Choose style:

Author Topic: brightness not working on Pep 6 (Mods Please Close)  (Read 1024 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline linxuguy86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
brightness not working on Pep 6 (Mods Please Close)
« on: September 10, 2016, 11:29:03 pm »
hey everbody the brightness on my laptop with  Amd a8 6410 not working after i did update. it was working fine before update
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 09:58:19 pm by linxuguy86 »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2016, 05:10:42 pm »
Does it work if you boot a previous kernel ?

Oh, and can you please post the output from:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
this info should really accompany ANY new support question on the forum .. TIA :)
« Last Edit: September 11, 2016, 05:12:51 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline linxuguy86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 01:12:11 am »
I did switch between kernals and it still didnt work. Actually I try to use the Amd Propriety Drivers, and after i switch drivers the brightntess stop working. So i switch back to the default open source drivers that Pep 6 comes with and it didnt work the the open source drivers either.

Code: [Select]
System:    Host: peppermint Kernel: 3.16.0-46-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Six
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP 15 Notebook PC version: 0973100002405F00001620180
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 22CD version: 93.0E Bios: Insyde version: F.12 date: 04/12/2014
CPU:       Quad core AMD A8-6410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz 3: 1000.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon APU A4-6000 with R2 Graphics]
           X.Org: 1.16.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD MULLINS GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
Audio:     Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 9840 driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.16.0-46-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 757.9GB (-) 1: id: /dev/sda model: ST750LM022_HN size: 750.2GB
           2: USB id: /dev/sdb model: USB_DISK_3.0 size: 7.7GB
Partition: ID: / size: 1.7G used: 81M (5%) fs: overlayfs ID: swap-1 size: 7.86GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 53.5C mobo: 20.0C gpu: 52.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 174 Uptime: 2 min Memory: 478.5/3338.3MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17



« Last Edit: September 12, 2016, 02:22:47 am by AndyInMokum, Reason: Encapsulating outputs with [code] »

Offline linxuguy86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2016, 01:13:45 am »
it also didnt work the  4.4.36 kernal i download

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2016, 02:24:54 am »
Hi linxuguy86, for future reference, could you please remember to encapsulate terminal outputs with the Insert, Code # function.  For extra long outputs, please use the Spoiler, Sp function.  Don't combine the functions.  Only use one or the other  ;).  These preserve the original format of the output.  This makes it easier for future visitors to relate to their own issues.  These functions are found in the forum editor, above the,  :-[ Embarrassed and  the :'( Cry emoticon respectively.  Use the Preview button to see how it'll look in the forum.  This time, I've done it for you - many thanks  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline linxuguy86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2016, 02:46:08 am »
thanks and sorry didnt know about the insert code,

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2016, 02:58:43 am »
thanks and sorry didnt know about the insert code,
No worries, you're not expected to know by magic  ;D.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2016, 04:18:24 pm »
Can you post the output from
Code: [Select]
inxi -G
and
Code: [Select]
ls /etc/X11
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline linxuguy86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2016, 12:27:41 am »
Code: [Select]
[codeohn@john-HP-15-Notebook-PC ~ $ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon R4/R5 Graphics]
           X.Org: 1.16.0 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD MULLINS GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 10.3.2
]


Code: [Select]
john@john-HP-15-Notebook-PC ~ $ ls /etc/X11
app-defaults             rgb.txt  xkb       Xresources  Xsession.options
default-display-manager  X        Xreset    Xsession    xsm
fonts                    xinit    Xreset.d  Xsession.d  Xwrapper.config
« Last Edit: September 13, 2016, 04:21:55 pm by linxuguy86 »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26082
  • Karma: 2842
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2016, 07:13:24 pm »
If you're using fglrx doesn't the catalyst control center have a brightness control ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline linxuguy86

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
  • Karma: 5
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: brightness not working on Pep 6
« Reply #10 on: September 13, 2016, 07:37:25 pm »
iam using the opensource driver at the moment, i should mention i updated the kernal to 4.4.0.36, not sure if that doest anything