Choose style:

Author Topic: <Abandoned> brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop  (Read 618 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline DAMIEN1307

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: 11
  • non illigitamus carborundum est
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8.5 (Respin) 64 bit
<Abandoned> brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop
« on: November 21, 2017, 09:00:50 pm »
ok hi guys once again...i understand server went down so im reposting this...is there a way for peppermint to retain my brightness setting for this laptop...i presently have been setting it with slider control found on right click on battery meter...havent been able to find a way to permently set this...every time i start the computer i always need to reset it to my preference...im quite light sensitive so hate the shock of a bright screen even though i use a dark background already...yea i know, i live in the desert with 360 days of sunlight per year and im light sensitive...you should see the blackout drapes on my windows...lol...my neighbors think im a vampire...thanks for any info on how to do this...DAMIEN

new edit...also notice that while in session that when battery has fully charged, it brings screen back to 100% brightness again and have to re-captiulate again...DAMIEN
« Last Edit: November 27, 2017, 03:49:27 pm by DAMIEN1307 »
ORDO AB CHAO

Offline DAMIEN1307

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: 11
  • non illigitamus carborundum est
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8.5 (Respin) 64 bit
Re: brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2017, 06:14:50 pm »
hey there pcnetspec...dont forget to look at my re-post...you had asked a question before the website went down about how i was setting brightness level to begin with and i have included this answer on the re-post after the website became available again and realised the original postings before a certain time had been lost...thanx...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

Offline DAMIEN1307

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 154
  • Karma: 11
  • non illigitamus carborundum est
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8.5 (Respin) 64 bit
Re: brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2017, 03:48:45 pm »
well im guessing that since no replies that there is no answer to this question so will mark this post as abandoned...DAMIEN
ORDO AB CHAO

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5454
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: <Abandoned> brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop
« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2017, 03:51:22 pm »
You stumped the chimps. Congrats!  :)

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3145
  • Karma: 567
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: <Abandoned> brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop
« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2017, 04:29:19 pm »
My apologies I missed this

check out this tutorial > https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,3668.msg36961.html#msg36961

you may be able to put the relevant line in a small script and have it run 10 secs after startup to set the screen brightness.  Look at help for xrandr and I am sure you can set the hue too - ie take out harsh blue light

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline pin

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1837
  • Karma: 258
    • View Profile
Re: <Abandoned> brightness on dell inspiron n5110 laptop
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2017, 01:15:45 am »
Sorry...
You could check this parallel thread, https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php?topic=6229.0
See, if it could be something similar

EDIT: Or maybe not... Just checked your model and it doesn't seem to have any NVIDIA chips... unless...
« Last Edit: November 28, 2017, 01:20:43 am by pin »