Choose style:

Author Topic: No boot loader? Resolved. (Somehow)  (Read 4353 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #30 on: May 11, 2018, 01:33:09 pm »
Hi IronDuke!

Make sure you know what device you are about to erase.

-Launch gparted
-Select device and choose create partition table
-Yes and apply
-Wait until it finishes erasing the existing partitions
-Click New (icon to the far left), choose ext4 and apply
-Wait while it writes the new file system
-Close gparted and proceed with the installation

Please, do let us know how it went.
Regards!

Skickat från min SM-G900F via Tapatalk
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 09:48:07 pm by pin »

Offline IronDuke

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #31 on: May 11, 2018, 02:44:03 pm »
Yes, yes !
Do you have anything in that drive that you want to keep?
If no, let's clean it up!
Waiting for your call.

Skickat från min SM-G900F via Tapatalk

Hi, mate

No nothing on anything other than whatever might have gone on when I tried to install P8.

Regards,

Doug.

PS  Sorry only just seen your next post.

Offline mac

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: 336
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7-8-9
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #32 on: May 11, 2018, 02:45:30 pm »
@pin
Clear and simple instructions, pin.  Nice.  ;)

@IronDuke
So simple even a caveman could do it  :D 
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835

Offline IronDuke

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #33 on: May 11, 2018, 02:50:37 pm »
Hi IronDuke!

Make sure you know what device you are about to erase.

-Launch gparted
-Select device and choose create partition table
-Yes and aplay
-Wait until it finishes erasing the existing partitions
-Click New (icon to the far left), choose ext4 and aplay
-Wait while it writes the new file system

-Close gparted and proceed with the installation

Please, do let us know how it went.
Regards!

Skickat från min SM-G900F via Tapatalk

Hi, pin

Thank you I'll give it a go.

Regards,

Doug.
 

Offline IronDuke

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #34 on: May 11, 2018, 02:54:50 pm »
@pin
Clear and simple instructions, pin.  Nice.  ;)

@IronDuke
So simple even a caveman could do it  :D

I not quite at caveman level yet.  ;D

 "He sets low personal standards and then consistently fails to achieve them.".

 


Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #35 on: May 11, 2018, 03:08:07 pm »
Please let us know if it works or not!
It should, once you have cleared the drive from broken partitions and other crap!
Good luck!
Do comeback if you need! Don't be shy

EDIT: Some images to help




Sorry, but I didn't feel like erasing my hard drive so you could get a real second shoot  8)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 03:31:02 pm by pin »

Offline IronDuke

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #36 on: May 11, 2018, 03:29:29 pm »
Please let us know if it works or not!
It should, once you have cleared the drive from broken partitions and other crap!
Good luck!
Do comeback if you need! Don't be shy

Skickat från min SM-G900F via Tapatalk

Hi, pin aspiring caeveman here,

Slight confusion launched gparted selected device and then create partition table and  it comes up select new partition table type and in msdos in a box click on this and there are a lot of options other than msdos aix amiga mac etc etc.

It only mentions one /dev/sda and when I click on apply I get the same message as before invalid partition table - recursive partition on /dev/sdc also there are three devices shown when I click on the GParted bit top left corner thus :  sda sdb and sdc.

Any ideas please?
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 03:38:48 pm by IronDuke »

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #37 on: May 11, 2018, 03:37:15 pm »
Just keep the selection as msdos... you are just removing partitions at this stage.

"It only mentions one /dev/sda and when I click on apply I get the same message as before invalid partition table - recursive partition on /dev/sdc also there are three devices shown when I click on the GParted bit top left corner thus :  sda sdb and sdc."

Can't you just choose ignore here?
If not! Are there any warning (!) signs on any partitions? If so right click and choose "Unmount", then proceed as previously,

I'm here, just ask!

EDIT: Don't worry about my FAT32 /boot/efi partition... You don't need need it for 32bit legacy boot, just pretend it doesn't exist!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2018, 07:12:12 am by pin »

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 344
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #38 on: May 11, 2018, 03:39:44 pm »
Yes, you can ignore the error about sdc, that won't matter.

Offline IronDuke

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #39 on: May 11, 2018, 03:49:12 pm »
Just keep the selection as msdos... you are just removing partitions at this stage.

"It only mentions one /dev/sda and when I click on apply I get the sn you just chooseame message as before invalid partition table - recursive partition on /dev/sdc also there are three devices shown when I click on the GParted bit top left corner thus :  sda sdb and sdc."

Can't you just choose ignore here?
If not! Are there any warning (!) signs on any partitions? If so right click and choose "Unmount", then proceed as previously,

I'm here, just ask!
 
EDIT: Don't worry about my FAT32 /boot/efi partition... You don't need need it for 32bit legacy boot, just pretent it doesn't exist!

Hi, pin I'll try to explain what I get but is there any way I can post the gparted screen shot which would be easier I assume than trying to put it into words?

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #40 on: May 11, 2018, 03:52:09 pm »

Offline IronDuke

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #41 on: May 11, 2018, 04:09:01 pm »
Of course, here https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,4036.0.html

Hi, pin

Grateful for your patience and help just had a glance at the topic above which will probably take me most of the night to read and understand it or probably not as the case may be!!

Sorry to be a real pain in the backside but I am grateful believe me.

Regards,

Doug.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26290
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #42 on: May 11, 2018, 04:49:35 pm »
Do we even know the model of this PC yet ?

Quote
when I click on the GParted bit top left corner thus :  sda sdb and sdc."

Does it mention their capacities in the top right too ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1058
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #43 on: May 11, 2018, 04:51:47 pm »
Hi IronDuke, just a note about Imgur, if you are going to continue with Peppermint I would advise you to create an account in Imgur and then make an ICE ssb so that any time you need to post a photo here you can call up Imgur from the menu. And when you do go to Imgur it will take you right to your account, you just have to sign in. So screenshot away and let us all know what you are looking at that is frustrating you. Also, don't forget to crop your photos. Good luck bud, we'll get you there.  :)
What was I thinking?

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: No boot loader?
« Reply #44 on: May 11, 2018, 05:01:59 pm »
Do we even know the model of this PC yet ?

Quote
when I click on the GParted bit top left corner thus :  sda sdb and sdc."

Does it mention their capacities in the top right too ?

Yes, PCNetSpec it's here,

Quote
Sorry not intentional.

it's an ASUS EEE PC1000 netbook.

Does that help?

Regards,

Doug.

EDIT: That's good night for me! Sleep tight!
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 05:04:09 pm by pin »