Author Topic: Suspend only locks screen  (Read 2834 times)

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Suspend only locks screen
« on: May 05, 2017, 02:18:19 pm »
I recently installed Peppermint 7 on a 2006 MacBook.  The install worked great.  My only issues are with the suspend function.  When suspend function is selected, the lock screen is activated.  I have noticed that wifi stops, until I log back in. 

I'd like to at least be able to put the laptop into suspend while charging.  I'm have little to no experience with code, but can copy and paste.

Thanks in advance.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2017, 05:58:01 pm »
Does running
Code: [Select]
sudo pm-hibernateput the system into hibernation .. and if so, did it resume properly (ie. with open apps still open).

and what's the output from
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2017, 08:41:14 pm »
Nothing happens with sudo pm-hibernate.

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2017, 08:42:17 pm »
Code: [Select]
System:    Host: luna Kernel: 4.10.14-041014-generic i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   System: Apple (portable) product: MacBook1 1 v: 1.0
           Mobo: Apple model: Mac-F4208CC8 v: PVT
           Bios: Apple v: MB11.88Z.0061.B03.0610121324 date: 10/12/06
CPU:       Dual core Intel T2500 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 1667 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x800@59.91hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 12.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: ALSA v: k4.10.14-041014-generic
Network:   Card-1: Marvell 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: sky2
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath5k
           IF: wls1 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 275.1GB (3.2% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Crucial_CT275MX3 size: 275.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 250G used: 5.3G (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 3.13GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 64.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 163 Uptime: 1:23 Memory: 486.2/1981.9MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
« Last Edit: May 05, 2017, 09:37:32 pm by AndyInMokum »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2017, 09:55:22 am »
Can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep tpm?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2017, 08:48:02 am »
jim@luna ~ $ lsmod | grep tpm
tpm_infineon           20480  0

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2017, 10:23:14 am »
If you unload the tpm_infineon module:
Code: [Select]
sudo rmmod tpm_infineoncan you now suspend ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2017, 10:46:49 am »
It went to lock screen momentarily, then everything seemed to shut off.  I had to hard reboot with power button.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2017, 01:04:10 pm »
That's what it's supposed to do .. but when it restarted were any apps that were open when you suspended still open after the resume ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2017, 01:12:34 pm »
No.  The system reboots and a new session is started.  No applications are resumed.

Thanks

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2017, 01:33:21 pm »
How about if you hibernate with:
Code: [Select]
sudo pm-hibernate
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2017, 03:59:03 pm »
It did the same exact thing.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #12 on: May 08, 2017, 04:54:56 pm »
Okay, instead of unloading the tpm driver after it get loaded, let's see what happens if we stop it from being loaded in the first place.

Run:
Code: [Select]
sudo pluma /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.confwhen a file opens with some stuff already it in, add these 2 NEW LINES to the end of the file
Code: [Select]
## added by augustinparis
blacklist tpm_infineon
SAVE the file and exit pluma.

Back in the terminal run:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-initramfsNow REBOOT.

Once rebooted, check what suspend/hibernate do ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline augustinparis

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7.0
Re: Suspend only locks screen
« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2017, 06:27:18 pm »
That fixed suspend.  Hibernate reboots and at Peppermint start up screen hangs and then shuts down.