Choose style:

Author Topic: Successfully installed, can't boot [Solved]  (Read 3913 times)

Offline knight-lights

• nOOb
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Four
Successfully installed, can't boot [Solved]
« on: June 10, 2014, 05:54:50 am »
I'm new to Peppermint and Linux in general and just tried to install Peppermint 4 on my Asus-s500ca laptop. The installation completed without any errors and told me to restart. When I do, I end up looping back to the installation menu (with the preview and other options).

I can escape from that, but end up in the GRUB2 command line. I don't know what files I should be loading or how to load them, what I should set my root as, or how to find the path to the kernel.

Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!
« Last Edit: June 10, 2014, 03:45:16 pm by knight-lights »

Offline AndyInMokum

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Successfully installed, can't boot
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2014, 07:11:40 am »
Hi knight-lights, a big welcome to the forums.  Firstly, some more general system info would help.  Could you please boot into you live CD/DVD/USB.  Once it is loaded, open a  terminal window: Ctrl+Alt+t.  Enter the code:
Code: [Select]
inxi -F