Author Topic: How to set external monitor as default? [Solved]  (Read 1563 times)

Offline danielson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 4
  • Still a new forum user
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
How to set external monitor as default? [Solved]
« on: December 08, 2017, 01:20:12 pm »
Can't find options to set external monitor as default.
Is this possible to do?
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 12:01:34 pm by danielson »

Offline danielson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 4
  • Still a new forum user
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2017, 05:38:26 pm »
For the record, i followed a tip here that seemed promising:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/65219/how-do-i-set-an-external-monitor-as-default-or-move-unity-bar-to-monitor-at-le

Hit xrandr to find out what VGA it was (external set as primary), then typed in the one it found.
xrandr --output VGA-0 --primary
It worked to open Cairo-dock on primary but it did not hold on reboot.

Tried  three times (with reboots)!


Back to the drawing board!

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Karma: 458
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2017, 07:55:49 pm »
Right-click on the panel and then Panel > Panel preferences.

Untick "Lock panel". Now you should be able to drag it to the other screen. Tick to lock the panel again.

Offline danielson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 4
  • Still a new forum user
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2017, 05:37:36 am »
Not sure we're talking about same thing here.

Cairo-dock has a "lock icon's position" on right-click of this panel but no way do i see "lock panel" nor way to move it.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Karma: 458
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #4 on: December 09, 2017, 08:37:03 am »
Yeah, Cairo isn't standard. I'm talking about the default Peppermint panel. Sorry if I confused you there.


Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Karma: 458
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #5 on: December 09, 2017, 08:57:50 am »
You could put your xrandr command in your login script:

Code: [Select]
pluma ~/.profile


Offline danielson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 4
  • Still a new forum user
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #6 on: December 09, 2017, 09:12:49 am »
You'll have to coach me on that one Murraymint!

Btw, still no idea how to make external monitor as default.
Browser clicked on panel there, still opens on laptops'.  :(

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Karma: 458
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #7 on: December 09, 2017, 09:29:27 am »
OK, assuming this command does what you want:

Code: [Select]
xrandr --output VGA-0 --primary
Just paste it into

Code: [Select]
pluma ~/.profileand Save. It should be run at login each time.
« Last Edit: December 09, 2017, 09:31:08 am by murraymint »

Offline danielson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 4
  • Still a new forum user
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #8 on: December 09, 2017, 10:49:59 am »
We're getting there!
Where exactly do i insert in here
xrandr --output VGA-0 --primary ?



# ~/.profile: executed by the command interpreter for login shells.
# This file is not read by bash(1), if ~/.bash_profile or ~/.bash_login
# exists.
# see /usr/share/doc/bash/examples/startup-files for examples.
# the files are located in the bash-doc package.

# the default umask is set in /etc/profile; for setting the umask
# for ssh logins, install and configure the libpam-umask package.
#umask 022

# if running bash
if [ -n "$BASH_VERSION" ]; then
    # include .bashrc if it exists
    if [ -f "$HOME/.bashrc" ]; then
   . "$HOME/.bashrc"
    fi
fi

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin directories
PATH="$HOME/bin:$HOME/.local/bin:$PATH"

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Karma: 458
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #9 on: December 09, 2017, 11:47:28 am »
Just at the end should be fine.

Offline danielson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 4
  • Still a new forum user
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: How to set external monitor as default?
« Reply #10 on: December 09, 2017, 12:00:19 pm »
You have just made a happy man Murray!
Thanks a bunch!   8)

I see you are helping quite a few here... glad to have you on board! :)

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2200
  • Karma: 458
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: How to set external monitor as default? [Solved]
« Reply #11 on: December 09, 2017, 12:31:14 pm »
Glad it worked and thanks for marking the topic Solved.  :)