Author Topic: [Solved] HotKey Volume buttons won't work  (Read 1998 times)

Offline td100g2

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
[Solved] HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« on: July 01, 2016, 01:38:00 am »
Hello, I'm running Peppermint OS 7

My Laptop - Dell Inspiron 5558 - it shipped with Ubuntu 14.-4 so it's not a hardware issue I guess

My Fn / function keys for Mute, Volume up, Volume down don't work in Peppermint OS 7 but they did work on older versions.
« Last Edit: July 01, 2016, 04:44:24 am by td100g2 »
--Peppermint is the best, love it :D

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Karma: 623
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2016, 01:48:43 am »
Hi td100g2,

Have you tried using the forum's Search function to find out if your problem might already have a solution for you? I typed in the search terms "volume keys" and found this possible solution that you should try.

There were a few other posts with other methods to try out as well.

Remember: always search first, then ask if no solution was found.  ;)

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline td100g2

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2016, 01:51:40 am »
Oh I tried to search for that but used different keywords and couldn't find anything. I also sniffed throught the whole internet and couldn't find a solution.

I'm gonna see the post you send me just now, thanks.
--Peppermint is the best, love it :D

Offline td100g2

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2016, 01:59:10 am »
 :o  OMG The peppermint forums are the best place for troubleshooting problems I've ever been to.

Thank you very much for your help Slim.Fatz it worked like a charm !  8)
--Peppermint is the best, love it :D

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Global Moderator
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 2373
  • Karma: 623
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2016, 03:32:07 am »
Hi td100g2,

You're welcome -- and you're right! 8) Glad it worked for you.

Also, if you regard the problem as solved, please go to the original (first) message that you posted in this thread, click on the Modify button and then add (SOLVED) to the message's Subject: line (only you or the Big Bosses around here can do that -- and, as you can imagine, the Big Bosses prefer that you do it!  :D ). Thank you.

Regards,

-- Slim
Respect science, respect nature, respect each other.

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline td100g2

  • Newly Subscribed
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 1
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: [Solved] HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2016, 04:45:28 am »
Alright, did that  :) :) :) :)
--Peppermint is the best, love it :D

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26452
  • Karma: 65531
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Re: HotKey Volume buttons won't work
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2016, 05:00:52 am »
:o  OMG The peppermint forums are the best place for troubleshooting problems I've ever been to.

Thank you very much for your help Slim.Fatz it worked like a charm !  8)

That right there is the best compliment you could pay Peppermint and our community .. many thanks :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec