Choose style:

Author Topic: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS  (Read 1327 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mjvezzani

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« on: October 01, 2016, 08:39:22 am »
Hi all!

I'm receiving a new EVGA GeForce 8400 GS for my Inspiron 530, and I was wondering what information I might need / cautions I should take when installing NVIDIA cards on Peppermint OS.

A quick peek at my system, in case that is helpful to anyone. :)

Spoiler (click here to view / hide)
System:    Host: xxxxxxxx Kernel: 4.4.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A
           Distro: Peppermint Seven
Machine:   System: Dell product: Inspiron 530
           Mobo: Dell model: 0RY007 v: ���
           Bios: Dell v: 1.0.7 date: 11/03/2007
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo E4500 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2200 MHz 1: 2200 MHz 2: 2200 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x1024@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel G33 GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 11.2.0
Audio:     Card Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-38-generic
Network:   Card: Intel 82562V-2 10/100 Network Connection driver: e1000e
           IF: enp0s25 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 120.0GB (7.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: KINGSTON_SUV400S size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 109G used: 6.9G (7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.06GB used: 0.19GB (18%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 186 Uptime: 1:07 Memory: 517.2/981.7MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.35
[close]

Offline PCNetSpec

  • Administrator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 26276
  • Karma: 2855
  • "-rw-rw-rw-" .. The Number Of The Beast
    • View Profile
    • PCNetSpec
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 10
Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2016, 08:39:22 am »
To help us help you, ALL new requests for technical support should include basic system information.

If you haven't already done so, please open a terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T) and run the following command:
Code: [Select]
inxi -Fz
then copy what was returned in the terminal and post it back here.

This was an automated response but please don't ignore it, providing this information now is highly likely to save time for both you and any prospective respondents and aid in the diagnosis of your problem  .. Thanks in advance :)
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root' .. logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.

Team Peppermint
PCNetSpec

Offline scifidude79

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 4029
  • Karma: 863
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): Peppermint 9
Re: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2016, 09:27:52 am »
Nothing too fancy.  Just, after you install it and boot, you'll probably want to go to Menu > Preferences > Additional Drivers and install the Nvidia proprietary driver for it.  The Nouveau (open source) driver is OK, but the proprietary one does things it can't.  You shouldn't have too many issues with the 8400.  As far as I know, it should use the Nvidia-340 driver and should work just fine.

Offline mjvezzani

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2016, 12:16:57 pm »
Ok,

I got the card installed without any incident and was able to use the proprietary driver. Awesome. It works with a regular vga monitor, but when I hook it up to HDMI things appear much bigger than they should. For example, Chrome appears to be blown up by about 350%. This is unfamiliar territory for me and I'm not sure where to start regarding troubleshooting this problem. I'm wondering if my "monitor" (a 60 inch Hitachi television with HDMI input) is the issue here, but I suspect there are things I can do with regards to video settings configuration. Any direction would be appreciated!

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3135
  • Karma: 567
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2016, 12:27:34 pm »
Ok,

I got the card installed without any incident and was able to use the proprietary driver. Awesome. It works with a regular vga monitor, but when I hook it up to HDMI things appear much bigger than they should. For example, Chrome appears to be blown up by about 350%. This is unfamiliar territory for me and I'm not sure where to start regarding troubleshooting this problem. I'm wondering if my "monitor" (a 60 inch Hitachi television with HDMI input) is the issue here, but I suspect there are things I can do with regards to video settings configuration. Any direction would be appreciated!

Hi mjvezzani

Can you open a terminal and give us the output from

Quote
xrandr

This should tell us what resolutions the TV can take

Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Offline mjvezzani

  • nOOb
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
  • New Forum User
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): 7
Re: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #5 on: October 01, 2016, 02:07:21 pm »
Hey Zeb,

Here is the output from `xrandr`:

Code: [Select]
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-I-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DVI-I-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 160mm x 90mm
   1920x1080     60.05*+  60.00 
   1440x480      60.05 
   1280x720      60.00    59.94 
   720x480       59.94    60.05 
   640x480       59.94    59.93
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 02:40:04 pm by mjvezzani »

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3135
  • Karma: 567
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #6 on: October 01, 2016, 02:36:14 pm »
Hi mjvezanni,
for future reference, could you please remember to encapsulate terminal outputs with the Insert, Code # function.  For extra long outputs, please use the Spoiler, Sp function.  Don't combine the functions.  Only use one or the other  ;).  These preserve the original format of the output.  This makes it easier for future visitors to relate to their own issues.  These functions are found in the forum editor, above the,  :-[ Embarrassed and  the :'( Cry emoticon respectively.  Use the Preview button to see how it'll look in the forum.
Regards Zeb...
Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080

Online zebedeeboss

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3135
  • Karma: 567
  • Life first... Peppermint a close 2nd :)
    • View Profile
  • Peppermint version(s): P10 / P9 Respin
Re: Getting ready to install EVGA GeForce 8400 GS
« Reply #7 on: October 01, 2016, 02:40:05 pm »
Hi mjvezanni,

So 1920 x 1080 is the best you are going to get and on a 60" screen is going to make that look a bit Fischer Price.   ie  stupidly big icons txt etc

You may have to play with nvidia-settings to see if you can get it to scale things smaller.

Never used a PC on such a large TV - maybe other forum members have and can help...

Regards Zeb...

Be Kind Whenever Possible...   It is Always Possible - Dalai Lama

Linux User #565092
P10 x64 Desktop - AMD Threadrippe 2950X - 64Gb RAM - NVIDIA RTX2080Ti 11Gb - 1 x 43" 1 x 27" 4k 3840x2160 - 1 x 34" 5120x2160
P10 x64 Laptop - i7-7700HQ - 8Gb RAM - Nvidia GTX1050 4Gb - 15.6" HD 1920x1080