Choose style:

Author Topic: Peppermint 7 Install - wifi icon shows network symbol and not wifi symbol  (Read 4520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
This is really not a problem as my Lenovo Thinkpad X130e is in fact connected to wifi, but at first I thought it would not connect and kept trying.  However, after some further checking, I found that it was in fact connected but showed the "network" icon and not the usual wifi icon.  I don't know if anyone else has experienced this but I thought I would point it out in case someone else thought it was not connecting to wifi.  Otherwise, the install went fine.  Just have to install all of the software I use.  Thanks.

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26276
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
This seems to be hardware specific, can you post your
Code: [Select]
inxi -F
output please, so we can try discover a pattern.

TIA :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline jlschwartz

  • Trusted User
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 339
  • Karma: 125
  • Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10 - 64bit
Ok.  See below.  Thanks so much for all of your work and the great help you provide on this forum ! :)


Code: [Select]
jlschwartz@jls-ThinkPad-X130e ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: jls-ThinkPad-X130e Kernel: 4.4.0-24-generic x86_64 (64 bit)
           Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   System: LENOVO product: 062223U v: ThinkPad X130e
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 062223U
           Bios: LENOVO v: 8RET54WW (1.17 ) date: 10/24/2012
CPU:       Dual core AMD E-450 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           clock speeds: max: 1650 MHz 1: 1320 MHz 2: 1650 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6320]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD PALM (DRM 2.43.0, LLVM 3.8.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-24-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
           driver: rtl8192ce
           IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: 74:e5:43:9d:18:ac
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet driver: atl1c
           IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: 08:9e:01:2b:1a:72
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (4.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HITACHI_HTS72323 size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 86G used: 5.5G (7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.16GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 73.9C mobo: 0.0C gpu: 74.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 501
Info:      Processes: 172 Uptime: 1:30 Memory: 1356.3/7581.0MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
jlschwartz@jls-ThinkPad-X130e ~ $


Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26276
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
IIRC the other PC I've seem this on, and also IIRC Andy's PC are also using atheros chipsets for wireless.

Is this right Andy ?
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Timo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 37
  • Open Source is more than the sum of its bytes
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM7 Respin (64bit) & PM8 (64bit)
Same here

Code: [Select]
 ~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: T-NB Kernel: 4.4.0-24-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard (portable) product: HP Pavilion 13 x360 PC v: 0979100000405F00000320180
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 22B3 v: 87.15 Bios: American Megatrends v: F.07 date: 07/16/2014
CPU:       Quad core AMD A8-6410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 1200 MHz 2: 1000 MHz 3: 1000 MHz 4: 1800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon R4/R5 Graphics]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.3 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@59.99hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD MULLINS (DRM 2.43.0, LLVM 3.8.0) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kabini HDMI/DP Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-24-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlo1 state: up mac: 30:10:b3:89:38:85
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: 8c:dc:d4:8a:2e:28
           Card-3: Atheros
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 64.0GB (23.6% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: TS64GSSD370 size: 64.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 19G used: 3.7G (22%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 11.74GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.9C mobo: N/A gpu: 55.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 186 Uptime: 42 min Memory: 541.7/10941.8MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
« Last Edit: June 26, 2016, 12:57:22 pm by Timo »

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26276
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
So far there seems to be an atheros chip involved somewhere along the line, even where it's ethernet and not the wireless chip.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline Timo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 37
  • Open Source is more than the sum of its bytes
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM7 Respin (64bit) & PM8 (64bit)
Edited my Post to show the complete info, had red only your last Post and thougt it's only about the wireless card...

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1812
  • Karma: 474
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Hi,

My wireless card is (apparently) identical to Timo's but I don't have this problem. Which icon theme are you using, Timo?

Code: [Select]
inxi -N
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k
Which icon theme are you using, Timo? I am using Numix Circle with the Peppermint-Dark-7 widgets (according to Customize Look and Feel).

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1997
  • Karma: 344
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Didn't zeb say this was related to the pixel height you set the panel to as well?

Offline Timo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 37
  • Open Source is more than the sum of its bytes
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM7 Respin (64bit) & PM8 (64bit)
It's the system sleep mode "suspend" which breaks it.

A reboot or pluging in a ethernetcable and unplugging it again will bring the proper icon back. Changing themes does nothing.
After it wakes up from "suspend" mode the icon for connected wlan becomes the connected lan icon (the icon for disconnected wlan is still right). Disconnecting and reconnecting wlan will bring the lan icon again, so it doesn't fix it.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2016, 02:23:11 pm by Timo »

Offline Timo

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: 37
  • Open Source is more than the sum of its bytes
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM7 Respin (64bit) & PM8 (64bit)
Found a Workaround
Quote from: Joakim Koed
16.04 runs on systemd. Try the following:
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl restart network-manager.service
If this works, you can create a script to automate it.

Open a terminal and type the following:
Code: [Select]
sudo nano /etc/systemd/system/wifi-resume.service
Now paste the script in there with a right click. Exit with CTRL + X and press Y to save.
Now to activate it:
Code: [Select]
sudo systemctl enable wifi-resume.service

Script:
Code: [Select]
#/etc/systemd/system/wifi-resume.service
#sudo systemctl enable wifi-resume.service
[Unit]
Description=Restart networkmanager at resume
After=suspend.target
After=hibernate.target
After=hybrid-sleep.target

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=/bin/systemctl restart network-manager.service

[Install]
WantedBy=suspend.target
WantedBy=hibernate.target
WantedBy=hybrid-sleep.target
Hope this helps. It works on my laptop.
source

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26276
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Nice Timo :)

Can anyone else confirm this as working ?

BTW, you can use pluma instead of nano if you don't like text editing in the terminal.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline harleyf

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
It worked on my Vaio laptop. Thanks Timo and Joakim!

PS: This is the first Linux distro that I decided to use as my main OS (thanks to English Bob :] ). I'm really enjoying Peppermint OS. This minor WiFi problem was the only one I encountered so far. It just works really well.

Glad to be with you guys.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
It initially seems to work on my Dell Latitude e6410.  However, some of the panel icons are missing.  Using peripheral input devices has become very slow and laggy.  A reboot has resolved the missing icons and the lagginess.  I wouldn't recommend this fix for users of this model of laptop  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
It initially seems to work on my Dell Latitude e6410.  However, some of the panel icons are missing.  Using peripheral input devices has become very slow and laggy.  A reboot has resolved the missing icons and the lagginess.  I wouldn't recommend this fix for users of this model of laptop  ;).
I've disabled the, wifi-resume.service script, rebooted and run Suspend from the menu.  Coming out of suspend appeared to be normal with the i3lock functioning.  After that's unlocked, I received the Dropbox authorization message seen below:


Entering my user password allowed Dropbox to open.  Suspending and reactivating, now does not generate the Dropbox authorization request.  The Wifi is still working albeit with the goofy icon again.  The Dropbox authorization request seems odd  :-\.
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.