Choose style:

Author Topic: Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"  (Read 592 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4299
  • Karma: 801
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"
« on: June 28, 2018, 08:15:50 pm »
Ran across this on LinkedIn today, of all places...  ::)

Quote
Brief: This article explains the difference between apt and apt-get commands of Linux. It also lists some of the most commonly used apt commands that replace the older apt-get commands.

Mildly interesting read: https://itsfoss.com/apt-vs-apt-get-difference/


Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4299
  • Karma: 801
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
Re: Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2018, 08:18:28 pm »
BTW, at the bottom of the article...

Quote
So what do you think? Are you already using apt or do you want to stick with the good old apt-get? Share your views in the comment section below.

I'm oldskool, in this regard; an apt-getter.

How about you?

Offline mac

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: 335
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7-8-9
Re: Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2018, 08:23:48 pm »
apt  ;)
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4793
  • Karma: 1001
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2018, 08:42:11 pm »
It seems we're being pushed to use just apt.  Sometimes, apt-get returns errors.  I'm apt  :).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3581
  • Karma: 793
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7 & 9
Re: Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2018, 11:00:22 pm »
I run apt-get all the time without errors. It's just how I'm used to doing things. In fact, I used to just do the apt thing, but that was giving me errors a few Peppermint versions back, so I went back to apt-get.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 12:37:29 am by scifidude79 »

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 22493
  • Karma: 2511
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R and 9
Re: Using "apt" rather than "apt-get" and "apt-cache"
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2018, 10:32:39 am »
It seems we're being pushed to use just apt.  Sometimes, apt-get returns errors.  I'm apt  :).

I'd like an example of that Andy ?

It shouldn't.



Me, I'm an apt-get guy .. there are things "apt" can't do (but don't ask me what) .. I do think that apt-get tends to be more fine tunable, for example:-

apt upgrade does NOT == apt-get upgrade .. it in fact == apt-get upgrade --with-new-pkgs (which in itself is not the same as apt-get dist-upgrade which also allows new additions)

I'm unsure if there's a way to get apt on it's own to hold back packages that would require removing other packages (as apt-get upgrade does)

You only have to look at the two man pages
Code: [Select]
man apt
and
Code: [Select]
man apt-get
to see apt-get has MANY more options.

That said, for MOST use cases (non advanced package management) apt does simplify things, and has some nice touches such as the progress bar and functions such as:-
Code: [Select]
apt list
and
Code: [Select]
apt list upgradeable



As a side note, lately I've been trying to make the switch to apt on this forum (where possible), but I'm finding it terribly difficult and may give up .. for example I had to test apt purge works as apt-get remove --purge did, and according to the manpage it should .. and yet I got an error with apt purge  :-\
so ended up having a post on thiis forum that had both apt instructions and an apt-get one thrown in .. which is bound to lead to confusion (I know it confused me).
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 11:01:52 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec