Choose style:

Author Topic: No Sound in Used Mobo(second go on second board)(SOLVED)  (Read 2911 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
No Sound in Used Mobo(second go on second board)(SOLVED)
« on: July 19, 2016, 01:09:51 pm »
Hello Peppermint people, well I changed out the motherboard on this unit with a used one, and now I have no sound. This is what I have now:

Code: [Select]
albert@albert-desktop ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: albert-desktop Kernel: 3.16.0-76-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Six
Machine:   Mobo: Intel model: DG31PR version: AAD97573-301
           Bios: Intel version: PRG3110H.86A.0052.2008.0612.1910 date: 06/12/2008
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo CPU E7200 (-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3)
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1596.00 MHz 2: 2527.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller
           X.Org: 1.16.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G33 x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 10.3.2
Audio:     Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.16.0-76-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: r8169
           IF: eth1 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:1c:c0:79:34:18
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (29.0% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD2500AAKX size: 250.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 222G used: 68G (33%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 8.00GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 175 Uptime: 27 min Memory: 611.6/4035.7MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17
albert@albert-desktop ~ $

Is there something we can do or is this just a bad board?
« Last Edit: July 30, 2016, 07:17:55 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2016, 01:15:20 pm »
I thought you might ask for this:

Code: [Select]
albert@albert-desktop ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC888 Analog [ALC888 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC888 Digital [ALC888 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2016, 01:22:16 pm »
Does audio work from a LiveUSB ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2016, 03:48:06 pm »
Does audio work from a LiveUSB ?
Hi PCNetSpec, no it doesn't. I'm attaching some screenshots of what's showing up in pulseAudio







If I understand this correctly, The rear mic and board input aren't connected. Does that mean the integrated sound card is bad?
« Last Edit: July 19, 2016, 03:51:18 pm by alynur »
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2016, 03:54:18 pm »
On this screen (Output Devices)


what options are available in the "Port:" drop menu
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2016, 04:38:36 pm »
On this screen (Output Devices)


what options are available in the "Port:" drop menu
Analog Output and Headphones. Nothing else.
What was I thinking?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2016, 04:52:10 pm »
Here's another thing I'm noticing, My video camera is choppy and only works for about a minute and then freezes. I've changed the guvcview camera output modes and nothing seems to affect it.
What was I thinking?

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2016
  • Karma: 348
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2016, 05:20:44 pm »
What happens if you try the headphone output?

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2016, 07:00:14 pm »
What happens if you try the headphone output?

Hi murraymint, nothing happens, still no sound.
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2016, 07:41:33 pm »
Okay let's try this....

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo pluma /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
and add a new line at the very end that reads
Code: [Select]
options snd-hda-intel model=generic
save the file and exit pluma

Now REBOOT

Did that make sound work ?



I'm putting this link here for my future reference:
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1431003
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2016, 09:29:07 pm »
Okay let's try this....

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo pluma /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
and add a new line at the very end that reads
Code: [Select]
options snd-hda-intel model=generic
save the file and exit pluma

Now REBOOT
Code: [Select]
albert@albert-desktop ~ $ albert@albert-desktop ~ $ sudo pluma /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
albert@albert-desktop: command not found
I'm imagining that I have to add pluma?


Did that make sound work ?



I'm putting this link here for my future reference:
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1431003
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2016, 09:42:57 pm »
Sorry, didn't spot you're on Peppermint 6 not 7 (so your text editor is gedit not pluma) .. modified instructions below.

Okay let's try this....

Open a terminal and run:
Code: [Select]
sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
and add a new line at the very end that reads
Code: [Select]
options snd-hda-intel model=generic
save the file and exit pluma

Now REBOOT

Did that make sound work ?
« Last Edit: July 19, 2016, 09:50:35 pm by PCNetSpec »
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #12 on: July 19, 2016, 10:10:52 pm »
Hi PCNetSpec, I thought thats what you meant and I did make that addition to the file, still no sound AND now Audacity stopped working. Plus PulseAudio still shows the rear mic and line input as unplugged. Prior to this I had switched my camera mic to the front panel since that is registered as plugged in, but that didn't work either.
What was I thinking?

Online PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26468
  • Karma: 2865
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2016, 10:20:57 pm »
Okay undo that FIRST

then try the fix at the top of this page
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1431003
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline alynur

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1083
  • Karma: 61
  • Habitual Forum Browser
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P 9R (64bit), P 10
Re: No Sound in Used Mobo
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2016, 12:43:01 pm »
Okay undo that FIRST

then try the fix at the top of this page
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1431003
Okay, I followed these instructions but I still have no sound. I'm not really interested in surround sound.
What was I thinking?