Choose style:

Author Topic: Problems editing menu items [SOLVED]  (Read 1933 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4893
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Problems editing menu items [SOLVED]
« on: August 01, 2014, 02:10:02 am »
Good morning everyone.  I'm having issues when I move a programme in the menu to a different sub-menu.  For example, moving Shutter from "Applications" to" Graphics".  I have done this in the past by opening, "PCmanFM and navigating to menu://applications/.  From here I access the sub-menus and move the sim-links to the category I want.  This worked flawlessly in the past.

Now when I move anything I end up with two or more links in the menu structure.  One in the new location, one in the original lo location and maybe one in a previous location.  Using Shutter as an example.  I move the link from, "Applications" to, "Graphics".  I now have two sim links.  I tried deleting the link in, "menu://applications/Internet".  This removes, both links.  I then tried totally removing, "Shutter" from the computer by using the code:
Code: [Select]
apt remove --purge shutter*
and
Code: [Select]
~/.shutter
When I re-install, "Shutter" it does not appear in the menu structure, although it can be invoked from the terminal. 

The same or, similar is applying to SSBs.  For example, I have a, "Google+" SSB that was located in, "Internet" by default.  The sim link was moved to "Office".  There are now two sim links, one in, "Internet" and one in, "Office".  If I remove Google+ using,"Ice" and recreate it only putting it in, "Accesories".  I end up with three, "Google+'s".  One in, "Internet", one in, "Office" and one in, "Accesories".  I've done all the normal stuff like updating and rebooting.  Nothing seems to work.  Help would be much appreciated, many thanks  ;).
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 07:30:15 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26454
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems editing menu items
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 06:58:52 am »
What's the output from:
Code: [Select]
ls -a ~/.local/share/applications
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4893
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Problems editing menu items
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2014, 07:22:47 am »
Thanks Mark, I think I've solved the SSB issue.  I was naming it Google+ instead of GooglePlus.  I can now move the link around the menu without issue.  For what it is worth, here is the requested output:
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
andy@AMILO-Li3710 ~ $ ls -a ~/.local/share/applications
.
..
abnamro.desktop
angrybirds.desktop
arrowclassicrock.desktop
arrowclassicrock.desktop~
bbcnews.desktop
bbcnews.desktop~
bbcradiofour.desktop
bbcradiofour.desktop~
bbcradiofourextra.desktop
bbcradiofourextra.desktop~
bbcradiosixmusic.desktop
bbcradiosixmusic.desktop~
bbcradiothree.desktop
bbcradiothree.desktop~
blogger.desktop
bubbleshooter.desktop
chrome-cmnpffgfpcohhpoddjankjanolcekbni-Default.desktop
chrome-hmjkmjkepdijhoojdojkdfohbdgmmhki-Default.desktop
chrome-iabmpiboiopbgfabjmgeedhcmjenhbla-Default.desktop
chrome-lkbhppfbabandkdmgjmifahoabeodiep-Default.desktop
chrome-mmfbcljfglbokpmkimbfghdkjmjhdgbg-Default.desktop
chrome-njkkjobcechefaoknodniidfjapgfoco-Default.desktop
cnn.desktop
cnn.desktop~
commandconquertiberiumalliances.desktop
currencyconverter.desktop
eccoshoes.desktop
edx.desktop
entanglement.desktop
evernote.desktop
everydaylinux.desktop
facebook.desktop
galculator.desktop
gmail.desktop
gnomelook.desktop
googlecalendar.desktop
google.desktop
googledrive.desktop
internationalnewyorktimes.desktop
internationalnewyorktimes.desktop~
kexpfmseattle.desktop
kexpfmseattle.desktop~
knightwise.desktop
marvelcomics.desktop
mimeapps.list
mimeinfo.cache
noogy_com-dustaet_1.desktop
oldpeppermintforum.desktop
open.desktop
peppermintforum.desktop
pixlreditor.desktop
pixlromatic.desktop
postimage.desktop
radiofreeamsterdam.desktop
radiofreeamsterdam.desktop~
radioveronica.desktop
radioveronica.desktop~
shutter.desktop
thechristiansciencemonitor.desktop
thedailymail.desktop
theguardian.desktop
theguardian.desktop~
theswappergame_com-TheSwapper_1.desktop
torlock.desktop
torrentz.desktop
twitter.desktop
verbeterdebuurt.desktop
weatherunderground.desktop
weatherunderground.desktop~
wikipedia.desktop
wine
wine-extension-chm.desktop
wine-extension-gif.desktop
wine-extension-hlp.desktop
wine-extension-htm.desktop
wine-extension-ini.desktop
wine-extension-jfif.desktop
wine-extension-jpe.desktop
wine-extension-msp.desktop
wine-extension-png.desktop
wine-extension-rtf.desktop
wine-extension-txt.desktop
wine-extension-url.desktop
wine-extension-vbs.desktop
wine-extension-wri.desktop
wine-extension-xml.desktop
wolframalpha.desktop
youtube.desktop
andy@AMILO-Li3710 ~ $
[close]

As you can see, I've drunk the SSB "KoolAid"  :D!  The issues with Shutter not appearing in the menu structure still remains.  I'll start a new thread for that as, it appears not to be related to the SSB issue.  Many thanks. ;)
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26454
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems editing menu items [SOLVED]
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2014, 07:35:52 am »
I'd say It *is* related to "Problems editing menu items" ;)

What's the contents of:
Code: [Select]
gedit ~/.local/share/applications/shutter.desktop
and in which menu would you like it ?
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 07:37:50 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4893
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Problems editing menu items [SOLVED]
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2014, 08:15:45 am »
Hi Mark, here are the contents from:
Code: [Select]
gedit ~/.local/share/applications/shutter.desktop
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Name=Shutter
Name[de_DE]=Shutter
Name[pt_BR]=Shutter
GenericName=Screenshot Tool
GenericName[de_DE]=Anwendung für Bildschirmfotos
GenericName[pt_BR]=Captura de tela
Comment=Capture, edit and share screenshots
Comment[de_DE]=Bildschirmfotos aufnehmen, bearbeiten und mit Anderen teilen
Comment[pt_BR]=Aplicativo avançado para capturar imagens da tela
Exec=shutter %F
Icon=shutter
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Utilities;
MimeType=image/bmp;image/jpeg;image/gif;image/png;image/tiff;image/x-bmp;image/x-ico;image/x-png;image/x-pcx;image/x-tga;image/xpm;image/svg+xml;
Actions=Redo;Select;Screen;Window;Active;

NoDisplay=true

[Desktop Action Redo]
Name=Redo last screenshot
Exec=shutter --redo
OnlyShowIn=Unity;

[Desktop Action Select]
Name=Capture an area of the screen
Exec=shutter --select
OnlyShowIn=Unity;

[Desktop Action Screen]
Name=Capture the entire screen
Exec=shutter --full
OnlyShowIn=Unity;

[Desktop Action Window]
Name=Select a window to capture
Exec=shutter --window
OnlyShowIn=Unity;

[Desktop Action Active]
Name=Capture the current active window
Exec=shutter --active
OnlyShowIn=Unity;
[close]
I would like, "Shutter" to be in the, "Graphics" category.  After I've done that, I'll be able to figure out how to fix it for, "Stellareium".  Many thanks  ;).
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 08:33:02 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26454
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Problems editing menu items [SOLVED]
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2014, 08:52:24 am »
OK, it looks like libfm is totally screwy in this version of pcmanfm .. so editing the menus from "menu://applications/" is probably not a good idea.

To get what you want
Code: [Select]
gedit ~/.local/share/applications/shutter.desktop
find the line that reads

NoDisplay=true

and remove it

Now find the line that reads

Categories=Utilities;

and change it to

Categories=GTK;Graphics;

SAVE the file.

OK, that should have made it visible again, and changed it to the "Graphics" menu



The problem is libfm seems to also be keeping track of other places it once was in the menu's .. so if you find it's in other menus too .. move (not copy) any files in
~/.config/menus
to say your desktop for safe keeping (temporarily) .. probably called peppermint-applications.menu
and if necessary, log off and on again.

If you're happy with the menus, you can delete (or backup) the file(s) you moved to the desktop

--
« Last Edit: August 01, 2014, 09:05:13 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4893
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Problems editing menu items [SOLVED]
« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2014, 09:58:03 am »
Thanks for that.  I didn't need to mess with ~.config/menus.  It is all back to the way it should be.  Its a pity libfm is acting weird in this version of PCmanFM.  The PM4 version was great.  Juggling stuff around in "menu://applications/"was a breeze.  Thanks for the help  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.