Author Topic: Help with Backgrounds (Solved)  (Read 1360 times)

Offline darrel_jw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS 8 respin 2
Help with Backgrounds (Solved)
« on: March 28, 2018, 05:45:17 pm »
I have dual Dell monitors (a 20 inch and a 21 inch ) When I install OS 8  it displays a background on the primary monitor (the 20 inch)), but it will only display a black background on the second monitor. I can run apps on both, but I would like a background on the second monitor also. What should I do?

Darrel
« Last Edit: March 30, 2018, 03:31:18 pm by darrel_jw »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2018, 06:06:31 pm »
Hi darrel_jw, how's it going :)?  Welcome to the Peppermint Forum, it's very nice to meet you  ;).  Could you let us have a little more information about your computer?

Open a terminal window with the following keystrokes:

Ctrl+Alt+t

Enter, (Copy & Paste) the following command into the terminal window and hit enter:
Code: [Select]
inxi -FxPost the output back to the forum. 

When posting terminal outputs back to the forum, could you please remember to encapsulate them with the Insert, Code # function.  For extra long outputs, please use the Spoiler, Sp function.  If you’re a Chromium Browser and/or a Google Chrome user, please don't combine these functions.  For some reason they don’t work well together with these browsers.  Only use one or the other  ;).  These forum functions preserve the original format of the output.  This makes it easier for future visitors to relate to their own issues.  These functions are found in the forum editor, above the,  :-[ Embarrassed and  the :'( Cry emoticon respectively.  Use the Preview button to check how it'll look in the forum - many thanks  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline darrel_jw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS 8 respin 2
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2018, 06:15:05 pm »
Hello,
Thanks for getting back. Here's the output of that command:

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: darrel-HP Kernel: 4.13.0-37-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Eight
Machine:   System: HP-Pavilion product: BK150AA-ABA p6331p
           Mobo: FOXCONN model: ALOE v: 1.01
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 5.09 date: 01/22/2010
CPU:       Quad core AMD Athlon II X4 630 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 22399
           clock speeds: max: 2800 MHz 1: 2100 MHz 2: 1600 MHz 3: 1600 MHz
           4: 1600 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RS880 [Radeon HD 4200]
           bus-ID: 01:05.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.5 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@59.98hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RS880 (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.13.0-37-generic, LLVM 4.0.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.2 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Texas Instruments PCM2901 Audio Codec
           driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 002-004
           Card-3 Microsoft LifeCam VX-5000 driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 002-006
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-37-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d800 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 18:a9:05:c0:eb:40
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 3111.9GB (13.4% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST2000DM006 size: 2000.4GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST380013AS size: 80.0GB
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: FreeAgent_Go size: 1000.2GB
           ID-4: USB /dev/sdh model: DataTraveler_2.0 size: 31.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 20G used: 11G (56%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4
           ID-2: /home size: 1.9T used: 376G (22%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 1.36GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 42.6C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 236 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 1301.0/7717.7MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35


Does that help? Thanks!

Darrel
« Last Edit: March 28, 2018, 09:44:00 pm by AndyInMokum »

Offline darrel_jw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS 8 respin 2
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2018, 10:29:09 pm »
Hello again. Anything yet? :)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2018, 11:52:12 am »
I'm waiting till it's a bit quieter and I'll hook up a second monitor and see what I can figure out.

Are your monitors both the same resolution ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline darrel_jw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS 8 respin 2
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2018, 12:52:43 pm »
The primary monitor is 1600x900 connected via VGA. The secondary monitor is 1920x1080 connected via DVI. This setup works beautifully with other distros. I actually have a dual-boot setup with Linux Mint 18.3 on one partition and Peppermint on the other. When I first fire up Peppermint you can see the background on both displays, but then the secondary monitor immediately goes to a black background. I can still run apps on it (I am typing this in Opera running on that monitor now).

Darrel

Offline darrel_jw

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS 8 respin 2
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2018, 12:00:14 pm »
I found the issue!! In my setup I have been installing/restoring multiple distros and always keeping the same /home folder. In doing that something got corrupted so backgrounds (and a few other things) were not working properly., I blew away /home, did a complete reinstall, am now restoring data files, and Peppermint is playing properly! I am sorry for reporting a "non-issue". :-[

Darrel

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2018, 12:23:35 pm »
Hi darrel_jw,

Glad to hear it's resolved.  If you could go back and mark your original post in this thread [solved] it could help others.

Also, there is no such thing as a non-issue.  Something doesn't work - you come here and we help you sort it out or you figure it out yourself because you had to explain it fully here.  It's all a good learning curve for everyone who reads the post.

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Help with Backgrounds (Solved)
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2018, 03:57:57 pm »
Yep definitely worth posting .. now if anyone turns up with the same issue we know it's not Peppermint and likely a config file somewhere in their home folder, that info in itself helps narrow things considerably :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Help with Backgrounds
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2018, 12:06:25 am »
I found the issue!! In my setup I have been installing/restoring multiple distros and always keeping the same /home folder. In doing that something got corrupted so backgrounds (and a few other things) were not working properly., I blew away /home, did a complete reinstall, am now restoring data files, and Peppermint is playing properly! I am sorry for reporting a "non-issue". :-[

Darrel

I've a suggestion that'll resolve you config file conflicts.  Create a separate /DATA partition to store all your important stuff: Documents, Downloads, Music, Videos, Pictures etc, anything you value.  You then link the folders in the /DATA partition to your existing /home folder with symlinks.  You can now distro hop to your heart's content, without the problem of conflicts.  It also makes the upgrading to a new distro version really easy  ;).   

Our trusted user: Slim.Fatz has written a splendid tutorial on how to make this modification: How To: Use symlinks to a DATA partition.  This is one of the first thing I do with every Linux installation.  It really is so useful and time saving.  It's a really fun and easy to do project too.  You'll see immediate results.  If you are dual booting, I use the contents in this link from the gang over at, Linux Mint to supplement the one, Slim.Fatz has provided: HOWTO: Create & Use a Separate DATA Partition.  Once you've done this mod a couple of times, it almost become a reflex action - have fun  ;)!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.