Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]  (Read 2662 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]
« on: October 12, 2016, 08:26:31 am »
SOLVEDPeppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working

I have PM 7 installed on two (2) Laptops as follows.

In their original configuration they were both Win machines.
I install PM 7 on both.

I NEED the FUJI PC to properly process the HDMI Audio.  I am using
Ear buds and it is inferior to the surround sound that works under Win.

I hope you can provide the solution.  I do not wish to go backwards to Win 7.
I would have to pay Fuji for the media which costs approx.. $ 75.00
PM 7 is superior in all respects except this issue.

TOSHIBA 2015-08-12 before the PM 7 64-bit installation
TOSHIBA Satellite C55-B PSCMLU-02801 MB with UEFI, Windows 8.1
2.15 gigahertz Intel Celeron N2830
500 GB HD
2 GB RAM
Multimedia - Intel(R) Display Audio, Profound Sound Audio Device, Realtek High Definition Audio

Fujitsu Lifebook-U772 2016-06-10 purchased used.  Win 10 Installed Built 2012
Configuration BU1A31000BaALD
U772.i53427U, FP, 4GB,320GB,14 CV HD
HD WEBCAM, WLAN, BT, 4CELL, WIN7PRO(64-BIT)

Chipset notes
supports iAMT 8.0
Intel® vPro™ requires Core i5-34xx/17 processor, Intel W-LAN 6205 &TPM module
TPM=TrustedPlatformModel

Fujitsu Port Replicator [Docking Station]

I have used both on my 5.1 surround sound 37” Westinghouse LCD TV system
to view videos etc. The audio is processed from the HDMI stereo to 5.1 with
spectacular results.

Both laptops has HDMI out and running under Windows, they both properly
Provide video and audio to my system.

I use the Toshiba for my 2nd PC which sits beside my primary Win 7 running
on my older self-built tower.  I do have PM 6 running mostly correct inside
VirtualBox.  I cannot get PM 7 running correctly.  It is a VB issue in the latest
version specific to the Guest Additions being messed up.  NOT THE ISSUE
at present.

THE ISSUE AT HAND.

PM 7 does NOT IDENTIFY THE HDMI AUDIO PROPERLY.


I plan to keep the Fuji as the home entertainment PC. 

I have run the cable to the TV on the Fuji and then the Toshiba.

I have searched and spoken with FUJI Customer Support and they do NOT
support Linux installs.

I have searched Intel since I know the chipset on the Fuji, posted on the Intel
forum and searched the Internet.  I have found nothing.

Below are the results of the command lshw –C display for both portables..

Toshiba
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@OO00:00:02.6
version: Oe
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi vga_controller bus_master cap_lfst rom
configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
resources: irq:92 memory:d0OO00O0-d03fffff memory:cO000O00-cfffffff ioport:f080(
size=8)

Fuji
*-display
description: VGA compatible controller
product: 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
vendor: Intel Corporation
physical id: 2
bus info: pci@0000:00:02-0
version: 09
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
configuration: driver=1915 latency=0
resources: irq:28 memory:f00O00Q0-f03fffff memory:e00O000G-efffffff iopor
t:3000(size=64)

« Last Edit: October 12, 2016, 12:01:32 pm by Davidfe »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25683
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2016, 08:26:31 am »
To help us help you, ALL new requests for technical support should include basic system information.

If you haven't already done so, please open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run the following command:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
then copy what was returned in the terminal and post it back here.

This was an automated response but please don't ignore it, providing this information now is highly likely to save time for both you and any prospective respondents and aid in the diagnosis of your problem  .. Thanks in advance :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2016, 08:46:24 am »
Click on the volume control icon in the system tray, then on Audio mixer. In the Configuration tab on the right, make sure "built-in audio" is set to "Off" or "...input". Make sure the HDMI drop-down is set to "... output". Check you now have sound through the TV.

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2016, 11:11:55 am »
Click on the volume control icon in the system tray, then on Audio mixer. In the Configuration tab on the right, make sure "built-in audio" is set to "Off" or "...input". Make sure the HDMI drop-down is set to "... output". Check you now have sound through the TV.

I have not figured out how to do a screen capture...so here is what I see.

Speaker/Volume Icon  Audio output volume
    Mute audio output
    Audio mixer

RESULTS
Muting the audio output sends NO audio to on board  speakers or headphone if plugged in.

Audio mixer opens new window for Volume Control

Output Devices tab shows PORT
There is a drop down window with choice of speaker or headphones.

NO MENTION OF HDMI anywhere I can find.

Thanks for the reply,
David

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2016, 11:49:59 am »
Yes, click on Audio Mixer to open that new window, then see the tabs at the top from left to right, Playback and so on? Click on the rightmost tab, Configuration and follow my previous advice.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25683
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2016, 11:52:20 am »
Awaiting the output from the autoresponse ;)

Can you also post the output from:
Code: [Select]
aplay -l

to tell the truth I'm not sure HMDI will help you as the headphone jack isn't connected to the HDMI audio output .. HDMI audio is (AFAIK) only ever sent to the HDMI socket.

BTW, you don't have to pay to reinstall Win7 .. I can point you at an original Win7 ISO and it should pick up your key from the BIOS, but even if it doesn't as long as you have the license sticker (with key) you can easily activate it by phone.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2016, 11:52:59 am »
To help us help you, ALL new requests for technical support should include basic system information.

If you haven't already done so, please open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run the following command:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
then copy what was returned in the terminal and post it back here.

This was an automated response but please don't ignore it, providing this information now is highly likely to save time for both you and any prospective respondents and aid in the diagnosis of your problem  .. Thanks in advance :)

Here it is ONLY for the FUJI.  I suspect that once I get the HDMI audio working in the FUJI, the
Toshiba will be the same.  So to reduce confusion the details follow.

I might have made a proof reading error when my software translated from JPG to txt.

FUJI

System:   Host: VTG-Surface Kernel: 4.4.0-42-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
               Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:  System: FUJITSU product: LIFEBOOK U772
               Mobo: FUJITSU model: FJNB247 v: K3
               Bios: FUJITSU // Phoenix   v: Version 1.08 date: 12/14/2012
CPU:        Dual core Intel Core i5-3427U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
               flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9179
               clock speeds: max: 2800 MHz 1: B02 MHz 2: 2038 MHz 3: B17 MHz 4: B06 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
                Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: Intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
                Resolution: 1280x720@60.00hz, 128Bx720@59.86hz
                GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile
                GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:       Card Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
                driver: snd_hda_Intel bus-ID: 00:1b.Q
                Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-42-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
                driver: elOOOe v: 3.2.6-k port: 3080 bus-ID: 00:1b.0
                IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: 2c:d4:44:b2:4f:5c
                Card-2: Intel Centrino Advanced -N 6205 [Taylor Peak]
                driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
                IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: 84:3a:4b:59:e8:f8
Drives:      HDD Total Size: 792.4GB (52.4% used)
                ID-1: /dev/sdb model: HDC_WD3200LPVT size: 320.1GB
                ID-2: /dev/sdc model: SanDisk_SSD_ilO0 size: 32.0GB
                ID-3: /dev/sdf model: Name n/a size: 61.9GB
                ID-4: USB /dev/sda model: ASMT1053E size: 250.1GB
                ID-5: USB /dev/sde model:  Echo size: 128.3GB
Partition:   ID-1: / size: 290G used: 5.5G (2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0
                ID-2: /boot size: 472M used: 116M (26%) fs: ext2 dev: /dev/sdbl
                ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.13GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-1
RAID:       No RAID devices; /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel nodule present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 65.0C mobo: N/A
                Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:         Processes: 221 Uptime: 23:06 Memory: 676.4/3796.0MB
                Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
                Client: Shell (bash 4.3,461) inxi: 2.2.35



Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2016, 12:00:13 pm »
Yes, click on Audio Mixer to open that new window, then see the tabs at the top from left to right, Playback and so on? Click on the rightmost tab, Configuration and follow my previous advice.

Murray,

SPOT ON!

Overlooked the > and never thought to expand the window.

>> would be more indicative....Firefox has that on their menu.

Thanks so much.

David


Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2016, 12:03:18 pm »
Good stuff. Yes, on some resolutions it's not obvious that there are more tabs to the right! Glad it's working :)

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2016, 12:19:20 pm »
Awaiting the output from the autoresponse ;)

Can you also post the output from:
Code: [Select]
aplay -l

to tell the truth I'm not sure HMDI will help you as the headphone jack isn't connected to the HDMI audio output .. HDMI audio is (AFAIK) only ever sent to the HDMI socket.

BTW, you don't have to pay to reinstall Win7 .. I can point you at an original Win7 ISO and it should pick up your key from the BIOS, but even if it doesn't as long as you have the license sticker (with key) you can easily activate it by phone.



I bought the system used with nothing but the laptop and the docking station.  Luckily, all
worked perfectly from the HW view point.

Hated Win 10.  I have been beta testing it ever since it came out.  It only gets worse from ,my
point of view.  Run it and much me in VB.

Been MS beta tester almost 40 years now.  No programming - just office / desktop apps.
Skipped Win 8 since it has such poor pre-release views.

Fuji charges for the three (3) disks, shipping and tax.  Hence the est. $ 75.00

Thinking about dual linux booting the Fuji.  Maybe when the winter snows hit.

Thanks for all the great support.

David

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2016, 02:54:35 pm »
Yes, click on Audio Mixer to open that new window, then see the tabs at the top from left to right, Playback and so on? Click on the rightmost tab, Configuration and follow my previous advice.

An issue I found is that there is NO save and it goes back to the default.

Any ideas or suggestions?

David

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 25683
  • Karma: 2819
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2016, 03:00:20 pm »
do you mean it goes back to defaults after a reboot ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]
« Reply #12 on: October 13, 2016, 07:58:48 am »
do you mean it goes back to defaults after a reboot ?

I presume so.  However, when screen saver kicks in, the default returns.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1964
  • Karma: 341
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]
« Reply #13 on: October 13, 2016, 10:01:02 am »
Don't necessarily presume that; it shouldn't revert on a reboot. What you have selected should be the new default configuration.

What are you using as a screen saver, since Peppermint doesn't have one as standard?


Offline Davidfe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): OS6 in VB, OS7 in VB, O9OS9 Lap
Re: Peppermint OS7 New Installs HDMI Audio Not Working [SOLVED]
« Reply #14 on: October 13, 2016, 10:35:40 am »
Don't necessarily presume that; it shouldn't revert on a reboot. What you have selected should be the new default configuration.

What are you using as a screen saver, since Peppermint doesn't have one as standard?

Murray,

As appears to be customary, I mis-spoke.  It is the XCFE power saver that I have set for 15 minutes.

That causes the audio to go to the speakers as is it is the default.

David