Choose style:

Author Topic: Is there a roadmap for implementing LXQt?  (Read 2320 times)

Pjotr

Is there a roadmap for implementing LXQt?
« on: October 07, 2016, 04:31:47 pm »
Peppermint is an interesting mix of LXDE and Xfce. Is there a roadmap for implementing LXQt in some future Peppermint version, and will that affect the use of Xfce components? Or is it too early too tell?

One reason for my asking is, that I'm an upstream Dutch translator for LXQt. There's still a lot of translation work to be done, and I would like to know if there's any hurry from the Peppermint perspective.

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Is there a roadmap for implementing LXQt?
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2016, 04:49:13 pm »
No hurry from our perspective as we've no plans on going down the LXQt route.

If you think about it, our component mix and LXQt probably wouldn't be a marriage made in heaven, requiring both gtk and qt dependencies.

As for what we'll do with the few remaining LXDE components when support stops, it's a little early to say at the moment ;)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Pjotr

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2016, 03:43:35 pm »
No hurry from our perspective as we've no plans on going down the LXQt route.

If you think about it, our component mix and LXQt probably wouldn't be a marriage made in heaven, requiring both gtk and qt dependencies.

As for what we'll do with the few remaining LXDE components when support stops, it's a little early to say at the moment ;)
LXDE has been completely abandoned by upstream.... Even the Pootle translation server for LXDE has been unusable for over a year.  :(