Author Topic: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]  (Read 5326 times)

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Karma: 613
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #30 on: August 09, 2018, 07:33:46 am »
Hi pin,

Probably a question that you have already checked -- but do you perhaps have a sakura.desktop file in

Code: [Select]
~/.local/share/applicationsas well?

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline pin

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1838
  • Karma: 280
    • View Profile
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #31 on: August 09, 2018, 08:30:54 am »
Yes, I did check and there was no such file.
But, you gave me an idea  ;)
Code: [Select]
cp /usr/share/applications/sakura.desktop ~/.local/share/applications
Edited the file in the new location, rebooted and voilá, sakura launching from the menu at the size I want it to  :D
Thanks!

Although, I still don't know why changes in /usr/share/applications did not survive rebooting. Something must be restoring the file to the original  :-\

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2312
  • Karma: 613
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #32 on: August 09, 2018, 10:05:54 am »
Hi pin,

I had something similar a while back and making changes or creating a "personal" .desktop file in

Code: [Select]
~/.local/share/applicationssolved it.

Cool that you have solved the issue -- but I too don't really understand this all that well. Usually when I create a "personal" .desktop file I remove the one in

Code: [Select]
/usr/share/applications(if one is present there) because that usually works best for me.

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #33 on: August 10, 2018, 03:45:44 pm »
You don't have to remove the one at
/usr/share/applications
as long as the one at
~/.local/share/applications
has the same name, it will take precedence for that user.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline pin

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1838
  • Karma: 280
    • View Profile
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #34 on: August 11, 2018, 01:43:51 am »
@PCNetSpec
Still, I don't know why I can't change /usr/share/applications/sakura.desktop ?
Why is this file reverting to the default upon rebooting?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #35 on: August 11, 2018, 11:08:48 am »
Because at boot it is replaced by the copy at
Code: [Select]
/usr/lib/peppermint/adjustments/sakura.desktopso you'd need to edit that copy too.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline pin

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1838
  • Karma: 280
    • View Profile
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #36 on: August 11, 2018, 12:38:20 pm »
Now we're talking  :D
Thanks!

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sakura size and placement [SOLVED]
« Reply #37 on: August 14, 2018, 08:01:15 am »
:)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec