Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint 5  (Read 18553 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #30 on: March 25, 2014, 10:31:25 am »
Cool .. not the perfect solution but better than nothing.

I wonder if we could/should add a GRUB background image by default in Peppermint 6 ... just to be on the safe side.
I think that would be a great idea....  :)

I have installed peppermint 3 on at least 10 different machines and so far none of them ever worked, all of them are black until the desktop boots...
what are the chances that all ten of those machines, ranging from a pentium 3 650mhz all the way up to a 3.0ghz machine, are all ones with bad hardware... LOL
To test this theory the two working LXLE machines on the floor, are now installing peppermint 3 on a side by side, I want to see if P3 boot screens work on those two machines....  Seeing as they work for the LXLE boot screens....
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 10:35:14 am by rjm65 »
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26281
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #31 on: March 25, 2014, 10:41:42 am »
All I can tell you is the splash screens work perfectly on my desktop, 3 Aspire One's, and my missus laptop (and most other PC's I've put it on for other people)  .. but not on the EeePC.

Go figure  :o
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline kendall

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 535
  • Karma: 75
  • Peppermint Dev
    • View Profile
    • http://kendallweaver.com
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #32 on: March 25, 2014, 11:05:51 am »
I'm not going to put the Peppermint logo in GRUB for two reasons:

  • I don't want to impose Peppermint branding in an environment where I feel we should be respectful of other operating systems.
  • I don't want the Peppermint logo to persist into the boot process of other Linux distros exhibiting the same issue.

I'm not against the idea of branding GRUB in and of itself, just by default. If one of the mods wants to put a tutorial in the relevant section or if someone else wants to submit one, then by all means do so.
Co-Founder and CTO of Peppermint. Developer, Photographer, and spicy food lover.

Peppermint is powered by VPS.NET Cloud Servers.

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26281
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #33 on: March 25, 2014, 11:18:33 am »
Good point .. a GRUB background image would be displayed in the boot process of ALL OS's being booted from GRUB.

I'll write up a tutorial for those that need it :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1004
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #34 on: March 25, 2014, 11:26:25 am »
All I can tell you is the splash screens work perfectly on my desktop, 3 Aspire One's, and my missus laptop (and most other PC's I've put it on for other people)  .. but not on the EeePC.

Go figure  :o
Yup I own an asus eeepc also, and it don't work on that one either....
Wish I knew what the hardware issue was that causes it not to work, and maybe there is a workaround for that???

EDIT: I tried installing peppermint 3 today on both the towers that are running LXLE, the LXLE splash screens work and the Peppermint 3 splash screens did not work...  so is it a hardware issue??? if it is it is kinda funky that LXLE screens work.... both LXLE towers are AMD Athlons are running 12.04.4 builds....
« Last Edit: April 03, 2014, 04:08:57 pm by rjm65 »
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline bcarr1122

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 5
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #35 on: April 06, 2014, 04:03:07 pm »
All I can tell you is the splash screens work perfectly on my desktop, 3 Aspire One's, and my missus laptop (and most other PC's I've put it on for other people)  .. but not on the EeePC.

Go figure  :o
Yup I own an asus eeepc also, and it don't work on that one either....
Wish I knew what the hardware issue was that causes it not to work, and maybe there is a workaround for that???

EDIT: I tried installing peppermint 3 today on both the towers that are running LXLE, the LXLE splash screens work and the Peppermint 3 splash screens did not work...  so is it a hardware issue??? if it is it is kinda funky that LXLE screens work.... both LXLE towers are AMD Athlons are running 12.04.4 builds....
Hello -

I use Peppermint 3 on my Asus Eee PC 1000; I've never had any problems with the splash screen.

Regards,
Brian

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5443
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #36 on: April 07, 2014, 07:02:32 pm »
I use Peppermint 3 on my Asus Eee PC 1000; I've never had any problems with the splash screen.

I *thought* I had Peppermint 3 installed on my Asus Eee PC 1000, but looking back, I installed Peppermint 4 in December.

Anyway, for what it's worth, the Peppermint 4 Respin splash screen works fine on this Asus Eee PC 1000.

Heh!  I love this thing.  I just wish the buttons on the touchpad weren't so stiff...  ;)

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26281
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #37 on: April 07, 2014, 07:29:03 pm »
Tell me about it, you need a jack hammer for the EeePC 1005 HAG touchpad keys too :-\
« Last Edit: April 07, 2014, 07:34:23 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5443
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #38 on: April 07, 2014, 07:58:56 pm »
Tell me about it, you need a jack hammer for the EeePC 1005 HAG touchpad keys too :-\

Heh!  For the most part, they're useless.

BTW, here's a screenie of my Eee PC 1000 desktop (Peppermint 4 Respin)...
 


Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26281
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #39 on: April 07, 2014, 10:17:51 pm »
I do like this auto resize doodad :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5443
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #40 on: April 07, 2014, 10:56:53 pm »
I do like this auto resize doodad :)
Saves me a lot of time...   ;D

Offline ronj1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5/32 bit
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #41 on: April 10, 2014, 11:39:28 am »
Hey VinDSL,

Been lurching here getting tibbits on Peppermint 5, and your two layouts on your desktop caught my eye.  You mind enlightening this noob on how you got those 2 formats?

Thanks, and Regards,

Ron
rej

Offline VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5443
  • Karma: 957
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #42 on: April 10, 2014, 07:50:29 pm »
Been lurching here getting tibbits on Peppermint 5, and your two layouts on your desktop caught my eye.  You mind enlightening this noob on how you got those 2 formats?

Hi Ron,

That's just my version of an app called 'Conky' -- my Conky script, if you will.

If you feel like playing around with it, here's a nice HOWTO

*Warning*  If you'll pardon the tired cliche... Conky is highly addictive. ;)

Offline ronj1950

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 58
  • Karma: 4
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 5/32 bit
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #43 on: April 11, 2014, 06:36:26 am »
Oooo....thank you VinDSL .. took a peek at your guidance, does look like a nice project.  Will delve into it next week...and let you all know the outcome.

'What a **** cliche'."  Ashley Monroe, '2 weeks late'
« Last Edit: April 11, 2014, 07:40:43 am by mac »
rej

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Peppermint 5
« Reply #44 on: April 11, 2014, 09:46:06 am »
Oh God, another potential Conky addict.  DON'T DO IT!  You've been warned!  ;D!!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.