Choose style:

Author Topic: Desktop is not showing anything.  (Read 5833 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #15 on: June 20, 2017, 08:49:30 am »
If you open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run:
Code: [Select]
nemo -n
do you now have a right-click context menu on the desktop ?

Is the desktop displaying the wallpaper ? .. and are you able to change the wallpaper ?

No not working and I am getting this output on running the command you said:
Code: [Select]
nemo -n

(nemo:10134): Gtk-WARNING **: Failed to register client: GDBus.Error:org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.ServiceUnknown: The name org.gnome.SessionManager was not provided by any .service files
Initializing nemo-dropbox 2015.10.28

Is it normal?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #16 on: June 20, 2017, 08:53:42 am »
Yeah ignore that gtk warning.

If you run:
Code: [Select]
gsettings set org.nemo.desktop show-desktop-icons true
then
Code: [Select]
nemo --quit
then restart nemo from the menu by opening a file manager (Files) instance.
Or by running:
Code: [Select]
nohup nemo -n &
and close the terminal with the X button top right

Do you now have a right-click context menu on the desktop ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #17 on: June 20, 2017, 08:55:28 am »
Yeah ignore that gtk warning.

If you run:
Code: [Select]
gsettings set org.nemo.desktop show-desktop-icons true
then
Code: [Select]
nemo --quit
then restart nemo from the menu by opening a file manager (Files) instance.
Or by running:
Code: [Select]
nohup nemo -n &
and close the terminal with the X button top right

Do you now have a right-click context menu on the desktop ?
Not working.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #18 on: June 20, 2017, 08:58:35 am »
Can you temporarily log off and log back onto the "Guest" account just to check if the desktop is working properly in that account ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #19 on: June 20, 2017, 10:03:17 am »
Can you temporarily log off and log back onto the "Guest" account just to check if the desktop is working properly in that account ?
No! Not working in "Guest" account also.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2017, 10:15:27 am »
Okay something is massively screwed up then

Maybe try reinstalling nemo
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install --reinstall nemo nemo-data gir1.2-nemo-3.0 libnemo-extension1 python-nemo
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #21 on: June 20, 2017, 03:34:06 pm »
Okay something is massively screwed up then

Maybe try reinstalling nemo
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install --reinstall nemo nemo-data gir1.2-nemo-3.0 libnemo-extension1 python-nemo

No sir! Not working.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2017, 06:02:10 pm »
You must have something else running then that's taking control of the desktop.

Can you run:
Code: [Select]
ps aux >> ~/ps-aux-output.txt
you'll then find a file called ps-aux-output.txt in your home folder.

Can you upload its contents to a pastebin
https://pastebin.com/
and post a link back here.

also has the desktop EVER worked or was it broken on install ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #23 on: June 21, 2017, 07:11:06 am »
Here is the link you asked for:
https://pastebin.com/vGZB4h7E

I don't know if it was working on installation as the first thing that I did was restore the home folder from previous machine so I don't know about that exactly.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #24 on: June 21, 2017, 11:27:21 am »
Well I'm not seeing nemo running AT ALL

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
nemo -n
DO NOT CLOSE THAT TERMINAL.

Now with that terminal still open, if you right-click on the desktop do you get a context menu ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #25 on: June 22, 2017, 06:51:09 am »
Well I'm not seeing nemo running AT ALL

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
nemo -n
DO NOT CLOSE THAT TERMINAL.

Now with that terminal still open, if you right-click on the desktop do you get a context menu ?
Still nothing. And when I am running "nemo -n" the command is doing nothing. Terminal just displays that "user@user" prompt instantly.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #26 on: June 22, 2017, 09:56:12 am »
Code: [Select]
nemo -n
won't return anything in the terminal
but after running it if you run:
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep [n]emo
you should see something like
mark      1941  0.1  1.3 1537408 98072 ?       Sl   11:45   0:15 nemo -n
If you do, then nemo is running .. and **should** be controlling the desktop.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline abhaymaniyar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #27 on: June 22, 2017, 03:05:07 pm »
Code: [Select]
nemo -n
won't return anything in the terminal
but after running it if you run:
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep [n]emo
you should see something like
mark      1941  0.1  1.3 1537408 98072 ?       Sl   11:45   0:15 nemo -n
If you do, then nemo is running .. and **should** be controlling the desktop.

Yes I am getting similar output but still no response on desktop.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1058
  • Karma: 56
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #28 on: June 23, 2017, 07:01:42 pm »
Hi abhaymanlyar, does right click work on anything, other o/s or whatever? Could this be a keyboard problem?
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26325
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Desktop is not showing anything.
« Reply #29 on: June 24, 2017, 09:31:30 am »
Does hitting:-

Shift+F10

whilst on the desktop give you a right-click context menu ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec