Author Topic: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS  (Read 2731 times)

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« on: October 11, 2016, 11:33:47 am »
I installed Peppermint OS 7  alongside Windows 7, and I can't get Windows to load. Peppermint OS 7 loads perfectly fine. If I wanted to switch to Windows 7, how do I do that? I've read a little bit online, and some people say it's a problem with the boot loader in GRUB? I'm very very new to Linux, and don't have a clue what that means. If anyone could help me get Windows to load again, I will greatly appreciate it! Thank you so much! If you need anymore information from me, just ask. I will answer to the best of my knowledge. Thanks again!  :)


Code: [Select]
System:    Host: tony-Inspiron-560 Kernel: 4.4.0-42-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   System: Dell product: Inspiron 560 v: 00
           Mobo: Dell model: 018D1Y v: A00 Bios: Dell v: A04 date: 07/02/2010
CPU:       Single core Intel Celeron 450 (-UP-) cache: 512 KB
           speed: 2194 MHz (max)
Graphics:  Card: Intel 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1360x768@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G45/G43 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 11.2.0
Audio:     Card Intel 82801JI (ICH10 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-42-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: enp2s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (3.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST3320418AS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 30G used: 3.9G (14%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.55GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 82.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 150 Uptime: 25 min Memory: 622.7/7948.9MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $
« Last Edit: October 11, 2016, 11:49:20 am by AndyInMokum »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2016, 11:33:47 am »
To help us help you, ALL new requests for technical support should include basic system information.

If you haven't already done so, please open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run the following command:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fzthen copy what was returned in the terminal and post it back here.

This was an automated response but please don't ignore it, providing this information now is highly likely to save time for both you and any prospective respondents and aid in the diagnosis of your problem  .. Thanks in advance :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline GNULINUX

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 986
  • Karma: 311
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Six (x64)
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2016, 12:23:26 pm »
Hi zigvab75 and welcome to the Peppermint forum!  :)

On your Peppermint 7, open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grubRestart your system after that. Do you now see your Windows 7 in GRUB ?
Peppermint 6  (x64)   -   Windows 7 Ultimate SP1  (x64)
Running different OS flavors in VirtualBox, just for fun!

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2016, 01:23:34 pm »
Hello GNULINUX,
I did as you said, and it's asking for a password. The only problem is it won't let me type the password in after I type sudo update-grub.

Offline GNULINUX

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 986
  • Karma: 311
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint Six (x64)
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2016, 01:35:59 pm »
By default Linux terminal doesn't echo the password to the screen (not even ******) when you type it...
So just type your password and hit enter!  ;)
Peppermint 6  (x64)   -   Windows 7 Ultimate SP1  (x64)
Running different OS flavors in VirtualBox, just for fun!

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2016, 03:17:08 pm »
Hello agian GNULINUX,

I did as you suggested, and Windows still won't load. I'm able to select it from the menu after restarting the machine but nothing happens when I do select it from the list. If there is anything other type of info that you need from me feel free to ask. I'm just not sure what all you'd need. When I select Windows from the options list the screen stays black, and nothing happens.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2016, 03:54:28 pm »
Can you post the output from:
Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -land
Code: [Select]
sudo blkidand
Code: [Select]
[ -d /sys/firmware/efi ] && echo "Installed in UEFI mode" || echo "Installed in Legacy mode"and the contents of
Code: [Select]
pluma /boot/grub/grub.cfgplease make sure to encapsulate the output from these commands in CODE tags when posting them to the forum .. to preserve formatting.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2016, 03:58:03 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4889
  • Karma: 1058
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2016, 04:15:36 pm »
Hi zigvab75, welcome to the Peppermint Forum  8).  You might find this little forum tip very useful.  Linux is case sensitive.  It's very IMPORTANT that commands are entered correctly into the terminal window.  To reduce the possibility of typographical errors, please click on the Code: [Select] function that's located above the command to highlight the contents.  Now right click on your mouse and select: Copy.  Place your mouse cursor in the terminal window and again right click on your mouse and select: Paste.  Hit enter and follow any on screen instructions.  That's all there is to it  ;).

Use this perfectly safe and useful command as an example to practice:
Code: [Select]
sudo apt updateYou may run this command as many time as you wish.  I hope you find this helpful ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #8 on: October 12, 2016, 01:05:12 am »
I did all of these in the order that you put them here on the forum.
Code: [Select]
Disk /dev/ram15: 64 MiB, 67108864 bytes, 131072 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 4096 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 4096 bytes / 4096 bytes


Disk /dev/sda: 298.1 GiB, 320072933376 bytes, 625142448 sectors
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: dos
Disk identifier: 0x259d4594

Device     Boot     Start       End   Sectors   Size Id Type
/dev/sda1              63     80324     80262  39.2M de Dell Utility
/dev/sda2  *        81920  25309183  25227264    12G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda3        25309184 545660468 520351285 248.1G  7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
/dev/sda4       545660926 625141759  79480834  37.9G  5 Extended
/dev/sda5       545660928 608436223  62775296    30G 83 Linux
/dev/sda6       608438272 625141759  16703488     8G 82 Linux swap / Solaris


tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $



Code: [Select]
tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $ sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: SEC_TYPE="msdos" LABEL="DellUtility" UUID="3030-3030" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="259d4594-01"
/dev/sda2: LABEL="RECOVERY" UUID="2EAE535EAE531DA1" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="259d4594-02"
/dev/sda3: LABEL="OS" UUID="424455E04455D6EF" TYPE="ntfs" PARTUUID="259d4594-03"
/dev/sda5: UUID="7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="259d4594-05"
/dev/sda6: UUID="80e9b984-9f38-43dc-80fe-e3cbbefafac2" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="259d4594-06"
tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $



Code: [Select]
tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $

That's all the next one gives me.

Code: [Select]
#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  set have_grubenv=true
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}
function recordfail {
  set recordfail=1
  if [ -n "${have_grubenv}" ]; then if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then save_env recordfail; fi; fi
}
function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ] ; then
  set timeout=30
else
  if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
    set timeout_style=menu
    set timeout=10
  # Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
  # unavailable.
  else
    set timeout=10
  fi
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
insmod png
if background_image /boot/grub/grub-background.png; then
  true
else
  set menu_color_normal=light-gray/black
  set menu_color_highlight=white/red
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
function gfxmode {
set gfxpayload="${1}"
if [ "${1}" = "keep" ]; then
set vt_handoff=vt.handoff=7
else
set vt_handoff=
fi
}
if [ "${recordfail}" != 1 ]; then
  if [ -e ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt ]; then
    if hwmatch ${prefix}/gfxblacklist.txt 3; then
      if [ ${match} = 0 ]; then
        set linux_gfx_mode=keep
      else
        set linux_gfx_mode=text
      fi
    else
      set linux_gfx_mode=text
    fi
  else
    set linux_gfx_mode=keep
  fi
else
  set linux_gfx_mode=text
fi
export linux_gfx_mode
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-42-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro  quiet splash $vt_handoff
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-42-generic
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Peppermint GNU/Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.4.0-42-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.4.0-42-generic-advanced-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 4.4.0-42-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-42-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro  quiet splash $vt_handoff
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-42-generic
}
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.4.0-42-generic (upstart)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.4.0-42-generic-init-upstart-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 4.4.0-42-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-42-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro  quiet splash $vt_handoff init=/sbin/upstart
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-42-generic
}
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.4.0-42-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.4.0-42-generic-recovery-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 4.4.0-42-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-42-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro recovery nomodeset
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-42-generic
}
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.4.0-24-generic' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.4.0-24-generic-advanced-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 4.4.0-24-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-24-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro  quiet splash $vt_handoff
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-24-generic
}
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.4.0-24-generic (upstart)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.4.0-24-generic-init-upstart-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
gfxmode $linux_gfx_mode
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 4.4.0-24-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-24-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro  quiet splash $vt_handoff init=/sbin/upstart
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-24-generic
}
menuentry 'Peppermint GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.4.0-24-generic (recovery mode)' --class ubuntu --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.4.0-24-generic-recovery-7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab' {
recordfail
load_video
insmod gzio
if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
echo 'Loading Linux 4.4.0-24-generic ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz-4.4.0-24-generic root=UUID=7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab ro recovery nomodeset
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd /boot/initrd.img-4.4.0-24-generic
}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###
menuentry 'Memory test (memtest86+)' {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
knetbsd /boot/memtest86+.elf
}
menuentry 'Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)' {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos5'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos5 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos5 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos5  7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 7ac7fe8c-e812-4cb1-a3b9-17aa6f4c4eab
fi
linux16 /boot/memtest86+.bin console=ttyS0,115200n8
}
### END /etc/grub.d/20_memtest86+ ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry 'Windows 7 (loader) (on /dev/sda2)' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-2EAE535EAE531DA1' {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ntfs
set root='hd0,msdos2'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos2 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos2 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos2  2EAE535EAE531DA1
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2EAE535EAE531DA1
fi
parttool ${root} hidden-
chainloader +1
}
set timeout_style=menu
if [ "${timeout}" = 0 ]; then
  set timeout=10
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

I hope all of that is helpful. Thank you so much for your help.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2016, 01:58:05 am by zigvab75 »

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Karma: 623
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2016, 01:31:05 am »
I did all of these in the order that you put them here on the forum.

Code: [Select]
tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $ sudo fdisk -1
[sudo] password for tony:
fdisk: invalid option -- '1'


Hi zigvab75,

You made a mistake in the first command. That option is not the number 1 (one) but the letter l (el). So it should be:

Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
with the letter 'el' at the end rather than the number '1'  -- this is why you should copy and paste the commands (e.g. one way to copy the command is: highlight the entire command with your mouse, then press the keys Ctrl and C) rather than read them and try to type them into the terminal window.  ;)

Try giving us the output of that command again, please.

Regards,

-- Slim
« Last Edit: October 12, 2016, 01:33:34 am by Slim.Fatz »
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2016, 01:59:56 am »
I did all of these in the order that you put them here on the forum.

Code: [Select]
tony@tony-Inspiron-560 ~ $ sudo fdisk -1
[sudo] password for tony:
fdisk: invalid option -- '1'

I appreciate that. I fixed it. I am doing this at 5 am and I'm still half asleep. Haha. Thank you for pointing that out.
Hi zigvab75,

You made a mistake in the first command. That option is not the number 1 (one) but the letter l (el). So it should be:

Code: [Select]
sudo fdisk -l
with the letter 'el' at the end rather than the number '1'  -- this is why you should copy and paste the commands (e.g. one way to copy the command is: highlight the entire command with your mouse, then press the keys Ctrl and C) rather than read them and try to type them into the terminal window.  ;)

Try giving us the output of that command again, please.

Regards,

-- Slim

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Karma: 623
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2016, 03:21:56 am »
Hi zigvab75,

Thanks for making the correction! I know that at 5 am I too tend to make lots of errors -- so far none have been fatal  :D

I think that that I see your error, but since I really know almost nothing about M$ Windoze I will defer to others with more knowledge about the way M$ Win7 should be started.  ;)

Don't worry, help will soon arrive and you will be able to torture yourself further with M$ Win7  :P

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2016, 08:20:09 am »
I just noticed something when I was going through some of the things here on Peppermint. I'm still learning how to use it but I found this and was wondering if this could be the problem?



See where it says "not mounted" when I click on my main partition for windows? Only the Peppermint OS says mounted.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Karma: 623
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2016, 08:25:54 am »
Hi zigfab75,

No that is not the problem. The problem, as I see it, is in the long GRUB file that you posted. But as I stated, I will defer to someone more experienced with the M$ Win7 boot entry there (I think that the device given is incorrect).

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline zigvab75

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Windows won't load after installing Peppermint OS
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2016, 08:30:53 am »
Hi zigfab75,

No that is not the problem. The problem, as I see it, is in the long GRUB file that you posted. But as I stated, I will defer to someone more experienced with the M$ Win7 boot entry there (I think that the device given is incorrect).

Regards,

-- Slim

Ok, thank you, Slim! I'm trying to figure it out but it's kinda difficult since I'm new to this OS. When I install a new OS on a VM they usually work just fine. This was the first time I installed an OS to the HDD itself.