Author Topic: computer freezes  (Read 842 times)

Offline juaninhoo17

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): peppermint os 7
computer freezes
« on: August 22, 2016, 12:33:42 pm »
hello so im new to the linux system but a friend recommended me peppermint because he said that i was gonna be really hapy with and so far i am, i only have 1 issue.
i have a hp 15 laptop but every single time that i close the lid and open it again my system freezes, so it seems like i never closed it, also whenever im trying to turn off my system i do it normally but it stays in the peppermint and never turns off...

any help?

Offline AndyInMokum

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
Re: computer freezes
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 01:21:50 pm »
Hi juaninhoo17, welcome to the Peppermint Forum   8).  Have you run a post-installation update and upgrade?  If you haven't done this, we highly recommend you do so.  This often resolves issues without the need for further intervention.

Since the time when your installation ISO was originally created, the kernel and the installed software packages will have gone through several upgrades.  Peppermint, like other Linux distributions is a very dynamic and rapidly evolving operating system.  Consequently, it needs to be kept as current as possible for optimal performance.  Please open a terminal window with the following keystrokes: Ctrl+Alt+t.  Enter the following commands into the terminal window.