Choose style:

Author Topic: Installing Apache Open Office  (Read 1056 times)

Offline Landau

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 9
Installing Apache Open Office
« on: February 20, 2018, 09:39:11 am »
For a change, in stead of LibreOffice, I want to experiment with Apache Open Office but failed
how to do this. Is there a "how to" for Peppermint 8 ?
Thanks in advance.

And....yes, I am a Noob  :(

Offline murraymint

• Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Installing Apache Open Office
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2018, 09:48:36 am »
Grab the right version for your system here (should auto-detect which one in your browser):
https://www.openoffice.org/download/index.html

Then you can follow these instructions to install:
https://www.openoffice.org/download/common/instructions.html#linux-deb

Good luck  :)

Offline Landau

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2018, 11:44:03 am »
Thanks murraymint for those links.
I managed to get the .deb packages installed following the instructions on the second link you gave (Linux DEB-based installation)
but I got stuck when trying to get point 4 working.
Installing the "desktop integration" (first have to navigate into that folder) and using dpkg : sudo dpkg -i *.deb
where the * .deb file name in that folder.
Doing so (in terminal) gives errors ( lot of text is produced by the terminal which I fail to recall).
But when I navigate to /opt/OpenOffice4/program/ and double click on "soffice" OpenOffice starts to run.
So the install failes on getting some link to the Peppermint desktop.
Would appreciate to get some suggestions here to get things right.

Offline murraymint

• Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2018, 12:58:45 pm »