Author Topic: DVDs Refuse to play on Toshiba Satellite (C) (SOLVED)  (Read 1653 times)

Offline andrew01777

• Newly Subscribed
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
DVDs Refuse to play on Toshiba Satellite (C) (SOLVED)
« on: August 09, 2016, 01:13:14 pm »
Hi guys, I am new to Peppermint but managed to install from USB fine, exactly as per the DL instructions on this site.  I have had no issues whatsoever until now.  I had to put a DVD in for the kids to watch and nothing. i downloaded the up to date version about 3 weeks ago but have never needed to use the DVD drive untill now. i cant find any links to help on this site or the Toshiba Linux help site, so im guessing this is the first time or.......im an idiot and this is so common nobody ever asks.  Please Help!!!!!!

I have tested other DVDs Nothing and I have tested the DVDs in another device and they work. they are all region coded 2 as i am in the UK.

Thanks

Andrew
« Last Edit: August 12, 2016, 12:03:51 pm by andrew01777 »

Offline PCNetSpec

• Administrator
  • Hero
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: DVDs Refuse to play on Toshiba Satellite (C)
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2016, 02:03:45 pm »
Stick the DVD in the drive, then open the file manager (Files) and click on the DVD in the left hand column to mount the DVD

Now see if you can play the disk in VLC
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline AndyInMokum

• Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 10 (64-bit)
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2016, 02:05:46 pm »