Author Topic: Thinkpad Fn keys not working  (Read 1918 times)

Offline mracz

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Thinkpad Fn keys not working
« on: September 13, 2016, 12:02:25 am »
My Fn keys on my old Thinkpad W500 do not seem to work in P7 - better to say

Fn+F2 (lock) does nothing
Fn+F3 (battery) does nothing
Fn+F4 (sleep) does nothing
Fn+F5 (radio) works fine - toggling wireless card on/off
Fn+F7 (video) does nothing
Fn+F8 (touchpad) does nothing
Fn+F9 (eject) does nothing
Fn+F12 (hibernate) does nothing
Fn+ScrLk (numlock) works fine
Fn+Home/End (brightness) work fine
Fn-PgUp (lights) works fine

 :-\

plus

mute (separate button) is not toggling (mutes but does not recover from muted state, must click on sund button on panel)

 :'(

Funny but as far as I remember all the keys worked fine in P5 (or P6?).

Is there a workaround for this somewhere?

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Thinkpad Fn keys not working
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2016, 07:06:19 am »
I think this may be 2 separate problems

what's the output from:
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep thinkpad_acpi


Also see if this helps at all with any of the functions keys
https://forum.peppermintos.com/index.php/topic,4160.msg41471.html#msg41471
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 07:11:17 am by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline mracz

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Thinkpad Fn keys not working
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2016, 11:04:37 am »
Code: [Select]
raczm@raczm-ThinkPad-W500:~$ lsmod | grep thinkpad_acpi
thinkpad_acpi          90112  0
nvram                  16384  1 thinkpad_acpi
snd                    81920  18 snd_hwdep,snd_timer,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_pcm,snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_intel,thinkpad_acpi,snd_seq_device
video                  40960  2 i915,thinkpad_acpi
raczm@raczm-ThinkPad-W500:~$

Offline mracz

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Thinkpad Fn keys not working
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2016, 08:56:20 am »
Installng tpb and making usual workaround for sleep and hibernation made some of the Fn keys work. Now

Fn F2 (lock) does not work
Fn F3 (battery) does not work
Fn F4 (sleep) works fine
Fn F5 (radio) works fine
Fn F7 (video) does not work
Fn F8 (mouse) does not work
Fn F9 (hibernate) works fine

plus

mute (amixer -q sset Master toggle) is not toggling (switch of works, switch on does not)

Is it possible to set Fn keys in Peppermint Control Center with a keyboad shortcut (e.g. XF86*)?

(Sorry for bothering if this is not a Peppermint related question...)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26437
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Thinkpad Fn keys not working
« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2016, 10:18:59 am »
Does unloading thinkpad_acpi
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe -r thinkpad_acpithen reloading it with the force_load option make any difference
Code: [Select]
sudo modprobe -r thinkpad_acpi force_load=1
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline mracz

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Thinkpad Fn keys not working
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2016, 09:40:36 am »
 :'(

Code: [Select]
raczm@raczm-ThinkPad-W500:~$ sudo modprobe -r thinkpad_acpi
raczm@raczm-ThinkPad-W500:~$ sudo modprobe -r thinkpad_acpi force_load=1
modprobe: FATAL: Module force_load=1 not found.
raczm@raczm-ThinkPad-W500:~$ sudo modprobe -f thinkpad_acpi
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'thinkpad_acpi': Exec format error
raczm@raczm-ThinkPad-W500:~$