Choose style:

Author Topic: copying progressbar problem  (Read 1138 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline darmehr

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
copying progressbar problem
« on: March 04, 2018, 07:04:50 am »
Hey! There is a problem in copying window progressbar's scheduling. In the begining it's fast and then I should wait a long time to finish.
peppermint version: 8

Offline arash

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 07:07:49 am »
i have the similar problem

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26037
  • Karma: 2837
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 07:27:56 am »
It's not really a "problem" as such .. it appears to progresses on "read" to memory, then pauses while the "write" and check operations takes place.

The length of the "read" progress before the "write" will depend on how much memory you have available.

The length of the write/check pause will depend on the target disk speed.



@arash

A bit of friendly advice...

Making your first posting a generic "me too" posting is unlikely to get you past first post approval .. the reason we have first post approval is to stop spambots, who often make their first post generic like that ;)

I've taken a risk this time and approved your post, which means more work for us as we now have to manually monitor your next post. In the future if/when you join other forums it will help both the forum staff and yourself if your first post was a little more obviously "human" ;)
« Last Edit: March 04, 2018, 07:34:41 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline darmehr

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2018, 12:49:51 am »
It's not really a "problem" as such .. it appears to progresses on "read" to memory, then pauses while the "write" and check operations takes place.

The length of the "read" progress before the "write" will depend on how much memory you have available.

The length of the write/check pause will depend on the target disk speed.



@arash

A bit of friendly advice...

Making your first posting a generic "me too" posting is unlikely to get you past first post approval .. the reason we have first post approval is to stop spambots, who often make their first post generic like that ;)

I've taken a risk this time and approved your post, which means more work for us as we now have to manually monitor your next post. In the future if/when you join other forums it will help both the forum staff and yourself if your first post was a little more obviously "human" ;)


Ok! But is there any way to fix it?
And thank you so much <3
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 12:51:27 am by darmehr »

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1797
  • Karma: 471
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2018, 01:37:02 am »
Hi darmehr,

Obvious way to speed things up would be to replace your drive with a faster one and install more RAM. But something tells me that is not what you want to hear ....

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline darmehr

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2018, 02:30:16 am »
Hi darmehr,

Obvious way to speed things up would be to replace your drive with a faster one and install more RAM. But something tells me that is not what you want to hear ....

Regards,

-- Slim
My available memory is 8GB
so i don't think memory make that problem

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26037
  • Karma: 2837
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2018, 05:02:56 pm »
Define "long time to finish ?

What are you copying, how big is it, is it one large file or many small ones, what are you copying it to, across what type of connection, and how long does it take ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline arash

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2018, 10:41:30 am »
for example i was coping a simple .iso file the file was 1.4 gb and i was coping this fil from a 8 gb usb to 1tb external hard disk
note :::::: this was an example but this thing happens on all kind of files an all kind of copying

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26037
  • Karma: 2837
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2018, 10:48:46 am »
So how long did it take ?

Was it a USB2.0/3.0 stick/port ?

I'm trying to figure out if there's an actual problem with the transfer speed, or if we're just talking about the way the progress bar works ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline arash

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2018, 11:31:25 am »
i dont have any problem white speed my problem is the way that progress bar works so lets talk about that ! i think this is a bug ................................

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26037
  • Karma: 2837
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2018, 03:06:02 pm »
It's not a bug .. it reflects reads, then writes (then if necessary due to size, the next read/write cycle).
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline arash

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2018, 11:01:58 pm »
ok so i will accept this as [SOLVED] but its a bug :D :D :) ;)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26037
  • Karma: 2837
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: copying progressbar problem
« Reply #12 on: March 08, 2018, 08:20:15 am »
If you consider it a bug then it would be a bug in the Nemo file manager, so should be reported to the Mint team:
https://github.com/linuxmint/nemo
But I suspect they're likely to ignore it unless it also applies to the current version(s) of Nemo .. which we don't use.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec