Choose style:

Author Topic: A total noob distro hopping  (Read 1364 times)

Offline cost

• Supersonic
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7
A total noob distro hopping
« on: December 04, 2016, 11:03:32 am »
As a linux enthusiast noob, few days ago I decided to use a spare 4gb laptop to exploring other distros that I thought they had something better than P7. So, here's an overview of my brief journey outside the Peppermint world.

Before than Peppermint:
Lubuntu/Puppy:they look too ugly (imo) to enjoy them - I messed up the installation with Puppy; Lubuntu had big issues I never figure out to solve (example: no audio). I started to think Linux was a broken cheap os only usable from crazy kernel nerds.

Peppermint P7: love at the first sight, never a crash, Android Studio super fast, but Xfce gets bit boring after some time.

After P7:

Manjaro Netbook for my 1gb Acer AspireOne netbook: solid and fast as P7.

Ubuntu Mate 16.04 LTS: the most good looking distro for my standards. Everything looks beautiful, and the Mate environment keep it as a lightweight solution for 4gb laptop. Huge problem: the laptop is not able to boot on battery power, so if I forget the charger I can't even start working. The error is the same I have in Peppermint booting: radeon_acpi_init Error: Cannot find a backlight controller, though in P7 it's only a warning and theres no problem booting on battery power.
Since this problem was solved on Kernel 4.8, I switched to Ubuntu Mate 16.10 (kernel 8.0.x) - same story, no booting, goodbye Mate.

Fedora 25: the kernel 4.8.6 fixed my booting problem as expected, but my laptop had some problems with  slow wifi, and I didn't like how this distro looks, not mentioning some ugly fonts that I was lazy to change (annoyed by slow Internet).