Choose style:

Author Topic: how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)  (Read 5060 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
how do i install a fanspeed control ???? (SOLVED)
« on: July 24, 2014, 11:23:37 pm »
My laptop is running at about 38-45 degrees C when im just surfing the web or doing simple tasks
but when i watch netflix/hulu it gets up to 68 and some times 70.  I know there is fanspeed for windows and maybe mac
i was wondering if there is anything for linux? I'm ordering a cooling station for the laptop to help that out a bit too.

Any suggestions?
I'm using a dell latitude d630  which is a pretty old machine.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2014, 11:52:28 am by iamesperambient »
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline josephd

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 337
  • Karma: 102
  • WordPress Developer
    • View Profile
    • LinuxBookPro
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2014, 01:34:53 am »
Hi iamesperambient,
Since Peppermint OS is based on Ubuntu many of the commands and packages will be compatible.
Ask Ubuntu looks like it has the solution at http://askubuntu.com/questions/22108/how-to-control-fan-speed

I have not tried this on my system as it's bios controls the fan speed perfectly for my needs.

Let me know if this helps.
Joseph Dickson | www.linuxbookpro.com | www.joseph-dickson.com | https://twitter.com/joe4ska - "I also enjoy Debian Stable, Pop!_OS, and Trisquel."

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2014, 10:21:26 am »
ok so i started to do that and i got this back in terminal that they had to probe for certain devices and it says
it can be risky and is usually safe but is also known to cause issues? so should i skip on even trying?
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2014, 10:25:01 am »
so i loaded up hulu in the background and than checked sensors around 60 c (it booted today at 20 c)
once i closed out hulu  it dropped to 48 c in about 1 minute. Is it possible my sensors are just not reading correctly
or is my computer just very hot? i can't believe watching hulu would use up so much power to make it so hot. (is that even that hot?)
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2014, 10:28:56 am »
What CPU do you have
and
which graphics drivers ?

If unsure, post the output from:
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep model
and
Code: [Select]
sudo lshw -C display
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2014, 10:37:01 am »
iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep model
model      : 15
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7250  @ 2.00GHz
model      : 15
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU     T7250  @ 2.00GHz
iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $


http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #6 on: July 25, 2014, 10:38:07 am »
  *-display:0             
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary)
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
       version: 0c
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
       configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
       resources: irq:43 memory:fea00000-feafffff memory:e0000000-efffffff ioport:efe8(size=8)
  *-display:1 UNCLAIMED
       description: Display controller
       product: Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (secondary)
       vendor: Intel Corporation
       physical id: 2.1
       bus info: pci@0000:00:02.1
       version: 0c
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:feb00000-febfffff
iamesper@justin-Latitude-D630 ~ $ sudo lshw -C display
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2014, 10:40:40 am »
is there a way where i can lower some kind of power setting or maybe make the graphics run a lower rate? (i really dont mind) to maybe use less CPU power???
it seems to suck the life out of it.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2014, 10:54:12 am »
in the task manager watching hulu uses about 50 % of the CPU.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #9 on: July 25, 2014, 10:54:40 am »
I suppose you could try installing TLP

But I don't think 60C is overly hot for a CPU when watching video .. particularly if it's flash video.

Your CPU is rated to 100C
http://ark.intel.com/products/31728/Intel-Core2-Duo-Processor-T7250-2M-Cache-2_00-GHz-800-MHz-FSB
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2014, 10:57:35 am »
ok so its at a safe temp????  (sorry never looked into any of this until i installed linux)
its making me aware of so many more things having to do with computers I feel much more
"informed" now :D
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #11 on: July 25, 2014, 11:14:53 am »
Well let's put things this way .. the seriously underpowered Intel Atom CPU in my netbook always hits 65C when I watch flash video but the fan then keeps it around there.

Theoretically you shouldn't be able to damage the CPU anyway as it should have a thermal cutout.

I wouldn't worry at all about 60C, particularly if the fan is stopping it getting much above that
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2014, 11:23:08 am »
ok ya i mean when im watching hulu and on fb it gets to around 68-70 c but has not gone passed that
and usually it drops back down to around 60. should i get a cooling pad just to be on the safe side?
plus when not hooked up to a monitor (using it as a desktop with mouse and keyboard) it gets a little
on the warm side anyway.
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25661
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2014, 11:30:24 am »
That sounds about rightt to me, and is well within the manufacturers quoted max temp

Modern CPU's throttle back their internalc lock frequency when they're not under load, so your 2X 2000Mhz core will throttle back to say 1000Mhz
But place a load on them as with a game, or flash video and they'll jump to their max frequency .. wil tthe result that it will get hotter, and the fan should speed up to keep it within the max operating temp.

You can watch this happen, by NOT running Hulu, and running:
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo

then running Hulu, and running it again

You'll see the "cpu MHz" jump in response to the added load

that command only takes a single reading .. it does not update in real time, so you may need to run it a few times before the CPU scales its frequency.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline iamesperambient

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1269
  • Karma: 89
  • a totally awesome dude
    • View Profile
    • i AM esper (drone ambient music)
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 64 bit
Re: how do i install a fanspeed control ????
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2014, 11:38:58 am »
thanks for the info i'll check that now and see what happens :D
http://iamesper.bandcamp.com
boring drone music from NJ