Choose style:

Author Topic: Brave web browser and ICE  (Read 2239 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25684
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Brave web browser and ICE
« on: August 25, 2018, 09:56:24 am »
I've finally received a response on the Brave bug tracker about the --app switch being none functional in Brave
https://github.com/brave/browser-laptop/issues/12165
(nicely done Brave devs)

So it looks like future versions of Brave will honour the --app flag .. so we'll be able to add support for Brave in ICE :)

Now if only Opera would do the same thing ::)
« Last Edit: August 25, 2018, 12:59:02 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3046
  • Karma: 563
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2018, 12:29:01 pm »
Nice  :)
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P9/10 @ P9 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5317
  • Karma: 943
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2018, 07:46:34 pm »
Good one!  :)

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2018, 09:41:27 pm »
This is very cool indeed.  Maybe the default browser for Pep 10  ;)?
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5317
  • Karma: 943
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2018, 10:33:28 pm »
Now if only Opera would do the same thing ::)

Yup.  I know it's apples n' oranges, but I switched from Opera (and Opera Mini) to Brave on my phone, with Bing for the search engine(s).

Very happy with it so far.

However, I'm still hooked on Opera on the desktop/laptop. I wish they'd mess it up, but they just keep making it better and better - damn them  ;D

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2018, 10:36:39 pm »
This is very cool indeed.  Maybe the default browser for Pep 10  ;)?

I could see some people having an issue with that. After all, it blocks ads by showing you their ads. The ads "pay" for you to surf the web on Brave. Some people simply won't go for that.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #6 on: August 26, 2018, 01:57:17 am »
This is very cool indeed.  Maybe the default browser for Pep 10  ;)?

I could see some people having an issue with that. After all, it blocks ads by showing you their ads. The ads "pay" for you to surf the web on Brave. Some people simply won't go for that.
Yeah, you're probably right.  I used it for a while in Pep 7 and I liked the whole concept and the speed of Brave.  The developers  obviously had some serious, "thinking outside the box" sessions.  Still having the ability of creating SSBs with Ice is a big thing.  I think a lot of Chromium Pep heads will take advantage of this new bowstring  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2018, 09:02:26 pm »
I've finally received a response on the Brave bug tracker about the --app switch being none functional in Brave
https://github.com/brave/browser-laptop/issues/12165
(nicely done Brave devs)

So it looks like future versions of Brave will honour the --app flag .. so we'll be able to add support for Brave in ICE :)

Now if only Opera would do the same thing ::)

Any chance of adding to Ice in the Pep 9 respin  ;)?
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25684
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2018, 09:18:38 pm »
Depends on a few things, not least of which is if they've added it back into the stable version by then.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3830
  • Karma: 301
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #9 on: August 27, 2018, 10:31:31 pm »
However, I'm still hooked on Opera on the desktop/laptop. I wish they'd mess it up, but they just keep making it better and better - damn them  ;D

Brave offers a lot by default when it comes to privacy.  For a new kid on the block, it's a darn good browser.  And, so far, Brave is the best browser I've ever seen for Android. 

I too have to say that Opera is a excellent browser for the desktop, but have you tried Firefox Quantum lately in Peppermint 9, VinDSL?  It's excellent too.  I mean, if people will try it and if they aren't burnt out from prior experiences with Firefox, they'll see it's excellent to the point where the new Firefox can now give Chrome a real run for its money.  I'm awestruck by how much Firefox has improved since it went to Quantum
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5317
  • Karma: 943
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #10 on: August 27, 2018, 11:09:27 pm »
I too have to say that Opera is a excellent browser for the desktop, but have you tried Firefox Quantum lately in Peppermint 9, VinDSL?

I was going to ask you if Quantum is what Peppermint 9 uses, or if it's a dev branch release, but I thought it might be taken the wrong way. LoL  :D

So, I cranked up my 32bit test machine and... yes. It says Firefox Quantum ver 61.x. is the browser that's installed.

That's the only machine where I left Fx installed, for testing purposes. Normally, I dispatch Fx with a belch, along with the btrfs tools, and so forth, on first boot.

Truthfully, I was done with Fx after ver 3.5. 3.6 was it for me. Only thing I've used Fx for, since then, was the DownThemAll (DTA) add-on. And, the dev that authored DTA dropped it like a hot potato when Quantum was released, with a F-bomb laced article on his website, about how Mozilla F'ed up the add-on space with all their undocumented APIs. Accordingly, I have no use(s) for it.

I know a lot of ppl on this site are giddy about Quantum, and I don't want to rain on their parade, so let's drop it.  ;)


Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3830
  • Karma: 301
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2018, 11:39:17 pm »
Truthfully, I was done with Fx after ver 3.5. 3.6 was it for me. Only thing I've used Fx for, since then, was the DownThemAll (DTA) add-on. And, the dev that authored DTA dropped it like a hot potato when Quantum was released, with a F-bomb laced article on his website, about how Mozilla F'ed up the add-on space with all their undocumented APIs. Accordingly, I have no use(s) for it.

I know a lot of ppl on this site are giddy about Quantum, and I don't want to rain on their parade, so let's drop it.  ;)

Okay!  Thanks. ;)

« Last Edit: August 28, 2018, 12:26:32 am by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25684
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2018, 04:58:34 am »
Don't let the bad man put you off perknh, Quantum rocks :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5317
  • Karma: 943
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #13 on: August 28, 2018, 06:27:40 am »
Bwahahahahaha  :D

« Last Edit: August 28, 2018, 06:37:26 am by VinDSL, Reason: Addendum »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25684
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Brave web browser and ICE
« Reply #14 on: August 28, 2018, 07:04:34 am »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec