Choose style:

Author Topic: Mounting After Windows [Solved]  (Read 1008 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Razznak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 16
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Mounting After Windows [Solved]
« on: July 14, 2016, 08:57:54 pm »
So here's what happened. Windows 10 soon becomes a paid product. I have several games that will only work on Windows, so I thought hey, I might as well have a free copy of Windows in case I ever want to play a Windows game. I installed Windows on a separate hard drive to what I thought was successful. It boots up fine, poked around a bit, switched back to PM7. Tried mounting my devices but now I get this message.

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
Unable to mount Local Storage
Error mounting /dev/sda2 at /media/t/Local Storage: Command-line `mount -t "ntfs" -o "uhelper=udisks2,nodev,nosuid,uid=1000,gid=1000" "/dev/sda2" "/media/t/Local Storage"' exited with non-zero exit status 14: The disk contains an unclean file system (0, 0).
Metadata kept in Windows cache, refused to mount.
Failed to mount '/dev/sda2': Operation not permitted
The NTFS partition is in an unsafe state. Please resume and shutdown
Windows fully (no hibernation or fast restarting), or mount the volume
read-only with the 'ro' mount option.
[close]

I tried going back to the Windows to "resume and shutdown fully" but it just sits at a black screen before I can even get to the Windows boot manager. I should've assumed something would screw up with Windoze.  >:(

Once again, thanks for any help available.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2016, 11:55:09 am by Razznak »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3215
  • Karma: 590
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Mounting After Windows
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2016, 01:28:39 am »
Hi Razznak

There are a number of questions that need answering.

1. is your system UEFI or old BIOS?

2. How do you currently choose to go into windows ?

3. Can you still boot into Peppermint? and if you can...  have you updated grub so Windows appears in the grub menu?

From a terminal window
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub

enter password when prompted. Grub should update and you will see an entry for Windows.
Reboot and Try and enter windows from Grub
When you eventually get back into windows you will need to turn off windows "Fast Start" - http://www.howtogeek.com/243901/the-pros-and-cons-of-windows-10s-fast-startup-mode/ This explains what it is and how to disable it.

You may need a more technical person to assist but lets get the ball rolling.

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k
P10r x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline Razznak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
  • Karma: 16
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 10
Re: Mounting After Windows
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2016, 11:44:22 am »
I believe it's using UEFI, it's a fairly modern motherboard. I got into Windows by going into GRUB, choosing "Windows Boot Manager" and then choosing Windows 10 from that boot manager. I can still boot into PM7 luckily, that's how I realized I couldn't mount my other HDD's. I just updated the GRUB, responded "Found Windows Boot Manager". I'm gonna reboot now, thanks for the assistance.

 ;) They mount fine now.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2016, 11:55:41 am by Razznak »

Offline zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3215
  • Karma: 590
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Mounting After Windows
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2016, 01:09:00 pm »
I believe it's using UEFI, it's a fairly modern motherboard. I got into Windows by going into GRUB, choosing "Windows Boot Manager" and then choosing Windows 10 from that boot manager. I can still boot into PM7 luckily, that's how I realized I couldn't mount my other HDD's. I just updated the GRUB, responded "Found Windows Boot Manager". I'm gonna reboot now, thanks for the assistance.

 ;) They mount fine now.

Hi Razznak
Glad it all worked out for you :)
Enjoy
Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10r x64 Desktop - AMD Threadripper 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 2 x 27" 4k
P10r x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080