Choose style:

Author Topic: Install Lexmark S405 on laptop running Peppermint  (Read 938 times)

Offline agummess

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 32-bit
Install Lexmark S405 on laptop running Peppermint
« on: February 26, 2017, 07:42:09 pm »
Hi, there,

I am a complete beginner to Peppermint OS, and to Linux in general. I have just spent an entire evening navigating Wine and PlayonLinux and .exe files and I am not an inch closer to solving my current problem, which is:

How on earth do you install a Lexmark Interpret S405 to a computer running 32-bit Peppermint OS?

A followup question would be, am I even using the right language to describe my problem?

I initially started this journey with the intention of getting my dinosaur Lexmark printer connected up to the house wifi network so that I could use my ipad to print documents. I learned in the process that you can only connect Lexmark printers to wireless if you have a computer with the printer already installed on it. Hence my current problem.

If I can't get this to work, I may have to buy a new printer, and I'd like to avoid that. Grad student, need to save money, yadayada. If anyone has an answer or some insight, I'd be very grateful!

Thanks,

A.G.

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Install Lexmark S405 on laptop running Peppermint
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2017, 08:15:38 pm »
You're going to want these files...

The Lexmark Setup Utility
http://downloads.lexmark.com/downloads/pssd/lexmark-printer-utility-1.0-2.i386.deb

and

The Scanner Driver
http://downloads.lexmark.com/downloads/pssd/lexmark-scan-legacy-1.1-1.i386.deb

and

The Printer Driver (PPD)
http://downloads.lexmark.com/downloads/pssd/lexmark-inkjet-legacy-1.0-1.i386.deb