Choose style:

Author Topic: Is there a workaround for installing non-PAE laptop? [SOLVED]  (Read 7033 times)

Barbados99

I am a newbie that has a Pentium-M laptop that is currently running Peppermint 3.  At some point it would be great to upgrade to a newer release, but I understand that version 3 is the last release that supports non-PAE computers.  I found information regarding "fake PAE" workarounds on a Lubuntu forum.  It gives a few options, but will one of these work on Peppermint?  If so, then could you help me understand which of these workarounds I should use in Peppermint?  Or if there is a better way to do this, I'm open to any help you can give me.  Thank you in advance for any help.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu-fake-PAE
« Last Edit: May 24, 2018, 07:24:55 pm by PCNetSpec »

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Is there a workaround for installing non-PAE laptop?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 05:06:57 pm »
There is a posting on the old Peppermint forum:
http://peppermintos.net/viewtopic.php?p=36450#p36450

that explains how someone used the Lubuntu "grub-n-iso-n-swap" method and swapped out the Lubuntu ISO image for a Peppermint ISO image (renamed to the same name as the Lubuntu one) to install Peppermint 4 on a system with a Pentium M
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Tina

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 09:45:19 am »
Before you get into any hassel, try
inxi -f
and check for the pae flag.
Or simply try a peppermintos4 or linuxmint16, or any recent ubuntu dasein distro live-CD/USB Stick.

Recently I installed Ubuntu based LINUX Distros on Pentium M based systems and non showed an absence of the PAE flag.