Choose style:

Author Topic: Using ICE outside of Peppermint  (Read 588 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline redrobbo66

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« on: July 10, 2018, 10:28:19 am »
Just a short video on how to install and use ICE on Debian.
Should work on most Debian and Ubuntu based distros with a small tweak to the script (detailed within the video)


Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4807
  • Karma: 1011
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 11:13:20 am »
Hi redrobbo66, welcome to the Peppermint Nut House Forum  :D.   It's really nice seeing Ice being used in other distros.  As you say, it really is a very useful tool.  Believe it or not, It's astonishing how many people simply fail to understand it and how it adds to the flexibility of the host distro.   It looks really cool being used in Bunsenlabs, (OpenBox)  8).  Thanks for sharing your utilization of Ice and the very useful tweak for Debian users.  Naturally, if any of your BL crowd have any questions, we'd be delighted to try and help  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1422
  • Karma: 190
  • Peppermint - Void - NetBSD
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7 Respin (64bit)
Re: Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 11:58:03 am »
It's possible to install ICE in any distro. There's an AUR port to Arch and I had it running on Void myself.
Nice instructions though.

Skickat från min SM-G900F via Tapatalk


Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 2650
  • Karma: 516
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin x64
Re: Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2018, 12:06:55 pm »
nice video redrobbo66,

Thank You

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P9Respin x64 Desktop - i7-6700K @ 4.00GHz - 32Gb RAM - NVIDIA GTX1070ti 8Gb - 2 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22902
  • Karma: 2556
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2018, 01:16:49 pm »
Thanks redrobbo66, and welcome to the forum :)

Just adding a note for others - The tweak in the video is not necessary on an Ubuntu based distro, where you should be able to simply install the .deb and it should 'just work'.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline redrobbo66

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Re: Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2018, 09:57:19 am »
Thanks for the comment all.

You have an excellent distro  in Peppermint.
Just popped P9 onto my Lenovo netbook and it runs superbly.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22902
  • Karma: 2556
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Using ICE outside of Peppermint
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2018, 10:04:02 am »
Nice .. we'll get you off Bunsen yet :))
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec