Choose style:

Author Topic: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]  (Read 5396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 311
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2017, 02:37:35 pm »
Hello PCNetSpec,

It got rid of the error message, but it did not bring it back to its defaults. 

This is what it looks like now:

Code: [Select]
[Desktop Entry]
Version=1.0
Name=Opera beta
GenericName=Web browser
Comment=Fast and secure web browser
TryExec=opera-beta
Exec=opera-beta --window-position=0,0 --window-size=1595,895 %U
Terminal=false
Icon=opera-beta
Type=Application
Categories=Network;WebBrowser;
MimeType=text/html;text/xml;application/xhtml_xml;x-scheme-handler/http;x-scheme-handler/https;x-scheme-handler/ftp;application/x-opera-download;
Actions=NewWindow;NewPrivateWindow;

Name[en_US]=Opera beta

[Desktop Action NewWindow]
Name=New Window
Exec=opera-beta --new-window
TargetEnvironment=Xfce

[Desktop Action NewPrivateWindow]
Name=New Private Window
Exec=opera-beta --private
TargetEnvironment=LXDE
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2017, 03:19:19 pm »
What do you mean it didn't bring it back to defaults .. have you still got bookmarks, customisations, etc. ?

At this moment I'm not bothered about what the .desktop file says .. only about getting rid of that profile error .. we'll move onto the resizing later.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 03:22:00 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 311
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2017, 06:15:40 pm »
I'm sorry, PCNetSpec.  I'm thought you were talking about Pluma and the Opera beta.desktop window.  I had really never done any customization with Opera to go back to --other than using your Red Space Planet Peppermint as its default background.  But, yes, that is now gone.  In fact it vanished yesterday at the same time we got the error message. (The error message now seems to be gone.)  And, also, I had gotten rid of that Google Search Bar found at the top of Opera's Speed Dial page, but that's back now.  This is a sure sign to me we're back to Opera's defaults. ;)
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 06:29:43 pm by perknh »
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2017, 07:07:10 pm »
Okey dokey then...

Can you explain the exact nature of the sizing issue you're having, because Opera-Beta is maximising/unmaximising/minimising perfectly for me without me needing to edit the .desktop launcher at all ???
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 311
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2017, 07:25:58 pm »
Sure, PCNetSpec.

If you take a look at the two links below, you'll see how Opera browser fits on my screen.  As you'll soon see, it's either too small or too large.  When I click onto the Opera icon I've placed onto my panel, Opera opens up too small.  When I enlarge it, it's then too large for my screen.  Here are two screenshots of how Opera opens and fits on my computer:

https://i.imgur.com/M6b9m3b.png

&

https://i.imgur.com/ClV3kuL.png


We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2017, 08:04:59 pm »
I'm not seeing that your second image is "too large" .. Opera by design looses the window titlebar when maximised ?
(in the same way Chromium does .. if you disable "use the system theme" .. it just can't be enabled/disabled in Opera like it can be in Chromium)

On the speed dial page it will also scroll off the bottom of the page if you have "Suggestions" enabled and too many suggestions. you can disable suggestions by clicking the little cog wheel top right, then removing the tick from "Show Speed Dial suggestions".

And then there's that stupid sidebar .. which you can also switch off (well everywhere except the speed dial page)

I'm not actually seeing anything wrong here perknh  :-\
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 08:20:24 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 311
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #21 on: April 09, 2017, 08:22:42 pm »
That's funny, PCNetSpec.  I always boot into a browser that fits my screen when I first click onto its icon.  As far as I know, this is the first browser I've ever had that is either by default too small, or does not have the _ [[]] and X in the top right corner of my screen below the LCD clock on my panel when I enlarge it.  For whatever reason, Opera Beta doesn't seem to be working well for me on this computer.

Perhaps I should mark this project as "Abandoned" for now --or just let it be for the time being. :-\

PCNetSpec thank you for all the time and effort you put into this.  Also thanks to VinDSL and Slim.Fatz too for trying to help me solve this puzzle from within another thread.

Thank you all very much. ;)

perknh
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 311
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser
« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2017, 08:15:51 am »
Well, I took another whack at it.  I removed and purged Opera Beta last night.  And this morning I downloaded and installed Opera Beta from Opera's own site.

For whatever reason I ended up with two applications for Opera Beta.  One did not size correctly, but the other one did.  I entered Applications as root and I removed the icon that wasn't sizing properly.  I modified Opera Beta's size just a smidgen, and it IS now persisting. ;)

I guess the takeaway from this is to download and install Opera Beta from Opera itself, and not to install it from the command line. :-\

I now have a working browser that is sizing itself correctly. :)

Thank you PCNetSpec, VinDSL, and Slim.Fatz. 

perknh
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2017, 08:53:19 am »
Great stuff .. glad it's now working properly for you perknh :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Karma: 482
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2017, 11:55:34 am »
Hi perknh,

You are welcome -- but don't thank me. My advice did not help you at all :D

I, however, need to thank you. I too am now using Opera (the developer version, like VinDSL) and probably would not have even tried it except for your postings here. So: Thank you, perknh!!  8)

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline perknh

  • Trusted User
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3892
  • Karma: 311
  • Soy un huevo, nada más.
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #25 on: April 11, 2017, 08:47:41 am »
Hi Slim.Fatz,

I learned a lot within the last two weeks here in Peppermint, and I have you, VinDSL, and PCNetSpec to thank for my most recent round of lessons.  If one or two of you guys happened to pick up the Opera bug in the process...well, I'm glad. :)

Are you enjoying Opera, Slim.Fatz?  And have you enabled Opera's Power User mode?  I've found that doing so is essential if you want to take full advantage of Opera.  I've also found that adding the Download Chrome Extension from Opera add-ons helps a lot too.  But learning about, and then using Opera's Power User mode, that's the game-changer when using Opera.  It makes all the difference in the world. ;)

Why Opera hides Advanced Settings (Power User mode) on us, I do not know. :-\

perknh
We're all Peppermint users and that's what matters  ;).  -- AndyInMokum

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1854
  • Karma: 482
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #26 on: April 11, 2017, 01:26:15 pm »
Hi perknh,

Yes, I'm enjoying Opera!! But I completely forgot about Power User mode and Download Chrome Extension  :-[ . I'll install them now! Thanks for reminding me!! 8)

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3198
  • Karma: 582
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #27 on: April 11, 2017, 02:07:47 pm »
Hi perknh,
Working well on Windows 10 too  :P

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k - 1 x 43" 4k
P10r x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #28 on: April 11, 2017, 02:17:23 pm »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3198
  • Karma: 582
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Sizing Problem with Opera Beta Browser [SOLVED]
« Reply #29 on: April 11, 2017, 02:36:01 pm »
HaHaHa - you need to edit the GIF and get W10 or MS tattooed on the Bull - lol
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k - 1 x 43" 4k
P10r x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080