Choose style:

Author Topic: IBM T40  (Read 7763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
IBM T40
« on: May 31, 2014, 11:15:36 am »
Right now it has no hard drive and only 1gig ram when i take parts from my t30 it will have 2 gigs ram and wireless G instead of B...
It is a 1.3ghz processor even though inxi rates it at only 600mhz....  :)
I bought this laptop on ebay for 25 bucks with no hard drive in it, but booting to bios screen....  :)

inxi -F
System:    Host: peppermint Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: LXDE (Openbox 3.5.0) Distro: Peppermint Three
Machine:   System: IBM (portable) product: 23737CU version: ThinkPad T40
           Mobo: IBM model: 23737CU Bios: IBM version: 1RETDKWW (3.16 ) date: 04/19/2005
CPU:       Single core Intel Pentium M (-UP-) cache: 1024 KB flags: (sse sse2) clocked at 600.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV200 [Mobility Radeon 7500]
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x768@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI R100 (RV200 4C57) x86/MMX/SSE2 TCL DRI2 GLX Version: 1.3 Mesa 8.0.2
Audio:     Card: Intel 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller driver: snd_intel8x0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82801DB PRO/100 VE (MOB) Ethernet Controller driver: e100
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:09:6b:5f:23:04
           Card-2: Intel PRO/Wireless LAN 2100 3B Mini PCI Adapter driver: ipw2100
           IF: eth1 state: up mac: 00:04:23:4c:77:51
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1.0GB (20.7% used) 1: USB /dev/sda DataTraveler_2.0 1.0GB
Partition: ID: / size: 501M used: 85M (17%) fs: overlayfs
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0C mobo: 35.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A fan-1: 2936
Info:      Processes: 116 Uptime: 1:23 Memory: 148.2/1001.0MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2014, 02:32:53 pm »
Nice find!

I love eBay  :-*

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2014, 03:40:10 pm »
Nice find!

I love eBay  :-*
yeah its smaller in processor then the t30 its a 1.3 the t30 is a 2.0, but the t30 has the memory slot problem where the solder comes loose and right now only one memory bank works on it... 
However i did notice that the t40 is a NON PAE is that gonna be an issue for me with peppermint 5?
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2014, 04:01:50 pm »
However i did notice that the t40 is a NON PAE is that gonna be an issue for me with peppermint 5?

Can't speak specifically about whether or not it will be an issue for you, since it hasn't happened yet.   :)

It all depends on the kernel.  Even if you do experience a problem, there are workarounds.

Let's cross that bridge, when we get to it.  I don't except it to be a major issue -- if at all.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24810
  • Karma: 2736
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2014, 04:07:14 pm »
If the CPU doesn't support PAE .. YES you will have problems with ANY OS based on a *buntu >=13.10

So you WILL have problems with Peppermint 4 and greater.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2014, 04:25:17 pm »
I'm pretty sure the Pentium M processor has some sort of quasi PAE support, e.g. you can cheat the system with a little finagling .  Depends on which Pentium M he has, if I remember correctly.

It's true that Canonical doesn't sponsor a non-PAE kernel in the 12.04 LTS Universe repo, but that could change.  Stranger things have happened.

If it was me, I'd just install an older non-PAE kernel, pin it, and call it a day.  ;)

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24810
  • Karma: 2736
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2014, 04:34:34 pm »
Sure there are workarounds for "some" Pentium/Celeron "M" processors that DO support PAE, but just don't report that they do.

The problem is going to be "Installing" Peppermint >= 4 in the first place, as the ISO doesn't contain a non-PAE kernel to begin with.

I'm not saying it's "impossible" if you have one of the CPU's mentioned above .. just that you WILL have problems.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2014, 04:40:18 pm »
what are the commands to show processor info again?
I know it is a pentium M centrino according to bios and it has a cache of 1024k but that is all i know of it...
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2014, 04:52:08 pm »
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/cpuinfo

...should get the info you want.

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2014, 04:58:53 pm »
Extra Credit Reading:  https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Lubuntu-fake-PAE

Quote
The new version 14.04 LTS 'Trusty Tahr', needs no fake-PAE to work with Pentium M and Celeron M CPUs. Instead you use the boot option forcepae and boot from the standard desktop installer and alternate installer for 32-bit systems. I think Lubuntu and Xubuntu will work well in laptops with these CPUs. Xubuntu has a medium light desktop environment and Lubuntu has an ultra light desktop environment. Try both to find what is best for you.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2014, 05:08:51 pm »
here is processor info...
Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 9
model name   : Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1300MHz
stepping   : 5
microcode   : 0x7
cpu MHz      : 600.000
cache size   : 1024 KB
fdiv_bug   : no
f00f_bug   : no
coma_bug   : no
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 2
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr mce cx8 sep mtrr pge mca cmov clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 tm pbe bts est tm2
bogomips   : 1198.98
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 32 bits physical, 32 bits virtual
power management:
[close]
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2014, 05:10:28 pm »
I'm not saying it's "impossible" if you have one of the CPU's mentioned above .. just that you WILL have problems.

True!

The OP seems to know his way around Linux though; having read his posts. 

I don't expect it's going to be a major issue for him -- but, I could be wrong.    ;)

Online VinDSL

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 5041
  • Karma: 907
  • Peppermint Mod
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Developmental Builds
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2014, 05:13:49 pm »
here is processor info...

Whoopsie

I don't see 'pae' in the flags.

You may have a major issue after all...   ::)

Guess you could try the workarounds in the link above, on P4, and see what happens... or not.

Offline rjm65

  • Veteran
  • ****
  • Posts: 1003
  • Karma: 300
  • I have Peppermint Fresh Breath. :P
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Win-98 /Win-7/ Peppermint 9
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2014, 05:20:57 pm »
well I may have a major issue for ubuntu based linux, but i found the problem when i went to boot up from my antix mx14 PAE live cd, it came right up and said your processor is not pae, put in the non pae disc... I did and the NON PAE version disc booted right up...  antix has both versions available...
 I hate to go away from peppermint on this machine because that is what my daughter is used to running.... 
But if it is going to be one of those mission impossible episodes, I may have to think about just installing mx14 non pae and then metapackage install lxde onto it.... 
Robert
Peppermint 9 User

Gateway Solo 9300 Pro
IBM T40

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 24810
  • Karma: 2736
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 8R, 9, and 9R
Re: IBM T40
« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2014, 07:05:23 pm »
Peppermint 3 is still an option.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec