Author Topic: Three Screens Issue  (Read 1145 times)

Offline r00t3r

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 1
  • r00t3r
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten (10)
Three Screens Issue
« on: August 21, 2018, 09:13:38 am »
Hello,

I'm using Peppermint OS 9 on my Laptop and have a Monitor connected to it, but just got my second one today and have connected it to my HDMI Splitter but that way none of the Monitors work if both of them are connected. If one is connected it works fine. I'm including the Laptop Screen as well. Is there an Issue with Peppermint OS with Tree Screens?

Thanks

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2018, 09:20:23 am »
Hi r00t3r,

Peppermint works perfectly well with three screens. Here is my three screen setup
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
[close]

The problem might be with the HDMI splitter.   What is one of those ?  is it trying to use the same HDMI port on the laptop to service two screens ?

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2164
  • Karma: 415
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2018, 09:41:37 am »
Yes, a splitter would in theory mirror the same output to two screens, but in practice might not work at all.

Offline r00t3r

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 1
  • r00t3r
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten (10)
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2018, 09:46:16 am »
Hi @zebedeeboss & @murraymint,

Thanks

The HDMI Splitter is https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07BPPFPFK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

My Two Monitors are connected to it, but only one works but only when one is connected. When I connect both of them none of them work.

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2018, 09:48:03 am »
Hi r00t3r.

taken from that page

Quote
Note: Only 1 output device should be active at any time unless both TVs are of the same size,then both TV will show the images when connected.

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline r00t3r

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 1
  • r00t3r
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten (10)
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2018, 09:50:28 am »
Thanks for this @zebedeeboss. Unfortunately will have to get a New Splitter. Can you recommend me on that will work for my case of Amazon.co.uk?

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2018, 09:54:28 am »
Hi r00t3r,

I do not believe you will be able to get one.  I guess you are wanting 3 independent screens to give you room to spread out.

1 x internal laptop and 1 x HDMI - you will need to use another output from your laptop if you want a third independent screen to work.

At least that is my understanding of the situation

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2018, 12:35:14 pm »
Don't expect an HDMI splitter to "extend" your desktop .. the best it'll be able to do is "mirror" your desktop.

But if mirroring is okay, what you probably need is an **ACTIVE** (powered / amplified) splitter .. ie. one with a supplementary power supply, such as a USB cable, or power brick.

Reason .. an INACTIVE (unpowered) splitter doesn't convey enough of a voltage/signal to kick two monitors/TV's out of standby



I should add, I've never used an HDMI splitter so can't guarantee the above info is correct .. but it's what I've read, and it makes sense.
« Last Edit: August 21, 2018, 01:25:58 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5818
  • Karma: 1121
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #8 on: August 24, 2018, 08:32:29 pm »
Can you recommend me on that will work for my case of Amazon.co.uk?

Not sure which make/model laptop you own, but I bought a docking station for my Dell laptop that will support multiple monitors. Something like that would probably be the way to go.

As an aside, I use a three monitor tree with my Peppermint Nine desktop PC - 2 x 23" LCDs and a 29" LCD - configured as four displays. Basically, 2 x 19" monitors on top and 2 x 23" monitors on the bottom.

So, there are lots of ways to 'cheat' the system. You just need to be creative. Here's a screenie (3840 x 2160 resolution)...   ;)



Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5818
  • Karma: 1121
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #9 on: August 25, 2018, 06:15:06 am »
BTW, you don't need to buy a proprietary docking station, like the one I use for my Dell 'Road Warrior'.

There are lots of universal docking stations available on the web that would do the job.

For example (picked at random - I'm not trying to sell you anything):


https://youtu.be/R7N0GllzZZU

 

Offline r00t3r

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 1
  • r00t3r
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten (10)
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #10 on: September 09, 2018, 06:23:00 am »
Hi @VinDSL,

Thanks. Can you let me know what your "docking station" is exactly?

My Laptop is Acer Aspire E15.


Offline r00t3r

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 1
  • r00t3r
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Ten (10)
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #11 on: September 09, 2018, 06:24:09 am »
Is there something cheaper then USB3DOCKH2DP? Sorry forgot to mention.

Offline VinDSL

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5818
  • Karma: 1121
  • Team Peppermint
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Three Screens Issue
« Reply #12 on: September 09, 2018, 03:20:54 pm »
I own a Dell CY640 docking station, but it's made for with E-Series Dell laptops, so that won't help you.

And, I doubt if you're going to find a cheaper triple-monitor docking station than the USB3DOCKH2DP

I did a quick search, and it looks like they're all in that price range.