Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7  (Read 13388 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« on: June 27, 2014, 05:29:43 pm »
I cannot install Peppermint 5 to dual boot with Windows 7 pro.  I had Peppermint 4 installed on my Lenovo X130e.  I used easybcd to remove the grub boot loader and reclaimed the linux partitions under windows.  Then I booted to Peppermint Live USB and tried to install Peppermint 5.  However, when it starts the install it says it does not detect another operating system on the computer and does not give me the option to install Peppermint 5 beside of Windows 7 as I it normally does.  Windows 7 Pro is in fact installed on the PC and boots up and runs fine.  How can I get the Peppermint 5 to recognize that Windows 7 is there and install the dual boot system as I want to?  Looking for a solution as soon as possible.  Thanks.  Jeff

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 05:32:51 pm »
I cannot install Peppermint 5 to dual boot with Windows 7 pro.  I had Peppermint 4 installed on my Lenovo X130e.  I used easybcd to remove the grub boot loader and reclaimed the linux partitions under windows.  Then I booted to Peppermint Live USB and tried to install Peppermint 5.  However, when it starts the install it says it does not detect another operating system on the computer and does not give me the option to install Peppermint 5 beside of Windows 7 as I it normally does.  Windows 7 Pro is in fact installed on the PC and boots up and runs fine.  How can I get the Peppermint 5 to recognize that Windows 7 is there and install the dual boot system as I want to?  Looking for a solution as soon as possible.  Thanks.  Jeff
How many partitions does your drive have? I think maximum is 4 partitions...   ;)
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline mac

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: 336
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7-8-9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 05:48:02 pm »
Open your terminal and run the following commands (one at a time) and post the output of each.....

Code: [Select]
df -h
then

Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
then

Code: [Select]
gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2014, 05:56:06 pm »
Mac,
I'll do as you ask, but in the meantime, I wanted to say that I'm trying to install the 64bit version of P5.  I did have the 64 bit version of P4 on this machine before.  However, if I try to install the 32 bit version it recognizes windows 7 and offers to install P5 beside it.  I hate to do that as I have 8 gig on this system and it won't be recognized under 32 bit.  I get the info you wanted but I thought that might tell you something.  Thanks.  Jeff.

Offline mac

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: 336
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7-8-9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2014, 05:58:02 pm »
Sorry, have to run....be back asap
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2014, 06:05:41 pm »
Mac,

Here is the info you requested:

peppermint@peppermint ~ $ df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/cow            3.8G   19M  3.7G   1% /
udev            3.7G  4.0K  3.7G   1% /dev
tmpfs           759M  1.2M  758M   1% /run
/dev/sdb1       3.8G  629M  3.2G  17% /cdrom
/dev/loop0      555M  555M     0 100% /rofs
none            4.0K     0  4.0K   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs           3.8G  4.0K  3.8G   1% /tmp
none            5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
none            3.8G   72K  3.8G   1% /run/shm
none            100M  8.0K  100M   1% /run/user
peppermint@peppermint ~ $ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x0fe76135

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *        2048     3074047     1536000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda2         3074048   592367706   294646829+   7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3       592371712   625139711    16384000    7  HPFS/NTFS/exFAT

Disk /dev/sdb: 4009 MB, 4009754624 bytes
23 heads, 22 sectors/track, 15477 cylinders, total 7831552 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1   *          32     7831551     3915760    b  W95 FAT32
peppermint@peppermint ~ $ gedit /boot/grub/grub.cfg

** (gedit:3445): WARNING **: Could not load Gedit repository: Typelib file for namespace 'GtkSource', version '3.0' not found
peppermint@peppermint ~ $

The then opens a Gedit file which I don't know how to attach here.  Thanks.  Jeff

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2014, 06:39:02 pm »
rjm65,
My PC currently has 3 partitions.  It had 5 until I deleted/recovered the two that were being used for Peppermint 4.  Thanks.  Jeff

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2014, 06:43:24 pm »
well what has worked for me in the past, was after removing linux I would boot from my windows 7 dvd and run repairs on the boot section so that grub is fully removed and windows 7 is booting properly using its own bootup configurations, then when I insert the linux cd and boot live windows 7 appears again and has the side by side options...

Another trick that worked for me was just done this evening I removed pep3 and installed pep5 alongside win7, how I did it was I booted from live cd and opened gparted and just formatted my linux drive using ext4...  this wiped out pep3 then i clicked install pep5 and all was swell it seen the empty partition that was formatted and placed itself right alongside win 7 where pep3 once was....
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 06:46:56 pm by rjm65 »
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline mac

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: 336
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7-8-9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2014, 07:22:51 pm »
Thanks for your patience, Jlschwartz....hated to do that but had to.  So......

Questions
Did you check the md5sum on the ISO?
Are you familiar with Gparted?
What is on sda3?

I think the problem is with the USB.  You might try another stick if you have one or can
borrow one.  Or, you might burn to a CD/DVD if you can.  Check the md5sum first, though.
If it does not match then re-download and reburn.   

EDIT: BTW, how did you remove P4?
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2014, 07:46:48 pm »
Mac,
I checked the mdsum on both sticks I made - one for 32 bit and one for 64 bit and both checked out ok.  I am familiar with Gparted and in fact I have been using it right now.  It shows two very small partitions of unallocated space 1.9 mb however other windows partition software like Easeus Partition Master don't show those two tiny partitions of unallocated space.  I've tried to recover that space with Gparted but I have not been able to so far.  Since the 32 bit version works, I'm skeptical that is the problem.  Let me know if you have any ideas.

SDA3 is a Lenovo recovery partition.  Thanks.  Jeff

Offline mac

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1088
  • Karma: 336
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7-8-9
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: June 27, 2014, 08:16:01 pm »
Odd that one would recognize your Win7 install and the other not recognize it if there's not a problem with the 64bit ISO or the USB you have it installed on. 
 
One thing you might try, kinda the long way around, go ahead and install the 32 bit version and then install the 64 bit version allowing the installer to replace the 32 bit version. 

As always, backup important data first.
« Last Edit: June 27, 2014, 08:17:37 pm by mac »
Peppermint: Standing Out from the Cloud
Reg. Linux User #432835

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2014, 09:51:54 am »
Mac,

At the risk of asking a dumb question how would that work.  Would I boot to a live usb with the 64 bit system and it would give me an option to replace the 32 bit system?  Please explain how that would work.  Thanks.  Jeff

I installed Peppermint 5 32 bit and everything went fine.  So now I just have to replace with the 64 bit version.  Thanks. Jeff
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 10:31:56 am by jlschwartz »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26063
  • Karma: 2840
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2014, 11:43:42 am »
Erm, technically you don't need to replace it.

Peppermint 5 32bit has a PAE enabled kernel so can access more than 4GB RAM .. it should utilise all 8GB ;)

easy way to tell .. what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
free -m

The other option would be to select "Something else" at the partitioning part of the installer and manually set up your partitions, which by the way MUST be logical partitions inside an extended partition,as you only have 1 primary partition left ;)
« Last Edit: June 28, 2014, 11:47:16 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 335
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: June 28, 2014, 12:15:41 pm »
I tried what Mac suggested and it completely overwrote my windows partitions including my recovery partition.  Now the only thing on my PC is peppermint 5.  That's a big problem for me.  I don't have a windows 7 disk so I'm going to have to buy one and reload everything.  I'm really in trouble now...

Offline kendall

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 535
  • Karma: 75
  • Peppermint Dev
    • View Profile
    • http://kendallweaver.com
Re: Peppermint 5 Does Not Detect Windows 7
« Reply #14 on: June 28, 2014, 12:43:31 pm »
I'm sorry to hear that it didn't work out. What should have happened is the 32 bit ISO should have recognized Win7, created a partition, and installed itself and then the 64 bit should have recognized the 32 bit partition, but only if you selected the manually construct the partition table with the installer.

Anyway, no need to purchase a Win7 disk as the ISO files are freely available to download:

http://techpp.com/2009/11/11/download-windows-7-iso-official-direct-download-links/

You don't even technically need a product key to use them, but if you don't put one in within 30 days of installing, it gets really annoying.
Co-Founder and CTO of Peppermint. Developer, Photographer, and spicy food lover.

Peppermint is powered by VPS.NET Cloud Servers.