Choose style:

Author Topic: Task manager(solved)  (Read 1448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pikolo

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 25
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Task manager(solved)
« on: July 21, 2016, 06:51:27 pm »
Trying to get the network part of the task manager working, I ran:
Code: [Select]
pshem@PiLenovo ~ $ sudo apt-get install xfce4-netload-plugin
[sudo] password for pshem:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  xfce4-netload-plugin
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 2 not upgraded.
Need to get 49,0 kB of archives.
After this operation, 699 kB of additional disk space will be used.
Get:1 http://pl.archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu xenial/universe amd64 xfce4-netload-plugin amd64 1.2.4-1 [49,0 kB]
Fetched 49,0 kB in 23s (2089 B/s)                                             
Selecting previously unselected package xfce4-netload-plugin.
(Reading database ... 230159 files and directories currently installed.)
Preparing to unpack .../xfce4-netload-plugin_1.2.4-1_amd64.deb ...
Unpacking xfce4-netload-plugin (1.2.4-1) ...
Processing triggers for hicolor-icon-theme (0.15-0ubuntu1) ...
Setting up xfce4-netload-plugin (1.2.4-1) ...
Unfortunately, I can't add it to the interface. Did I do it wrong? I thought apt-get handles dependencies on it's own

In case it doesn't work, I am looking for alternatives, ie. task managers capable of measuring the network speed, and preferably displaying it in the form of a graph covering changes within the last minute, the Linux equivalent of the Task Manager from Windows. I stumbled upon Conky looking for somethig like this, but it looks awful. Surely there are better options.
Thank you for your time in advance
« Last Edit: July 24, 2016, 01:48:50 pm by Pikolo »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26273
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Task manager
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 07:02:45 pm »
What's the output from
Code: [Select]
ifconfig
and are you wanting to see the ethernet or wireless monitor on the panel ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Pikolo

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 25
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: Task manager
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2016, 07:28:13 pm »
Code: [Select]
~ $ ifconfig
enp3s0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 50:af:73:5f:4c:15 
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:8029 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:8029 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
          RX bytes:945584 (945.5 KB)  TX bytes:945584 (945.5 KB)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol 
          inet addr:100.82.206.244  P-t-P:0.0.0.0  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1436 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1568 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
          RX bytes:451765 (451.7 KB)  TX bytes:220063 (220.0 KB)

Most of the time, wireless, but from what I've read on the panel I have to set up meters for every connection

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26273
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Task manager
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2016, 07:38:53 pm »
You don't "have to" .. it's up to you.

You simply add a "Network Monitor" panel applet .. then right-click it, select "Properties", then add either
enp3s0   <-- ethernet
or
ppp0   <--probably a PPTP tunnel ?
as the "Network device:"

then add another if you want to.
« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 07:41:56 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Pikolo

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 25
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: Task manager
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2016, 08:07:07 pm »
Thank you. Unfortunately this doesn't do the trick for me as there is no broadband option  :(

Seems like I'll have to go through this: https://kamaths.org/monitor-net-speed-in-xfce/
Compiling from source code on the 4th day in linux, I wonder where this leads me  8)

I thought it might be avalible, since the article and the arch page(https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/xfce4-netspeed-plugin-default-route/) are from 2012 and 2013, but apt-get returned nothing  :(

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: Task manager
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2016, 08:48:06 pm »
Thank you. Unfortunately this doesn't do the trick for me as there is no broadband option  :(

Seems like I'll have to go through this: https://kamaths.org/monitor-net-speed-in-xfce/
Compiling from source code on the 4th day in linux, I wonder where this leads me  8)

I thought it might be avalible, since the article and the arch page(https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/xfce4-netspeed-plugin-default-route/) are from 2012 and 2013, but apt-get returned nothing  :(
I don't see anything wrong with this.  However, wait for PCNetSpec to confirm it.  Linux day 4 and ready to compile - not bad, not bad at all  ;)!!
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26273
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: Task manager
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2016, 10:25:10 am »
There's some missing dependencies it those instructions.

Open a terminal and run these commands in sequence
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install build-essential intltool xfce4-dev-tools libxfce4ui-1-dev libxfce4util-dev libgtk2.0-dev libxfcegui4-dev libxfce4util-dev xfce4-panel-dev libgtop2-dev
then
Code: [Select]
mkdir ~/Desktop/xfce4-panel-network-speed-monitor-plugin
then
Code: [Select]
cd ~/Desktop/xfce4-panel-network-speed-monitor-plugin
then
Code: [Select]
wget https://storage.googleapis.com/google-code-archive-downloads/v2/code.google.com/xfce4-netspeed-plugin/xfce4-netspeed-plugin-0.3.1.tar.gz
then
Code: [Select]
tar xvf xfce4-netspeed-plugin-0.3.1.tar.gz
then
Code: [Select]
./configure --prefix=/usr
then
Code: [Select]
make
then
Code: [Select]
sudo make install
If all that went smoothly, add the new "Network Speed Monitor" panel applet the same way you would any other.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Pikolo

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 138
  • Karma: 25
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 8
Re: Task manager
« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2016, 01:47:24 pm »
After all this fiddling I found gnome-system-monitor which fulfills my needs. :) So, sorry for wasting your time, and thank you for your help

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3133
  • Karma: 567
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Task manager(solved)
« Reply #8 on: July 24, 2016, 02:38:53 pm »
Hi Pikolo

Thanks for marking the topic solved and thanks for letting us know what you used.

No question asked is ever a waste of time.  It keeps our brains active.

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080