Choose style:

Author Topic: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)  (Read 331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline foxcol67

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8
Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« on: March 05, 2018, 05:58:09 am »
Hello,

I'm trying to configure my scanner on the Canon MG3250. The printer works fine, but simple scan will not recognise the scanner.

Any help would be gratefully received.


Regards
Nick.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 07:22:14 am by foxcol67 »
There is always Hope...

Dell Latitude E5500, 4GiB, Intel Core2  Duo(T7250)
Peppermint 9, 64 Bit, 160GiB

Offline foxcol67

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8
Re: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 07:25:32 am »
Apologies, I was a bit hasty with this post. I have managed to download and install the Scangearmp drivers and the scanner is now working. Phew!

The scangear icon is not available in the menu. I can access it by searching in the menu bar. It's no big deal, but does anyone know how to create an icon in the menu?


Cheers
Nick
There is always Hope...

Dell Latitude E5500, 4GiB, Intel Core2  Duo(T7250)
Peppermint 9, 64 Bit, 160GiB

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 21673
  • Karma: 2436
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 Respin & 9 Alpha
Re: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2018, 02:42:10 pm »
Do you mean you can find it by searching in the whiskermenu search box ?

If so, it must be in the menu somewhere.

If not, tell us exactly how you are managing to start it at the moment.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline foxcol67

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8
Re: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2018, 01:48:53 pm »
I can run the program by typing scangearmp into the whisker menu search box, but there is no icon visible


Regards
Nick

« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 01:51:31 pm by foxcol67 »
There is always Hope...

Dell Latitude E5500, 4GiB, Intel Core2  Duo(T7250)
Peppermint 9, 64 Bit, 160GiB

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 21673
  • Karma: 2436
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 Respin & 9 Alpha
Re: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2018, 02:43:21 pm »
Ah, okay run:
Code: [Select]
gksudo pluma /usr/share/applications/custom-scangearmp.desktop
when a blank file opens, make it read
Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Type=Application
Name=ScanGearMP
Comment=Scan pictures, documents, etc.
Exec=scangearmp
Icon=scanner
Categories=Application;Graphics;RasterGraphics;Scanning;GTK;
Terminal=false
SAVE the file and exit the text editor.

You should now have a launcher in the menu at:-

Menu > Graphics > ScanGearMP



To REMOVE
Code: [Select]
sudo rm -v /usr/share/applications/custom-scangearmp.desktop
« Last Edit: March 07, 2018, 02:45:27 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline foxcol67

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8
Re: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2018, 03:25:12 pm »
You're a one man marvel, Mr PCNetSpec! Superb. Thank you so much.
And to think I was going to try to post a screenshot... but that's another sad story! 
There is always Hope...

Dell Latitude E5500, 4GiB, Intel Core2  Duo(T7250)
Peppermint 9, 64 Bit, 160GiB

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 21673
  • Karma: 2436
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8 Respin & 9 Alpha
Re: Canon MG3250 Scanner not working(SOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2018, 04:29:05 pm »
Quote from: foxcol67
You're a one man marvel, Mr PCNetSpec!

Can you come around and explain that to the missus please ;D

PS. If you ever need to post a screenshot, there's a tutorial here:
https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,4284.0.html
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec