Choose style:

Author Topic: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)  (Read 5080 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #15 on: July 25, 2014, 11:47:57 am »
i loaded 3 youtube videos and it went up to 71 c than slowly each one i removed it dropped down finally with just one around 60 c and checked

the report it went from 2000 to 12000 interesting. Ya seems ok has not even be en close to 80 c 71
seems to be the hottest under the most 'stress' i'd ever give it.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #16 on: July 25, 2014, 11:48:55 am »
and now after i removed the last video it dropped to 46 c. so it seems pretty normal from what i understand ...thank you for the info now i won't worry so much :D
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
  • Karma: 945
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #17 on: July 25, 2014, 08:09:12 pm »
I'm using a dell latitude d630  which is a pretty old machine.
ok so its at a safe temp????

I'm using a Dell Latitude D620 and a Dell Latitude ATG D630.

Those temps -- under those conditions -- are totally normal. 

My ATG D630 is a flame-thrower.  It's not unusual for it to hit 90+C when playing games, watching vids, and so forth -- and immediately drop back to 45C, as soon as I return to 'normal' computing.

I run my D620 24/7 (uptime 80 days, at the moment).  These temps don't bother it a bit.

I do run a (single-fan) "lap cooler" under my D620, so the battery doesn't overheat.

I turn off my ATG D630 before going to bed.  All this thermal cycling hasn't affected adversely either.

One thing I might mention, you have the 'best' GPU -- Intel.  So do I.  Dell has had to replace (literally) millions of nVidia GPUs in D620s & D630s because of thermal cycling.  Evidently, the nVidia supplier underflowed all of these nVidia chipsets -- and, everyone of them WILL go bad, given enough time and heat.  But, you don't need to worry about it with Intel GPUs.

Personally, the only thing I would worry about is the Li batteries overheating -- especially if you're running a 3rd party replacement.  Li batteries will catch on fire and/or blow-up if they go into thermal runaway -- but, that's true of any Li battery, e.g. not just Dells.

Have fun!   ;)


Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #18 on: July 25, 2014, 09:33:02 pm »
hey thanks for the info :D i actually use my laptop plugged in at all times connected to a VGA monitor with a mouse and keyboard.
I know this may be a dumb question but since its never running off the battery but the AC power wouldn't that over ride the whole concept
of it messing with the battery or just the heat from the CPU can heat up the unused battery and cause an issue?
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #19 on: July 25, 2014, 09:36:01 pm »
in fact could i just take out the battery to avoid that problem? and than put it in if i ever needed to travel with it? as of now
my laptop is basiclaly being used as a home PC. I don't know if anyone else does this too.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
  • Karma: 945
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #20 on: July 25, 2014, 10:41:36 pm »
in fact could i just take out the battery to avoid that problem?

Yes. 

The only reason I leave the battery in my D620 is, I'm using the battery as a poor man's UPS, in case of AC power failure.   ;D

And, the only reason I leave the batteries (plural) in my ATG D630 is because I need to grab_it_on_the_go, and it's a PITA to add/remove dual batteries.

When I pull the batteries, and run off AC only, I usually run them down to 50% capacity, and put them in the refrigerator, but that isn't necessary.  That's just the way I roll.   ;)

Offline josephd

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: 102
  • WordPress Developer
    • View Profile
    • LinuxBookPro
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #21 on: July 27, 2014, 01:23:11 pm »
Have you installed lm-sensors

that will allow you to track the temperature manually and provide a critical readout.

joe@i5-2500k ~ $ sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +39.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 0:         +38.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 1:         +39.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 2:         +39.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 3:         +37.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)

Keep in mind I'm running a i5 SandyBridge circa 2011 desktop and not using flash
This system has really good airflow as I built the desktop myself which helps reduce ambient buildup of heat not escaping the system.

As long as your system doesn't peak over the "high" threshold you're okay.

Since your system is older if you're comfortable with opening it up I'd suggest dusting off the fan and vents with canned air, that might help airflow and knock down a few degrees.

I'm not personally a fan of removing the battery. An old macbookpro from '06 I owned used the battery as a power buffer when ramping up CPU speeds, once it was removed it would step back to 1/2 speed and stay there. It's likely not an issue but I wanted to add it to this thread if people review it in the future.

« Last Edit: July 27, 2014, 01:35:21 pm by josephd »
Joseph Dickson | www.linuxbookpro.com | www.joseph-dickson.com | https://twitter.com/joe4ska - "I also enjoy Debian Stable, Pop!_OS, and Trisquel."

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #22 on: July 27, 2014, 11:50:16 pm »
Have you installed lm-sensors

that will allow you to track the temperature manually and provide a critical readout.

joe@i5-2500k ~ $ sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Physical id 0:  +39.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 0:         +38.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 1:         +39.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 2:         +39.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)
Core 3:         +37.0C  (high = +80.0C, crit = +98.0C)

Keep in mind I'm running a i5 SandyBridge circa 2011 desktop and not using flash
This system has really good airflow as I built the desktop myself which helps reduce ambient buildup of heat not escaping the system.

As long as your system doesn't peak over the "high" threshold you're okay.

Since your system is older if you're comfortable with opening it up I'd suggest dusting off the fan and vents with canned air, that might help airflow and knock down a few degrees.

I'm not personally a fan of removing the battery. An old macbookpro from '06 I owned used the battery as a power buffer when ramping up CPU speeds, once it was removed it would step back to 1/2 speed and stay there. It's likely not an issue but I wanted to add it to this thread if people review it in the future.


yep i have senors installed.
iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +51.5C  (crit = +99.0C)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:       +51.0C  (high = +100.0C, crit = +100.0C)
Core 1:       +51.0C  (high = +100.0C, crit = +100.0C)

iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $

nah the hottest it goes is about 65 usually it hit 71 c once but usually when watching hulu or recording
it gets up to 65. We actually just had a black out due to a storm well more like a brown out and it reminded me
oh...i should take out the battery. So i just did now i dont have to worry about the battery blowing up on me if it heats up.
I mostly use my laptop as a desk top so i really don't need the battery unless i'm taking it on a trip which isn't very often.



http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #23 on: July 27, 2014, 11:54:13 pm »
this is my computer after i closed out hulu
iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +39.5C  (crit = +99.0C)

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:       +39.0C  (high = +100.0C, crit = +100.0C)
Core 1:       +39.0C  (high = +100.0C, crit = +100.0C)

iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $



i dont think its abnormal at all.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline josephd

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: 102
  • WordPress Developer
    • View Profile
    • LinuxBookPro
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #24 on: July 28, 2014, 12:30:48 am »
For a Core 2 Dou that is really cool. My i7 runs slightly hotter actually.

To put it in perspective that's 102 degrees Fahrenheit 20 degrees over ambient temperature is really good.
Joseph Dickson | www.linuxbookpro.com | www.joseph-dickson.com | https://twitter.com/joe4ska - "I also enjoy Debian Stable, Pop!_OS, and Trisquel."

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #25 on: July 28, 2014, 11:22:12 am »
yeah it doesn't seem to get super hot until i  watch videos for long periods of time and hasn't peaked over 71 C
so i think ill be ok especially since its rated for 100 C. I feel better that the batter is out now however being i use it
like a desktop i don't want to blow up the battery or catch it on fire or also drain it.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5328
  • Karma: 945
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #26 on: July 28, 2014, 10:38:08 pm »
I feel better that the batter is out now however being i use it like a desktop i don't want to blow up the battery or catch it on fire [...]

In case ppl think we're being paranoid...





EDIT

BTW, I have dual batteries in my ATG D630 -- 6-cell primary & 9-cell secondary (15 cells total)  LoL   :D
« Last Edit: July 28, 2014, 10:53:34 pm by VinDSL, Reason: Addendum »

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« Reply #27 on: July 29, 2014, 12:58:36 pm »
jesus ! ya i don't want that happening !
for now the batter is removed i'm only using the battery
when i actually use it like a laptop which is not very often.
Plus i would imagine the battery would last a little long this way too.

on a full charge i have 2 and a half hours, this battery from what i read
is supposed to get around 5 hours out of it,  so i know its low.  On the dell
website a brand new battery from them is about 110 dollars which is only 30 dollars
less than what i paid for my computer new. So i'd rather try and make this battery last ahaha
and also ya... i don't want anything blowing up thats scary. I'm just imagining me falling asleep
with it plugged in and waking up in the middle of the night with smoke and sparks flying all of the place
no thanks!!!! haha
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ