Author Topic: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system? (SOLVED)  (Read 1054 times)

Offline miguelcosta

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
32 bit wine on a 64 bit system? (SOLVED)
« on: November 14, 2016, 06:01:11 pm »
Hi,

Is there a way to use a  new 32 bit wine prefix and wine-staging (newest version) on my system?
 

 I need to run a program for a PVP game I play online and its not running on the wine ( 64bit) I have installed but I read somewhere that it works with 32bit version

Thank You



S
Code: [Select]
ystem:    Host: david-300E4C-300E5C-300E7C Kernel: 4.4.0-47-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   System: SAMSUNG product: 300E4C/300E5C/300E7C v: 0.1
           Mobo: SAMSUNG model: NP300E5C-S08PT v: FAB1
           Bios: Phoenix v: P02RAP date: 08/21/2012
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-3110M (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2400 MHz 1: 1225 MHz 2: 1294 MHz 3: 1247 MHz
           4: 1220 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF117M [GeForce 610M/710M/810M/820M / GT 620M/625M/630M/720M]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) FAILED: nouveau
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.06hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0
Audio:     Card Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-47-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (27.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST500LM012_HN size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 455G used: 125G (29%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 3.98GB used: 0.69GB (17%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 61.0C mobo: 29.8C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 214 Uptime: 7:57 Memory: 2754.7/3654.9MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35

« Last Edit: November 16, 2016, 11:25:40 am by miguelcosta »

Offline scifidude79

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 870
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2016, 07:00:20 pm »
Delete the ~/.wine folder (in your /home folder, though I'm sure you already knew that.)  Then run this in the terminal:

Code: [Select]
WINEARCH=win32
You may need to sudo that, I don't remember.  It's been a long time since I've done it.  Personally, I would try it without sudo first.  Anyway, after you do that, run wine or winecfg, or something to create the new ~/.wine directory.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2016, 09:36:28 pm »
Hi miguelcosta, for future reference, could you please remember to encapsulate terminal outputs with the Insert, Code # function.  For extra long outputs, please use the Spoiler, Sp function.  Don't combine the functions.  Only use one or the other  ;).  These preserve the original format of the output.  This makes it easier for future visitors to relate to their own issues.  These functions are found in the forum editor, above the,  :-[ Embarrassed and  the :'( Cry emoticon respectively.  Use the Preview button to see how it'll look in the forum.  This time, I've done it for you - many thanks  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline miguelcosta

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #3 on: November 15, 2016, 04:47:25 am »
Hi SCIFIDUDE

Thank You but I can seem to solve it..I am probably doing something wrong  but can find what it is..

Miguel

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2016, 05:21:38 am »
How did you install WINE ?
(because AFAIK it's 32bit by default anyway)

And can you precisely describe the issue you're having ?

Is this a problem installing WINE ? .. or just a problem getting a certain app to work with it ?
(if the latter, the WINE forums are probably a better bet than here)
« Last Edit: November 15, 2016, 05:23:23 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline miguelcosta

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • Karma: 2
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2016, 06:22:26 am »
Hi PCNetSpec

The issue is with the app I am trying to run with Wine but not it seems to work ( at least 80% ok :) ) so the issue is solved, I will go to wine forums for more help to have it working 100%


Can you tell me the best forum for wine?


Thank You all

Offline scifidude79

  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 870
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2016, 06:25:05 am »
How did you install WINE ?
(because AFAIK it's 32bit by default anyway)

There is a Wine 64 package in the repository that will install on 64-bit systems, and the default WINEARCH is set to 64.  Otherwise, you wouldn't be able to run 64-bit software.  Though, it should run a 32-bit program.  But then, as you know, Wine is so complex that it's almost an entire OS all by itself.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: 32 bit wine on a 64 bit system?
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2016, 10:07:18 am »
Here's the WineHQ forum:
https://forum.winehq.org/
;)

What is the app (and its version) that you're trying to run via WINE ?

and have you looked it up in the WINE AppDB, which sometimes has specific instructions
https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&sTitle=Browse%20Applications&sOrderBy=appName&bAscending=true
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec