Choose style:

Author Topic: [SOLVED]manually edit GRUB menu  (Read 2866 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1999
  • Karma: 344
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
[SOLVED]manually edit GRUB menu
« on: May 06, 2016, 07:21:37 pm »
Hi, I'm trying to dual-boot P6 32-bit with a mini-OS called Daphile that can't be detected by the GRUB OS prober.

First I installed Daphile to the whole 64GB SSD. Then I made room for Peppermint and a swap partition and installed it.

Daphile apparently installed its own GRUB to its boot partition, sda1, at least if I'm reading the manual right.

Peppermint's GRUB is installed to the MBR but it can only boot Peppermint.

The Daphile instructions say to manually add a menu entry to GRUB to chain-load Daphile. The example given is:

Quote
menuentry "Daphile" {
insmod chain
set root=(hd1,3) # 2nd HDD, 3rd partition
chainloader +1
}
on page 9 of https://www.daphile.com/download/DaphileInstallation.pdf

But which file would I edit to include something like that so it appears in the GRUB menu?
« Last Edit: May 07, 2016, 03:48:01 am by murraymint »

Offline AndyInMokum

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4808
  • Karma: 1013
  • "Keep on Rockin' in the Free World"
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): PM 9 & PM 8 Respin-2 (64-bit)
Re: manually edit GRUB menu
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2016, 07:49:27 pm »
Hi, I'm trying to dual-boot P6 32-bit with a mini-OS called Daphile that can't be detected by the GRUB OS prober.

First I installed Daphile to the whole 64GB SSD. Then I made room for Peppermint and a swap partition and installed it.

Daphile apparently installed its own GRUB to its boot partition, sda1, at least if I'm reading the manual right.

Peppermint's GRUB is installed to the MBR but it can only boot Peppermint.

The Daphile instructions say to manually add a menu entry to GRUB to chain-load Daphile. The example given is:

Quote
menuentry "Daphile" {
insmod chain
set root=(hd1,3) # 2nd HDD, 3rd partition
chainloader +1
}
on page 9 of https://www.daphile.com/download/DaphileInstallation.pdf

But which file would I edit to include something like that so it appears in the GRUB menu?That sss


Have you tried launching Peppermint and running the following command:
Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub
That should pick up any other GRUB2 installed to partitions, rather than the MBRDaphile should appear in the Peppermint GRUB menu  ;).
Backup! Backup! Backup! If you're missing any of these -  you ain't Backed Up!
For my system info please L/click HERE.

Offline Slim.Fatz

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1813
  • Karma: 474
  • Where's the mouse?
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 7, 8.5 & 10 - 64bit
Re: manually edit GRUB menu
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2016, 01:21:25 am »
Hi murraymint,

If AndyInMokum's suggestion does not work then in a terminal do this:

Code: [Select]
gedit /etc/grub.d/40_custom

and add your info at the end of the file. Save it and then in the terminal window run:

Code: [Select]
sudo update-grub

This should give you the entry in your GRUB menu at the next boot.

Regards,

-- Slim
"Life first -- Peppermint a close 2nd!" -- Zeb

Tread lightly: Fluxbox, JWM, i3, Openbox, awesome

Offline murraymint

  • Trusted User
  • Veteran
  • *****
  • Posts: 1999
  • Karma: 344
  • soft boiled with a yolk of gold
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7, 8, 9
Re: [SOLVED]manually edit GRUB menu
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2016, 03:47:23 am »
Hello, thank you for the suggestions, Andy and Slim. Grub-update on its own couldn't get it and the Peppermint installer hadn't noticed that any OS was already installed. I think it uses legacy GRUB rather than GRUB2.

Slim, your method worked.  ;D Of course I used (hd0,1) as the partition. Now if I hold down Shift at boot I get the grub menu with Daphile at the bottom, and it boots fine. This is a great thing to know for dual-booting those tricky OSes.

Daphile, by the way, is a great little music player OS for DACs (Digital to Analogue Converters). It normally runs headless and very cool.  8) You can control it through the local network either via a web interface or an Android app like Squeezer.