Choose style:

Author Topic: Changing whisker menu font size ? [SOLVED]  (Read 2258 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline armageddon51

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 11
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Changing whisker menu font size ? [SOLVED]
« on: October 16, 2016, 02:50:56 pm »
Is there an easy way to change the whisker menu font size ? It seems to follow the type of font selected but not its font size.  The desktop and nemo have a different size ratio.
I only found the icons sizing.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2016, 11:04:41 am by armageddon51 »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2016, 02:50:56 pm »
To help us help you, ALL new requests for technical support should include basic system information.

If you haven't already done so, please open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run the following command:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
then copy what was returned in the terminal and post it back here.

This was an automated response but please don't ignore it, providing this information now is highly likely to save time for both you and any prospective respondents and aid in the diagnosis of your problem  .. Thanks in advance :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2016, 06:58:39 am »
The whiskermenu (and panel)  follows the default system font set in:-

menu > Preferences > Customise Look and Feel > Widget (tab)

And next time can you please not ignore the autoresponse .. TIA.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2016, 07:00:20 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline armageddon51

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 11
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2016, 10:07:13 am »
Hi PcNetSpec, yes I know the font selection, type and size but I think I formulate my question the wrong way. Nemo and the desktop icons do not follow that setup exactly. It seems to take the font type but only indirectly the size. I would like to have the same font size applied to both whisker and Nemo (menus). Right now, if I set the desktop text size to my liking, the whisker menu text is too small.  Is there a way to have them identical ?


As for my hardware signature, I already provide it two posts down but fair enough, here it is again.

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: Pep7-IL9-Pro Kernel: 4.4.0-43-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   Mobo: www.abit.com.tw model: IL9 Pro v: 1.X
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 080012 date: 09/17/2007
CPU:       Dual core Intel Pentium D (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           clock speeds: max: 3391 MHz 1: 3391 MHz 2: 3391 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA G73 [GeForce 7300 GT]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1368x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce 7300 GT/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 2.1.2 NVIDIA 304.131
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-43-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL-8110SC/8169SC Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169
           IF: enp2s5 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 360.1GB (22.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST3160815A size: 160.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: ST3200820AS size: 200.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 29G used: 7.3G (27%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 183 Uptime: 4 min Memory: 428.8/1999.8MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
« Last Edit: October 17, 2016, 10:13:57 am by PCNetSpec »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2016, 10:19:34 am »
Okay, to change the nemo font (including desktop)

Go to:
menu > System  Tools > dconf Editor

In the left hand pane of dconf-editor, navigate to
org > nemo > desktop

In the right hand pane of dconf editor, select "font" (under the "value" column).. now enter say:
Ubuntu 15
and hit enter to set it.

Doesn't have to be 15 (or indeed Ubuntu) .. set whatever font/size you want.



Clearing "font" will set it back to default .. as will highlighting "font" and clicking the "Default" button.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2016, 10:23:14 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline armageddon51

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
  • Karma: 11
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 6
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2016, 10:57:53 am »
Ok didn't know that one. I did some more testing on a VirtualBox Pep 7 installation on another machine and yes the font type and size is applied everywhere in sync. So I switch from my Nvidia 304 driver and return to the nouveau driver. That cured it. Everything has the same font and size. So it seems to be related to that Nvidia driver. The whisker menu font is a couple of points smaller then the desktop. Go figure ? So I am keeping the nouveau driver then.

Thanks  :D

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26313
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2016, 11:01:49 am »
No problem armageddon51  .. if you're happy with the solution, can you please remember to mark the topic (SOLVED) .. TIA :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3145
  • Karma: 567
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ?
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2016, 11:05:35 am »
Hi

also a remark regarding the request for specification information on "New Threads"

We cannot possibly remember when and where each forum member last posted their system configuraton.   It's quick and easy to provide and could mean you getting an answer quicker, rather than waiting around for someone to ask for it again .

Thanks and Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1814
  • Karma: 474
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Changing whisker menu font size ? [SOLVED]
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2016, 11:29:11 am »
Hi armgeddon51,

Just to add to the posting by zebedeeboss:

We also do not know if you have more than one computer, and if so then which one is having which problem.  ;)

But it is great that you found a solution.  :) NVidia drivers are always a bit mysterious as they are not open source.

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome