are getting the same qpainter errors when using VLC with two monitors.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline TonyBronze

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 160
  • Karma: 34
  • Peppermintaholic
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8 & 9
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #26 on: August 27, 2018, 01:57:55 pm »
can you go to Tools > Preferences (or press ctrl+p)

Click on the Video tab

change output from Automatic to X11 video output (XCB)

Then click on save.

Restart VLC and see if it still happens
......to infinity and beyond..............

Offline johnny so-low

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 4
  • everyday's a new disaster
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: vlc player in P9 - RAM hits the ceiling and nothing happens
« Reply #27 on: October 12, 2018, 06:48:22 pm »
agree with pcnetspec open vlc and change video output to X11 and it should work much better ..
im a hillbelly i lay dwn & my belly makes a hill