Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage  (Read 1055 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
  • Karma: 944
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« on: July 02, 2018, 12:48:25 pm »
I've been commenting about this in the subs, for awhile, but now that P9 Final has arrived ...

I tested the Peppermint 32bit iso on my 'doorstop' Dell Dimension 3000. RAM useage is stunning!

Yesterday, I installed and configured 'conky-all'. I assumed it has going to increase RAM usage considerably.

Today, I upgraded to the Linux 4.15.0-24 kernel, which required a restart, of course.

Read 'em and weep, boyz   :D  (wall compliments of English Bob)



Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1836
  • Karma: 257
    • View Profile
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2018, 12:53:47 pm »
Nice  :D
What happens if you launch firefox and stream a video? Do the 2Gb hold it?

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
  • Karma: 944
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2018, 01:16:54 pm »
Fx adds 300-400MiB. PCNoSleep suggested that I sell the uneeded RAM on eBay.

Streaming video is out of the question. That box is so old, all it has is PCI slots to work with - no AGP, PCI-Express, et cetera.

Plus, you can't disable the integrated GPU (no jumper pins on the mobo - no setting in BIOS) so booting with an after-market PCI graphic card is a nightmare.

As they say, "it is what it is", whatever that means.  It's a Dell business PC, dating back to the turn of the century :)

The larger point is, I can't find any mem leaks in Peppermint 9 (default install) and it definitely doesn't suffer from bloat.

Amazing, really.

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1902
  • Karma: 188
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
    • My MeWe profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2018, 01:51:07 pm »



hmmmm  ??? ... I can't see your .png in the regular message thread, but when I quote your post there's the code for it... discovered I can highlight and open in a new window... weird... :-\
spence
PeppermintOS 10 currently installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1836
  • Karma: 257
    • View Profile
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2018, 01:51:31 pm »
Really nice 8)

Skickat från min SM-G900F via Tapatalk


Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25718
  • Karma: 2821
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2018, 02:12:14 pm »
hmmmm  ??? ... I can't see your .png in the regular message thread, but when I quote your post there's the code for it... discovered I can highlight and open in a new window... weird... :-\

Some browser plugin you're running must be blocking vindsl.com because I can see it no problem.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25718
  • Karma: 2821
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2018, 02:13:27 pm »
Read 'em and weep, boyz   :D

You won't see me weeping :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1902
  • Karma: 188
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
    • My MeWe profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2018, 02:14:27 pm »
I see it just fine from my laptop too... I'll check my addons inside the desktop's peppermint forum SSB...
spence
PeppermintOS 10 currently installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1902
  • Karma: 188
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
    • My MeWe profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2018, 02:15:43 pm »
Read 'em and weep, boyz   :D

You won't see me weeping :)

Only 'cuz we're never allowed to... you know... SEE you...
spence
PeppermintOS 10 currently installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25718
  • Karma: 2821
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2018, 03:18:51 pm »
This is true :P
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1902
  • Karma: 188
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
    • My MeWe profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2018, 03:27:53 pm »
hmmmm  ??? ... I can't see your .png in the regular message thread, but when I quote your post there's the code for it... discovered I can highlight and open in a new window... weird... :-\

Some browser plugin you're running must be blocking vindsl.com because I can see it no problem.

I had ghostery installed for the rare occasion I follow links outta here by opening a new window... deleting that allows me to see VinDSL's pics normally... 
spence
PeppermintOS 10 currently installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
  • Karma: 944
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2018, 07:28:33 am »
[...] you can't disable the integrated GPU (no jumper pins on the mobo - no setting in BIOS) so booting with an after-market PCI graphic card is a nightmare [...]

Hrm ...

I don't know what changed - the BIOS update - the added RAM - the SSD - Peppermint 9 - whatevs

I was re-testing my treasure chest of legacy PCI cards, and all of a sudden my 32bit Dell is recognizing them as the primary video card.

The only problem is, my booty of video cards from the last century don't support modern day resolutions.

Think I found the solution - a PCI card that was made after the turn of the century, not before. LoL  ;D

Time will tell ...

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25718
  • Karma: 2821
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint 9 - Stellar RAM Useage
« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2018, 07:36:38 am »
And you get the benefit of cleaner case internals .. those old coal fired cards really clogged up the fans.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec