Author Topic: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7  (Read 14779 times)

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 163
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #30 on: July 02, 2014, 05:24:14 pm »
schmitz61984

The partitions I have are what was automatically set up by windows 7 pro.  I used the windows 7 setup disk and deleted the existing linux partitions.  Windows proceeded to do the rest automatically.   I then spent a great deal of time reloading everything from backups.  Incidently, the previous disk info you found was before I reloaded windows from scratch.  The last info is what i have now.  Thanks.

AndyInMokum

Thanks for your suggestion.  Can you give me more detail on how to create the partitions you are suggesting?  Should I use windows for that or gparted?  In either case you describe it in detail?  I'm not very adept at working with partitions so I'm a little nervous about it.  After creating the partitions will Peppermint then automatically recognize windows7 and install to the new partitions along side or do I have to that manually?  Thanks.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #31 on: July 03, 2014, 01:08:35 am »
schmitz61984

The partitions I have are what was automatically set up by windows 7 pro.  I used the windows 7 setup disk and deleted the existing linux partitions.  Windows proceeded to do the rest automatically.   I then spent a great deal of time reloading everything from backups.  Incidently, the previous disk info you found was before I reloaded windows from scratch.  The last info is what i have now.  Thanks.

AndyInMokum

Thanks for your suggestion.  Can you give me more detail on how to create the partitions you are suggesting?  Should I use windows for that or gparted?  In either case you describe it in detail?  I'm not very adept at working with partitions so I'm a little nervous about it.  After creating the partitions will Peppermint then automatically recognize windows7 and install to the new partitions along side or do I have to that manually?  Thanks.

Sorry, I've just seen your reply.  Sure, I'll put something together for you  ;).  While you are waiting; do a BACKUP.  All that nervousness you're experiencing will disappear. I've a few things to do first and then I'll get to it  ;)!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #32 on: July 03, 2014, 05:59:26 am »
Hi how’s it going?  This explanation is going to use GParted to shrink an existing Windows partition and install Peppermint Five.

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
[close]
« Last Edit: July 14, 2014, 12:11:04 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 163
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #33 on: July 03, 2014, 08:36:50 am »
AndyInMokum,
Thanks for the information.  I won't be able to get at this for a while as I'll be on the road the next two weeks for business.  I'll need to digest this first.  I just reloaded everything to a new install of windows 7 so I already have a back up of data/files.  Thanks again for your help.  Jeff


Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #34 on: July 03, 2014, 08:47:46 am »
AndyInMokum,
Thanks for the information.  I won't be able to get at this for a while as I'll be on the road the next two weeks for business.  I'll need to digest this first.  I just reloaded everything to a new install of windows 7 so I already have a back up of data/files.  Thanks again for your help.  Jeff

No problem, its my pleasure  ;)!
« Last Edit: July 03, 2014, 09:04:33 am by AndyInMokum »
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline schmitzr1984

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 2
  • Less is more
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 4 and 5
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #35 on: July 03, 2014, 09:56:54 am »
Seeing you have Windows on one partition, you have the ability to make a further three logical partitions or, two before you have to use extended partitions to make further  partitions.

Sorry for going off on a tangent and I'm not trying to nit pick here, but I did a little research on GPT vs MBR partition tables after reading this thread.  It turns out the 4 logical partition table limit doesn't apply to a GPT partition table.  According to this article GPT theoretically supports an unlimited number of partitions, see http://www.maketecheasier.com/differences-between-mbr-and-gpt/

Another couple of fun facts in the above article.  MBR limits each partition to 2TB, GPT supports up to 9.44ZB for a 512-byte block (1 ZB is 1 billion terabytes).  GPT stores a backup header and partition table at the end of the disk so it can be recovered if the primary tables are corrupted.

I'm not trying to hijack this thread at all, I just thought this was interesting and wanted to share... I'm actually considering switching to GPT on my own PC now, this seems worth it for the backup part alone.  ;D

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #36 on: July 03, 2014, 11:21:46 am »
Seeing you have Windows on one partition, you have the ability to make a further three logical partitions or, two before you have to use extended partitions to make further  partitions.

Sorry for going off on a tangent and I'm not trying to nit pick here, but I did a little research on GPT vs MBR partition tables after reading this thread.  It turns out the 4 logical partition table limit doesn't apply to a GPT partition table.  According to this article GPT theoretically supports an unlimited number of partitions, see http://www.maketecheasier.com/differences-between-mbr-and-gpt/

Another couple of fun facts in the above article.  MBR limits each partition to 2TB, GPT supports up to 9.44ZB for a 512-byte block (1 ZB is 1 billion terabytes).  GPT stores a backup header and partition table at the end of the disk so it can be recovered if the primary tables are corrupted.

I'm not trying to hijack this thread at all, I just thought this was interesting and wanted to share... I'm actually considering switching to GPT on my own PC now, this seems worth it for  the backup part alone.  ;D

I did not realize this.  This is really interesting.  I have to do some more research.  GPT look really versitile.  It would save all the gymnastics involved with extended partitions and the 2TB limit. Thanks for pointing this out   ;).  What I've given jlschwartz should work well for him though.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline jsb

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 3
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint 5
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #37 on: July 06, 2014, 02:58:33 pm »

Free at last! You should celebrate: your M$-Windoze-free life has begun!

Just curious: why do you absolutely need M$ Windows? I suppose there might be some reason(s), but I have been without M$-Windoze for over ten years and have had no regrets about not being victimized by it -- not to mention the money I have saved by not needing to buy user licenses for unsafe software. 8)

Regards,
 -- Slim

 :)  My dual boot phase, which was only about 9 months, recently ended in a similar manner to this.

It was Xubuntu, not Peppermint that freed me. When I decided to give the recent LTS of that a try, it told me something like "your system has peppermint 4 do you want to install alongside or replace peppermint 4". Silly me thought "hmm, I guess it does not even see windows on there" and I told it to replace peppermint.

When I realized that it had wiped out windows, I did not really care, even though before reading this, I had thought I had no way of ever restoring windows.

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 163
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #38 on: July 19, 2014, 11:37:48 am »
AndyInMokum,

I have some questions on your explanation above.  After resizing the windows partition and you begin formatting, the first right click when you select new is to format the whole space - right? I'm confused because you keep saying click on the gray unallocated space but I thought you allocated it with the first procedure you indicate to do.  Sorry for asking a dumb question but I'm new to this process.  Can you clarify this a little more?  Thanks.  Jeff

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 163
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #39 on: July 22, 2014, 08:09:07 am »
I booted to the Peppermint 5 live USB and ran gparted.  What I see is 3 partitions as follows:

/dev/sda1  Size is 100.00 MIB   Format Fat32  Flag is Boot
/dev/sda2 Size is 128.00 Mib Unknown Format   Flag is msftres
/dev/sda3  Size is 297.87 Gib Format NTFS  Flag is msftdata
unallocated  size is 1.34 Mib  everything else is blank.

In your write up above you said I should see one large partition but I see 3.  So I thought I better show you this.  Please let me know what I should do.  Thanks.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 312
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #40 on: July 22, 2014, 08:49:44 am »
Well for starters you don't have a partition big enough for linux, your bulk of your drive is your win 7 partition, and the other 2 partitions I am assuming are the win 7 recovery partitions and data partitions needed to restore win 7... you would have to use gparted and shrink your windows partition and create enough unallocated space so linux can see there is room to install side by side with win 7...  I am not sure what peppermint 5 minimum size is but i am pretty sure you would need at least 6 gigs of space for it but if you can give it more it would be better for you in the long run... 
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 163
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #41 on: July 22, 2014, 12:43:37 pm »
AndyInMokum or anyone who can help:

I set up the partitions for Peppermint 5 installation as described above.  However, I 'm confused as I have the root partition at 30 gig, the swap partition at 9 gig, and the home partition at 18 gig.  As I'm beginning the installation you indicate that the root partition will be the smaller of the two ext4 partitions.  I must have done something wrong as as I have the home partition smaller.  Please advise if I need to change this and if so how.  I don't want to do this installation wrong.  Thanks for your help.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1019
  • Karma: 312
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #42 on: July 22, 2014, 01:06:19 pm »
2 linux partitions are not needed... all you need is an ext4 partition and a swap partition, that is how I set up all my linux machines, and they all work fine...
if you are confused and don't want to mess things up, my suggestion would be to create one big unallocated space, then boot from live cd, and use the side by side option, and let the installer use that unallocated space...
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 393
  • Karma: 163
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #43 on: July 22, 2014, 01:11:31 pm »
I tried what you are suggesting, but the Peppermint install still does not detect Windows 7 and the option of a side by side installation is not available.  That is what started this in the first place and why I'm trying to install it this way.  I'm really at a loss for what to do now.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #44 on: July 22, 2014, 01:15:11 pm »
Any reason you're using a separate /home partition ?

How did you create these partitions .. before, or during the installation ?

Have you already installed in the configuration you mentioned ?

Do you mean the "installer" doesn't detect Windows, or do you mean an installed version of Peppermint doesn't add Windows to the bootloader ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec