Choose style:

Author Topic: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!  (Read 1106 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« on: June 05, 2018, 03:51:12 pm »
We're in the throes of resetting everything in the house because hubster feels this was enough of a threat to change all of our router's settings and passwords...
http://www.computerrepairintyler.com/fbis-urgent-warning-reset-routers-now/

saying
Quote
This is exactly the sort of thing Russia's FSB likes to do... they've been messing with Latvia's, Lithuania's and Estonia's connections to the wider world for a while now
« Last Edit: June 05, 2018, 03:54:10 pm by spence »
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline JoeSh

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Karma: 8
  • Peppermint does the trick
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6 and 7 (32bit) 8 (64bit)
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2018, 04:56:51 pm »
Do you know if my password will change if I reset my router? Would I have to contact my provider?




Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2018, 05:09:32 pm »
Do you know if my password will change if I reset my router? Would I have to contact my provider?

you should always set your own password on your router... leaving the default leaves you vulnerable... we purchased our own router & modem in order to avoid paying our ISP a monthly modem fee
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2018, 05:30:10 pm »
you should always set your own password on your router...

Not all of them let you. When I was with AT&T, we didn't have that kind of access to the U-Verse router. ::)

Offline JoeSh

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • Karma: 8
  • Peppermint does the trick
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6 and 7 (32bit) 8 (64bit)
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2018, 05:41:05 pm »
Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #6 on: June 05, 2018, 07:58:03 pm »
you should always set your own password on your router...

Not all of them let you. When I was with AT&T, we didn't have that kind of access to the U-Verse router. ::)

We've never rented the router & modem... so that wouldn't have applied to us... nor occured to me... my apologies... 
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2018, 08:11:45 pm »
you should always set your own password on your router...

Not all of them let you. When I was with AT&T, we didn't have that kind of access to the U-Verse router. ::)

We've never rented the router & modem... so that wouldn't have applied to us... nor occured to me... my apologies... 

No need to apologize, it's all good. It wasn't by choice. When I had AT&T regular DSL, I bought my own modem/router and set it up myself. Unfortunately, to upgrade to a bundle with TV, it had to be their equipment, because the TV is IPTV. It was a huge pain, and they lied about there being no setup fee. Then, sometime after upgrading, they made all AT&T internet accounts U-Verse, so I would have had to use that crap anyway. (I think I still have some old DSL modems somewhere.)

With the cable I have now, it's still their equipment, but it was delivered via UPS and we set it up ourselves, even the cable boxes. So, we have a custom password on the modem/router. :)
« Last Edit: June 05, 2018, 08:14:45 pm by scifidude79 »

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2018, 08:19:04 pm »
It's been an all day affair... we have one of the listed Netgear routers... and some things in the house are resisting the changed passwords... our weather station, the TV and the roku specifically... our definitive speaker system was resistant to the change as well, making hubster worry that our router might be failing...

Anyways... everyone who can reset their passwords should... and never never leave the default password in place if at all possible...


 ;)
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5128
  • Karma: 936
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2018, 08:53:02 pm »
Two out of three of my routers needed to have their firmware updated anyway, sooo

Yeah, a couple of them ...  ;)

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25097
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #10 on: June 05, 2018, 09:19:57 pm »
It's been an all day affair... we have one of the listed Netgear routers... and some things in the house are resisting the changed passwords... our weather station, the TV and the roku specifically... our definitive speaker system was resistant to the change as well, making hubster worry that our router might be failing...

Anyways... everyone who can reset their passwords should... and never never leave the default password in place if at all possible...


 ;)

Do you mind me asking why connected devices would "resist" the new router password ?

I'm assuming it's on;y the router login and if present remote access passwords that would need changing .. not so much the wireless ones.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #11 on: June 06, 2018, 02:46:51 am »

Do you mind me asking why connected devices would "resist" the new router password ?

I'm assuming it's only the router login and if present remote access passwords that would need changing .. not so much the wireless ones.

No, don't mind your asking at all, but not sure I can clarify much... we've always blocked remote access. The router is hubster's domain which I don't touch in order to avoid being accused of breaking things. He feels like he was probably rushing things along... he musta restarted the router 10 times while trying to get the weather station to accept the new password... eventually he gave up and moved on to the speaker system... that was another 5 or more restarts before he decided to move it to the 2.5 GHz network since my normal laptop zone is between the router and the speakers... He was at it all day long... and after the 20th or so restart, the weather station finally locked on in to the 5 GHz network...

Sometimes when he rebooted, only the devices in the 5 GHz network appeared, sometimes only the 2.5 GHz devices appeared and sometimes nothing appeared... yes our router is more than 5 years old... but we've been hit with too many expenses of late and this will have to do for now.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2018, 02:51:57 am by spence »
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25097
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #12 on: June 06, 2018, 10:18:34 am »
What I was asking/suggesting is that there was no real need to change the WIRELESS password in the router at all .. the password that needed changing was only the one that is used to log into the routers settings page.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline spence

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1862
  • Karma: 186
  • peppermint user since 2010
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9 Respin
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #13 on: June 06, 2018, 12:10:11 pm »
I got that, but we've had that password around for too long anyways...

 ;)
spence
PeppermintOS 10installed  on:
'16 Antec Aria rebuild
 '18 Asus VivoBook


Do not despair, grasshopper...
    with patience all will be revealed...
       Through pain, enlightenment will come.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25097
  • Karma: 2778
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Has Everyone reset their routers? ESP Netgear!
« Reply #14 on: June 06, 2018, 12:26:17 pm »
Can't hurt, I just wanted to make sure he was ALSO changing the router login password and not just the wireless one ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec