Choose style:

Author Topic: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor  (Read 1788 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« on: July 21, 2016, 09:16:54 am »
Hi all

Does anyone know is it possible to alter the default of VGA then DVi1, DVi2, HDMi1, HDMi2 then DP when a PC boots up and displays the boot up info on a monitor.

My primary monitor is DP-0 and when I connect a secondary monitor on DVi-1 - the PC will show the boot screen and Plymouth splash on the DVi monitor - I want it on DP ?

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 09:19:36 am »
What do you mean by "bootup info" .. do you mean the BIOS power on self test info ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2016, 09:25:25 am »
Hi

I mean the usual blurb when a pc first starts up and the screen comes on and then shows plymouth and then grub...  I want it on DP monitor not the DVi monitor

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2016, 01:41:25 pm »
My point is .. if the Monitor shows the BIOS POST screen on the "wrong" monitor .. it's a hardware level thing that the OS can do nothing about until xorg gets loaded.

Unless of course there's some BIOS setting for choosing the default monitor .. this I doubt if both sockets are on an addin card.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 01:44:10 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2016, 01:44:40 pm »
thats what I was asking - does anyone know of any setting I am not seeing in the bios (UEFI) of the motherboard.

I don't think there is - but wanted to check with people with more technical know how than I pocess   :)
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2016, 01:51:08 pm »
Are both monitor sockets on the same card ?

or are they on 2 separate cards (even if one is built into the mobo ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2016, 02:01:53 pm »
They are both on the same card.

In theory I could have 5 monitors on this card  1 x DVi ; 1 x HDMI and 3 x DP

I am sure I read somewhere it defaults oldest technology to newest

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2016, 02:06:13 pm »
Even a BIOS setting couldn't help then .. it's specific to the card.

Unless of course there's a way to change it on the card via a jumper or such .. maybe you should ask the card manufacturer.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3233
  • Karma: 625
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2016, 02:09:15 pm »
cheers will jump across and start checking out the nvidia forums...

come and get me if I am not back in 5 days please   :D
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: UEFI / Bios settings and default monitor
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2016, 05:02:23 pm »
:))
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec